Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down
I really enjoyed this book and am now thinking of studying the subject further. Suffering from various ailments that western medicine seems unable to help with, I was looking for a good book on traditional Chinese medicine, but found this book intriguing along the way. Excellent value for money. A must read for anyone with an open mind interested in holistic approaches to...
Published 21 months ago by Let's be Frank

versus
184 of 194 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amazing understanding of the body
Wren is a trailblazer with a penetrating insight into how the body really functions. Her book offers a clear but somewhat watered-down presentation of her ground-breaking work, founded on Budwig's stunning discoveries about flaxoil and light and Gerson's admirable knowledge of how to cure tuberculosis, as well as anthroposophy and homeopathy.

I followed her...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by Toni


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

184 of 194 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amazing understanding of the body, 11 Dec 2009
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
Wren is a trailblazer with a penetrating insight into how the body really functions. Her book offers a clear but somewhat watered-down presentation of her ground-breaking work, founded on Budwig's stunning discoveries about flaxoil and light and Gerson's admirable knowledge of how to cure tuberculosis, as well as anthroposophy and homeopathy.

I followed her teaching for over a decade: she singlehandedly puts modern medicine to shame. Her perception of the links between seemingly separate different body symptoms is awesome: she shows the connections between officially unconnected symptoms such as pH and blood sugar imbalances with dehydration, with liver and colon impairment, with low body temperature, and with so much more.

She links this with her comprehension, gleaned from homeopathy, of the progression of health problems and how they develop: from lesser to more severe, and from exterior to deeper/interior - but she also offers specific examples from her own experience of how they deepen from one generation to the next and so on, which is possibly unique.

Her profound understanding that health problems affect all spheres is another magnificent tour de force: starting with emotional blocks which first manifest symptoms at the physical level, then move through the mental and finally to the spiritual realm. Yes, others do teach this, but not in the same depth and detail, both practical/physical and spiritual.

[2013 note: Wren's new book "Our Return to the Light" is excellent too, as are homeopath Trevor Gunn's 2 books briefly touched by her: "Vaccines: This Book Could Remove the Fear of Childhood Illness" (2011) and "Somawisdom: The Science of Health & Healing" (2010) - Wren covers these, in less detail, in her classes (or she used to in the 1990s).]

Decades ago Wren saw through the control conspiracy intent on keeping humans sick, weak and afraid; she courageously shares her knowledge in her classes (although in this book she focuses on her own positive teachings) as also offered in leading-edge books like Fear of the Invisible, Selling Sickness, Malignant Medical Myths, The Truth About Drug Companies, Racketeering In Medicine, The Great Cholesterol Con, Heart Frauds, Confessions of a Medical Heretic (amusingly written, by a medical doctor, as well as scandalous), The Truth About Vaccines, The Cancer Industry, and Why We will Never Win the War on AIDS.

(It is also be worth knowing about the wonderful book Never Fear Cancer Again by Raymond Francis which is amazingly similar to Wren's views: presenting a central philosophy, it also provides a breakthrough understanding of disease and wonderful knowledge of how to achieve health. By contrast, Trick and Treat by Groves and The Diet Delusion by Gary Taube not only turns all government eating recommendations on their head (you will be shocked by the wealth of evidence against everything you have been told is healthy eating) but also disagrees substantially with Wren's advice - it too is a worthwhile, nay essential, read.

So, why only 3 stars for Wren's book? Partly Wren herself and partly chapter 9, offering her main techniques. Although I knew perhaps a dozen of her students - who all claimed health improvements in themselves (and their clients) and vouched for these techniques - I was unable to discern shining improvements, over the years, in those I was able to follow - nor in myself. Certainly there was no sign of any abilities indicated in the book to "dream new and wonderful dreams and...make those dreams reality" or to "dance in harmony with creation", fabulous though these would be.

Yes, they (and I) did gain some benefit but I believe these were due to the combination of oils/water/magnesium and healthy eating that Wren - who has stated more than once that nutrition is the tool of her trade - recommends, not the traditional techniques (from her background in nursing and naturopathy) such as hot tubbing, hot/cold sequences, different types of enemas, colonics, the slimy linseed teas, fasting, and urine "therapy". (Instead, I suggest "Oil Pulling" by Fife - detox and discard, all in 20 minutes daily!).

Where I am most doubtful is Wren herself. I marveled that, in this book, she actually points out that an acid body can manifest an acidic personality. Wren was infamous, for example, for having "pets" in class and for creating an environment where the rest hardly dared ask her anything. Wren, always on guard in case credit for her work went elsewhere, was noted for turning on her teaching assistants; for instance, around 2004/5 I heard from a tutor that Wren had dismissed not only one of her most faithful teaching assistants but also the college tutors associated with that assistant.

What has this to do with the book? None of us is remotely close to being perfect but surely Wren should be the best model for her own body of work, which she has practised for decades? Yet, for me, her personality does not seem to have become any less acid over all this time even though creation of a less acidic body is a basic tenet for her. If she is not such a great advertisement, and each of us needs to decide this independently of course, it must call into question her procedures for healing.

I may be a lone dissenter in all this. The book is well worth reading, but I have also found that background knowledge about both teacher and teachings can be highly useful too (think about all those gurus from India).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and am now thinking of studying the subject further. Suffering from various ailments that western medicine seems unable to help with, I was looking for a good book on traditional Chinese medicine, but found this book intriguing along the way. Excellent value for money. A must read for anyone with an open mind interested in holistic approaches to health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and engrossing, 29 Nov 2009
By 
A Richardson (Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
Wren gets straight to the point in this summation of her life's work and delivers a vast wealth of information gleaned from her experience in practice as a Nurse and Nutritionist. She seems to have a complete philosophy; every page delivers something new or surprising and the book should probably be read through more than once to grasp it's sheer scope. It's remarkably readable though, offering a quite unique insight. Some of the ideas are not new to me, but I felt that I understood them in a new light with Wren's explanation.

The emphasis is on how our body can best use light, mixing the best of modern naturopathy, chinese medicine theory and western nutrition, with a nod to Steiner and anthroposophical philosophy. The focus is not only on moving the body to a point of best potential health, but towards it's potential to fully respond to seasonal and universal rhythms (which Wren asserts that many of us have temporarily lost). It also throws a modern light on some of our grandparents' and country doctor's remedies, and why they work. There is a useful glossary and bibliography at the end of the book, with blank pages for your own notes.

Her manner is warm but workmanlike, which nicely balanced the passion she has obviously has for her subject. She does not recommend techniques which shock or endanger the body, and believes that the body does not necessarily need stringent fasts or deprivation in order to heal.

She encourages you to look into your own health picture with a chapter devoted to an in-depth and revealing questionnaire followed by a comprehensive guide to interpretating that information, though you'll have to cross-reference the earlier information to get the best from it. Wren highlights that the body cannot act randomly, but takes an often predictable path towards illness and shows how one can retrace steps back towards better health. There are 3 case histories at the back of the book to refer to for guidance, quite helpful when you are looking to understand your own health history.

I feel she could have written on for another 243 pages and hope to see more from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cellular Awakening by Barbara Wren, 27 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. M. M. Ledlie (Buckinghamshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
Cellular Awakening gives a unique insight into how the body = the vehicle our consciousness uses = is able to heal itself, right down at cellular level.,letting us understand how we can take responsibility for our own health, improve it and turn discomfort in the system around.

These insights are combined with ancient wisdom - wisdom and techniques which have stood the test of time....some put on hold for a while but within the pages of this book brought to life again, to help us understand our physiology and work with it, and so gain or regain our health. Also to realise that everything in the Universe is connected, and that nothing works in isolation.

I found this an amazing book - pioneering yet re-discovering ancient wisdom - and feel privileged to have come across it., and feel that it should be read by everyone. I shall, and have, definitely recommend it wherever possible.

Thank you Barbara Wren............love and light, Monica Ledlie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put transformational information., 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
One reason I love it is because I am a Bach Flower Therapy/Remedies practitioner and I was fascinated to find that a dehydrated body shows up symptoms of fear.

The racing mind that is constantly on, thinking all the time of what should have been said, what could be done and it goes on and on is also a recognisable condition of diet and toxicity. Bach remedy for the constant mental chatter is White Chestnut"

The similarities of information given in this book and the wonderful Castor Oil packing that it contains are enlightening in more ways than one. Thank you Barbara Wren for this great book. I have recommended it to several friends who have purchased it.

The Castor Oil packing I have done several times with great results. Thank you again. Great book and well Written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great health book, 13 Jan 2013
If you really want to be responsible for your health, this book explains.the real causes of non health and gives you the information on how you can start taking charge of your.body so that it can becomes a vehicle of light for your consciousssnesss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true eye opener, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Paul Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
This book will completely turn your idea of medical intervention on its head .
For anybody who is struggling with health issues that seem to have manifested out of nowhere this is a book for you . One of Barbaras main philosophies is that disease can be inherited especially if those health issues haven't been dealt with properly ( giving anti biotics ,for example ,according to Barbara, doesn't treat the root cause but sends the problem deeper)
This is a truly fascinating book and one which I continue to dip in and out of , am also thinking of joining her distance learning course as a result .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cellular Awakening - the microcosm in the macrocosm, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
This book is so well written by Barbara Wren, she communicates the information on a level which most people will understand, even though the content is really quite complex. Great insights of self empowerment with very helpful exercises, tips and hints - although won't suit everyone and therefore may be just for the "open-minded"... I dare you to try though! Fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic little book, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Bloom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
I feel blessed to have come upon the teaching of Barbara Wren - what a true pioneer this woman is!
The book is written in a concise, comprehensive and simple way, very easy for everyone to understand, but the knowledge it offers is all encompassing and most empowering. If only we could all live by these principles, the world would be a perfect place... I will be recommending it to everyone i know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective advice for healing., 8 Sep 2009
By 
K. Dibbert (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light (Paperback)
Barbara writes clearly and concisely about what our bodies need to heal. Light, empowerment, connectivity and a good healthy diet.

A thorough and enjoyable read. Easy to follow advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light
Cellular Awakening: How Your Body Holds and Creates Light by Barbara Wren (Paperback - 7 Sep 2009)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews