Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting
I found this book quite haunting, mainly due to its simplicity.
Jacob drowned in his eighth birthday in 1966 but now he has returned. He is still eight years old but his parents are now in their retirement years. They have hugely conflicted emotions; they are overjoyed to be reunited with their son but is it really Jacob and where has he been? Jacob is not the only...
Published 11 months ago by Dot

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shades of Torchwood, Les Revenants, and Friends Reunited!
This very much put me in mind of the Torchwood series "Miracle Day" - where people stopped dying and things didn't turn out well. It is also initially similar to the newish French TV series Les Revenants, or The Returned, where those who died a few years ago turn up, the age they were when they died, unaware that time has passed, (I've only watched one episode, so can't...
Published 15 months ago by DebB


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars compelling read!, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
Watching the series "Resurrection" inspired me to read this book -it did not disappoint!
Hoping the series does it justice - looking forward to episode 3 tomorrow on Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
I liked the premise of this book. Unfortunately that's the only thing I did like about it. It's an intriguing idea to consider that the dead, the protagonist in this case being an 8 year old boy called Jacob, could returnThe prose was bland and the characterisation was poor. In my opinion the plot (such as it was) lacked direction and the individual stories of the Returned that interspersed the chapters didn't seem to inform the main storyline; this contributed to a lack of pace in the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed in this - started reading after watching the first ..., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
Bit disappointed in this - started reading after watching the first episode of the TV series. Starts off well but then seems to fizzle out with no real answers to what was happening !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
Worth a read but unsatisfactory in many ways. Why did they return? What was the point? I felt a bit cheated in the end although I liked the concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Cass (North Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Hardcover)
I loved the series so thought I'd give the book a go, my advice is don't, it's really slow and boring. I gave up about half way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this from start to finish, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
Loved this from start to finish.
Such a different book!
Make you think, what would you do if a loved one returns?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book, only gave it 4 stars rather then 5 because I did find the end slightly disappointing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and thought provoking, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Returned (Hardcover)
I received my copy from the publisher through NetGalley

Every so often you find a book that makes you stop and think. You find yourself wondering "what if" and "what would I do". And, if the book is really good, it doesn't give you clear cut answers as to what would be right or wrong. Instead it gives you the opportunity to look deep inside yourself and try to figure out where you would stand if you found yourself in that particular situation.

This was such a wonderful book for me.

From the moment people who have been dead for years, if not decades, start returning to life, looking exactly as they did when they died and with only the wish to be reunited with the loved ones they left behind, the world is divided about what it means and how to react to it.

There are those who think it is a wonderful miracle. And then there are those who think it is a sure sign that the end of days have arrived. And some, like Lucille Hargrave are convinced it is a sign of doom to come right up to the moment they themselves are reunited with a dear one they have lost.

But, while it may be wonderful for most people to have the opportunity to spend more time with lost loved-ones, it is only a matter of time before there are so many Returned that housing and feeding them becomes an issue. There is an official Bureau put in charge of dealing with the Returned. While initially it's task is to make sure that the Returned are reunited with their families and trying to find out what is going on and how it is happening, the focus shifts as the numbers of Returned increase. Soon the Bureau's job has been reduced to one of containment, and the Returned are taken from their families and put in camps. With the Bureau getting increasingly inflexible, the wider population being scared about this phenomenon they don't understand and those reunited with those they thought they'd never see again desperate to not lose them again, this is a situation heading towards an explosive finale.

There is an awful lot to be impressed with in this book. First of all, there is the way in which this book is written; thoughtful, in sparse language and with obvious love for the characters in the story. It would have been so easy to turn this story idea in to a high octane, thrill a minute sort of thriller. Jason Mott didn't go that way though. Instead he tells his story, in which violence does occur, in a subdued and calm way. His characters are equally memorable, especially since they appear so very unremarkable. They aren't super-humans trying to save the world; they are people like you and me, attempting to keep their lives from imploding while hanging on to those they love. In fact, Harold and Lucille are quite unlikely heroes. In their twilight years, neither of them expected to have to make the decisions and choices they are faced with in this book. But when they're up against it they follow their hearts and do the only thing they believe to be right.

This book doesn't concern itself with the how and why of the phenomena it has introduced. We don't find out how it is possible that the dead return, or why it is happening. What we do get is a picture of what happens to the world, and those who live there, when endless amounts of deceased people suddenly re-appear. And this is done very well. The slow progression from wonder to worry from fear to panic to finally arrive at full on paranoia is as well delivered as it is realistic and frightening. People changing from friendly neighbours into lethal enemies. Peace-loving individuals suddenly contemplating violence it is all too easy to see how the situation would turn out that way.

This book throws up interesting questions. How would you deal with the return of a loved one who has been dead for years; would you just be happy and welcome them back into your life and home or would it scare you? How would the world deal with all the extra people that suddenly need to be housed and fed? How would the people whose loved ones didn't return deal with what could be experienced as rejection? And how long would it be until the whole world descended into chaos?

And I like that the book doesn't try to give answers to these questions. By setting the story in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere and almost exclusively dealing with the reactions of the people who live there and are brought there, the author gives us an environment in which world-wide dynamics are being played out on a small scale. For the reader this means that it is easier to understand all sides of the story, although that doesn't mean they agree with all the different conclusions people come to.

This is a wonderful book about love, and the things we're prepared to do because of it. This is a book about faith, and what it means when the realities of life no longer fit in with what you have believed in for all of your life. This is a story about being true to your beliefs and your feelings. It is both uplifting and heartbreaking. This is a story that will stay with me for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars you will be disappointed with this, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
Did you watch the returned on channel 4 -if so, you will be disappointed with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned (Kindle Edition)
Could not get into this book very hard to understand and no storyline involved in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Returned
The Returned by Jason Mott (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews