Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent thriller!!!!
This novel is kava's best to date.the plot, as always is impeccable with the misty figure of rev. Joseph Everett displayed excellently as the main character.Maggie has to also overcome a battle with her mother, who has joined the cult of Everett's.The book shows how one can be lured into a mindless sect or group no matter how careful one is.with it's hasty plot, sharp...
Published on 2 May 2003

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average as usual.
Alex Kavas first book in the Maggie O' Dell series 'A Perfect Evil' was very impressive and blew me away. Unfortunately the 2nd and 3rd helpings from the series I found to be less than impressive.
This book had such high potential. The story was there, I was really intrigued by the 'religious cult' theme and thought it really halped it along. And also the character...
Published on 18 Feb. 2008 by molko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average as usual., 18 Feb. 2008
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Alex Kavas first book in the Maggie O' Dell series 'A Perfect Evil' was very impressive and blew me away. Unfortunately the 2nd and 3rd helpings from the series I found to be less than impressive.
This book had such high potential. The story was there, I was really intrigued by the 'religious cult' theme and thought it really halped it along. And also the character of Julia Racine i found to be very intriguing and was a good character to be added to the series.
However there seemed to be alack of character development on the behalf of Maggie O' Dell and also Tully and his relationship with his daughter. A few chunksof the book seemed to be dedicated to delving into the relationship between Tully and his daughter however it seemed to go nowhere and just seemed to re-visit what was already explained in previous books.
Also another fault I found with this book was what I percieved as a slightly anti climatic ending. It seemed to be rushed and there seemed to be a few loose ends that I wont delve too far into here at risk of ruining the story for those of you who have not read it.
That being said I shall plough on with this series in hope of the 4th offering 'At the Stroke of Madness' to be an improvement. Theres definately potential for this series, Alex just needs to get her rear in gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent thriller!!!!, 2 May 2003
By A Customer
This novel is kava's best to date.the plot, as always is impeccable with the misty figure of rev. Joseph Everett displayed excellently as the main character.Maggie has to also overcome a battle with her mother, who has joined the cult of Everett's.The book shows how one can be lured into a mindless sect or group no matter how careful one is.with it's hasty plot, sharp dialogue and emotionally charged characters, the soul catcher is one of the very best thrillers of the year...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the collection., 30 Oct. 2003
The book brings together two sub plots with great skill and knits together a believable fabric for the reader to rap themselves in, unfortunately the story becomes a bit tedious as family ties blur the plot somewhat. Not her best book to date but one for the collection no doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The fool catcher, 3 Oct. 2010
Having read the first two in the series i feel this one was a bit of a let down. Not that it was bad, but compared to the first two the plot was a bit weak. Also nothing new was added, in the sense that the lack of a relationship between Maggie and her mother was already extensively probed in the previous books, although there was an interesting addendum here regarding the father. Same thing with Tully and his rebellious daughter.
Regarding the story per se, it had all the right ingredients but werent adequately acted upon. Stories of secret sects are always interesting and popular but i feel that its function was never satisfactorily explained and i couldnt feel but help that its members had to be extremely gullible to join in, leave everything behind and become willing slaves. The culprit responsible wasnt too difficult to guess, and the end is too neatly wrapped up for my liking plus very unlikely. However all in all, a good one for the collection of this promising series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Catcher (A Maggie O'Dell Novel) (Paperback)
I'm reading the Maggie O'Dell books in order and absolutely loved books 1 and 2. If this had been the first one I'd read I wouldn't have bothered to read any more. The first 130 pages are too disjointed with too many new characters brought in. None of them likeable. I found I couldn't bring myself to feel sorry for the young boys brought into the cult as I just didn't like them. I nearly gave up on this book a couple of times.

The characterisation fell into second place to the plotting, which was good, even though I did guess whodunnit. Nick was only in for a couple of pages (and not with Maggie.) There's really only Maggie and Tully as likeable characters - and even Maggie's beloved father's memory becomes tarnished. Maggie is sinking more into herself and her isolation and it was all a bit uncomfortable. I didn't enjoy this much at all. Also feel I should add:.....snake alert for those who don't like them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't catch my soul, 26 Feb. 2004
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
All the ingredients of a good thriler are here but the writing, plotting, dialogue and character development are weak and unoriginal; there are just too many implausibles. The goodies, Maggie and Tully are flat two dimensional characters and the baddies, Everett & Co lack menace, there's no one you really care about. Coincidence abounds and everything is too neatly packaged to make the reader think. I don't object to the use of bad language in dialogue if it makes it sound authentic but i hate it when characters think in swear words too - its unrealistic and lazy. Kava tries to pack too many elements into the story, murder, cults, abduction, pscycho serial killer, creepy crawlies, romance, family therapy. Boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Waco revisited, 31 May 2003
By A Customer
A good read with some cliffhangers and hairy moments for our heroine.People in the sect seemed rather too gullable and accidental family ties were stretching it a bit. Apart from that OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oAlex Kava, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Catcher (A Maggie O'Dell Novel) (Paperback)
I have only in the past twelve months read all of Alex Kava's thrillers. Not one has ever disappointed me. This one was no exception.It is fast paced and comes up with many surprises. The only fault with Alex's novels? She doesn't write enough. I have always been an avid reader of James Patterson but his plots are so predictable. Not Alex they will keep you guessing right until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cults-profiling-fbi who could want for more, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I agree with "A customer", this is one of Kava's best. It has a little of everything which is what we have come to expect from alex Cava. She is like Patrician Cornwell early novels (where did she go wrong recently?), anyway, its definitely worth a read if you like suspense to the very end.The Soul Catcher (MIRA)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars almost ALMOST as good as Cornwell, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loving this series, almost ALMOST as good as Cornwell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soul Catcher (A Maggie O'Dell Novel)
The Soul Catcher (A Maggie O'Dell Novel) by Alex Kava (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews