Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting
I found this book quite haunting, mainly due to its simplicity.
Jacob drowned in his eighth birthday in 1966 but now he has returned. He is still eight years old but his parents are now in their retirement years. They have hugely conflicted emotions; they are overjoyed to be reunited with their son but is it really Jacob and where has he been? Jacob is not the only...
Published 19 months ago by Dot

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shades of Torchwood, Les Revenants, and Friends Reunited!
This very much put me in mind of the Torchwood series "Miracle Day" - where people stopped dying and things didn't turn out well. It is also initially similar to the newish French TV series Les Revenants, or The Returned, where those who died a few years ago turn up, the age they were when they died, unaware that time has passed, (I've only watched one episode, so can't...
Published 23 months ago by DebB


‹ Previous | 15 6 715 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read suspension of disbelief required!, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
whilst this is a thought provoking and interesting study of human nature, it left me saying but why dont they...? and why havent they..? qute often which is actually quite fraustrating as it stretches credibility just that little bit too far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book in a light sort of way. it's not breaking the bank intellectually, but that's not my sort of book anyway! it raises an interesting moral dilemma in the context of the story, and kept me turning the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! I especially loved Harold and Lucille.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential plot wise, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great potential plot wise, however I felt that it was rushed in places and character development could have been a lot better. Should have really been a series of books I felt. But for a new author showed great potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it though it still left unanswered questions, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after having watched the first few episodes of the TV series which is based on it. Apart from one or two characters the book is totally different. I enjoyed it though it still left unanswered questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reply disappointed with this book. Kept going as I so badly wanted to know why The Returned came about and what happened at the end. But there was really no story. No explanation and really quite boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning better than the End, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
started off really good and stayed that way for about two thirds of the book but found the ending a bit of a let down. don't know what i expected but it just seemed to fizzle out a bit for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Paperback)
Amazing story and so easy to read. Its very rare for me to be so transported right into a story so this shows what an excellent writer mr mott is i hope to hear more from this brilliant writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compelling read!, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watching the series "Resurrection" inspired me to read this book -it did not disappoint!
Hoping the series does it justice - looking forward to episode 3 tomorrow on Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the premise of this book. Unfortunately that's the only thing I did like about it. It's an intriguing idea to consider that the dead, the protagonist in this case being an 8 year old boy called Jacob, could returnThe prose was bland and the characterisation was poor. In my opinion the plot (such as it was) lacked direction and the individual stories of the Returned that interspersed the chapters didn't seem to inform the main storyline; this contributed to a lack of pace in the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 715 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Returned
The Returned by Jason Mott (Hardcover - 6 Sept. 2013)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews