Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential
Don't go without it. In fact, don't even decide where to go with out it. Thanks to commercial concerns the major guidebooks are restricted in what they can say and the amount of criticism they can level. Greek Island Hopping tells it how it is so it's an invaluable resource for finding a destination to suit you. Add in the closest thing you'll get to an explanation of the...
Published 23 months ago by Zamn

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me - probably aimed at kids
I found this book to be hopeless for a planned trip to some Greek Islands - and I can only guess that it's not aimed at me. Yes it has lots of ferry information (which I found more complicated than than looking it up online). It also has maps of town centres - but then does little to describe the sights and culture that you should look out for when in those areas. It's...
Published 21 months ago by 365nice


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
Don't go without it. In fact, don't even decide where to go with out it. Thanks to commercial concerns the major guidebooks are restricted in what they can say and the amount of criticism they can level. Greek Island Hopping tells it how it is so it's an invaluable resource for finding a destination to suit you. Add in the closest thing you'll get to an explanation of the Greek ferry system and you've got the essential guide book for the Greek islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true bible!, 1 April 2013
By 
Olav Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
All ferry lines are clearly visualized, a lot of information about every island is provided, here are tables with ratings of the islands nightlife/towns/landscape etc. and much, much more. If you are planning island hopping in Greece, this book is essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know to go Island Hopping, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
I get this book every year. It has the ferry timetables plus details of all the Greek islands which enable me to travel independently
around the islands. Although the Greek Ferries are notoriously unreliable, this book is about as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definative nay quintessensal greek island knowledge, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
Everything in one book. If you love Greek islands this book is an absolute necessity. You need nothing else but a credit card
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information book, but rather heavy and cumbersome to take on the trip., 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Gameflynets (NORTH YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
Great book to research and decide where you want to go, but much depends on ferries and when you want to travel when you get there. We ended up going to many different islands, because the days we wanted to travel the ferry didn't go to our intended destination. We had a brilliant time, just different to the original plan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide book ever. (for Greek Island hopping), 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
Hopping in the Cyclades and Ionian islands next month. Made planning so much easier. Not much use for hotels/accommodation but great for ferry routes and overviews of islands. Takes in Athens too, but at least understands that it is possible nowadays to start from Crete or indeed from other island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book/guide for the traveller, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
great book, it list many more campsites than the lonley planet version and is also more detailed in general, a little heavier 613g compared to lonley planet 492g, but I don't see how you could travel the greek islands without this book/guide, if your concerned about the weight of your pack for the trip then Like me you will probably take this book over the lonley planet as carrying both is a little unproductive, Defo my first choice, hope this helps, happy hopping!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy hopping, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
This is the best book for island hopping. I've just bought my third copy since 1998. It is accurate and detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
John Farrow (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
Excellent Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me - probably aimed at kids, 29 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Paperback)
I found this book to be hopeless for a planned trip to some Greek Islands - and I can only guess that it's not aimed at me. Yes it has lots of ferry information (which I found more complicated than than looking it up online). It also has maps of town centres - but then does little to describe the sights and culture that you should look out for when in those areas. It's also a very heavy book with no kindle/e-version. I wonder how many of the reviewers got past the bars and ferries and saw some of the little gems dotted around the islands.

I returned this and instead opted for the Lonely Planet Greek Islands which maybe is aimed more at a different market (like me?). This book is filled with little historical snippets, suggested starting points and restaurant recommendations. This useful info led us to some amazing little outings that we didn't expect.

In short - I guess decide what kind of traveller you are, and pick the right book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greek Island Hopping
Greek Island Hopping by Frewin Poffley (Paperback - 20 Dec. 2012)
Used & New from: £231.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews