Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easiest guide to Greek ferries
We've used this book in previous years and although seasoned island hoppers of 15 years we still find it useful. It gives a good overview of each island but more importantly it has easy to use information on the ports in Athens and the ferry routes and how to use them. It doesn't give in-depth reviews on hotels or tavernas but remember you're going to be carrying this...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by Jan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but take information with a pinch of salt
I have just returned from my first Greek Island hopping holiday and used this book a lot.

It was clear from day one that the ferry timetables are incorrect and although these are stated as 'normal high season times' it seemed strange that at the end of June these were so wrong. It would have been better to say 3 ferries to xxx a day as a guide. Rather then...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by M Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easiest guide to Greek ferries, 29 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
We've used this book in previous years and although seasoned island hoppers of 15 years we still find it useful. It gives a good overview of each island but more importantly it has easy to use information on the ports in Athens and the ferry routes and how to use them. It doesn't give in-depth reviews on hotels or tavernas but remember you're going to be carrying this book and too much information would add to its size and weight. We travel out of high season (April-May, late Aug-Sept), never pre-book rooms but always find a bed. Tips for first timers: Gain confidence by travelling to larger islands with good ferry links. You'll be swamped by people trying to sell you accommodation as soon as you get off the boat. Arrive in good time, you don't want to be searching for a bed in the dark. Be aware that ferries can arrive and leave surprisingly quickly. If you take the plunge I hope you enjoy the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but take information with a pinch of salt, 21 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
I have just returned from my first Greek Island hopping holiday and used this book a lot.

It was clear from day one that the ferry timetables are incorrect and although these are stated as 'normal high season times' it seemed strange that at the end of June these were so wrong. It would have been better to say 3 ferries to xxx a day as a guide. Rather then listing specific times and boats names that are in fact incorrect as this leads to more confusion.

The book contains good detailed maps of the ports and these are very useful in finding your way around.

The author seems to manage to find a bad word about every island and first time travellers may be put off by this. It would have been nice to have some focus on the good points as well as the bad as although an island may not have a beach and be expensive (worth noting) it may also have great views out over the harbour for example.

Some of the sections could have been better laid out by having all information pertaining to an island together as I felt as I was constantly flicking from one section to another.

In summary a good book, a useful guide but don't be put off by some of the bad comments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greek Islands - easy peasy!, 20 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
Nearly at retirement age, we thought we would be daring and island hop with just backpacks this year. Very nervous, but this book made is so simple and we spent two weeks just having a ball and proving it's never too late.
The wealth of detail on ferries was superb, we found recommended accommodation which was exactly as described, and found some wonderful out of the way places through local transport. Would highly recommend anyone to buy this - and whatever age group you are, you will find the right islands at the right time of year for your tastes. Magnificent! Thank you thank you thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for island hopping!, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
We went Greek island hopping for our honeymoon, and although we had a rough idea of where we wanted to go we made the rest up as we went along. This book was a must have read for those quiet times on the beach spent planning. Such practical info about getting from place to place, as well as good desciptions of the islands you intend to visit.
Put it this way, whilst on various ferries we spoke to an australian couple and a lady from south korea using this guide, as well as a couple of greek couples! So it definately the best known and one of the most used island hopping guide! One thing that is also very important is that it's published every year and so is relevant!! It's amazing how much changes from year to year, and a lot of other guides were simply out of date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greek Island Hopping, 25 Jun 2010
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
"The island hopper's bible": that's a previous review now printed on the front of each copy and it's true.
Everything a tourist might want to know, and some stuff besides, about travelling around the Greek islands is contained within this rather chunky but very readable volume which is updated yearly.
If I have any criticisms at all they are that Pofley's humourous inserts might not appeal to all and that sometimes he is unduly critical of older, slower ferries in favour of newer, faster and more expensive alternatives. Personally I would always prefer to sit on the open deck of and old boat with a book (perhaps this one) and a cup of coffee watching the islands slide by than be forced to sit inside in an allocted aircraft style seat in front of a TV which always seems to be showing either football or Alvin and the chipmonks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Source Of Information, 1 May 2010
By 
Mr. J. O' Goan "JustinDreamzHypnotist" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
Im off to the Greek islands in June & as its been 10 yrs since I island hopped them I thought I would buy this book. Im glad I did. Its a wealth of information on the islands, where to stay, what ferries to hop on & off etc. This book does exactly what it says on the tin. Every island hopper should have one. Buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This books has all the essentials for Greek Island Hoppers, 25 May 2010
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
This was my third edition of this book, and both this and previous editions have proven to have all the information needed to go island hopping in Greece. The book`s pragmatic focus makes it easy to use and I would recommend it as a must-have for people visiting Greek Islands this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
Bought via Amazon second hand, was in very good condition, as advertised.
Very interesting book, am looking forward to taking it to Greece with
me next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful and worth the money!, 22 May 2011
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
Overall, if you're new to the whole 'hopping' type of holiday, and need a book to introduce the idea of what it entails, essentials to bring, background info on potential places to visit etc, then I found this book perfect. Had invaluable information on ferries, and ferry prices - which I found very hard to get hold of on the internet. The non-bias descriptions on each of the islands was massively useful, and made it easier to plan what route to take. Booking accommodation was also made easier!; providing ideas and names of hotels/hostels etc for each island in their description (also classifying them into 'A' or 'E' class - again, this type of categorising in the book was also helpful!). Honest, and straight-to-the-point - definitely recommended.
Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers)
Greek Island Hopping, 21st
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peace of mind, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. William Lyon "golf nut" (newburgh uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) (Paperback)
"nd Island Hopping book purchased.Little has changed from 2yrs ago.Suggest used book to try that rather than paying full price then go on internet to find current ferry.Despite my comments it is very informative & for first time "hoppers" will be very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers)
Greek Island Hopping (Independent Travellers) by Thomas Cook Publishing (Paperback - 11 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: 6.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews