Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
was bought for a present
Published 7 months ago by SANDRA MCALONIE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Felt to rushed
I have read a few of Mary Burton's books and have to say I was disappointed with this one. The story is based around Nero who is an arsonist he has already killed and is about to start up his crimes again after a break. Investigator Gannon is determined to catch him this time and gets help from local reporter Darcy, soon Darcy's life is in danger and time is running out,...
Published 15 months ago by loves books


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Felt to rushed, 20 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
I have read a few of Mary Burton's books and have to say I was disappointed with this one. The story is based around Nero who is an arsonist he has already killed and is about to start up his crimes again after a break. Investigator Gannon is determined to catch him this time and gets help from local reporter Darcy, soon Darcy's life is in danger and time is running out, can he be caught before he kills more people?The story started off well and held potential but the then the story felt rushed and ended quickly without much of a build up along the way. I guessed the killer half way through the story and from that point the arsonist hardly builds momentum, it seems from mid point Mary burton lost interest in this book and wanted to finish it as quickly as she could. I enjoyed the relationship between Gannon and Darcy and felt this could have built up along with Darcy's relationship with her family. I gave this book 3 stars because it is a ok read just a shame it felt so rushed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 11 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
Having read th back of the book I thought this would be really exciting however I was very wrong. Although 299 pages long the typing is very very big so was actually a very short book and because of this everything felt rushed and moved at 100mph and not in a good way. The plot had the potential to be good and did show glimmers of goodness but mainly it felt limp and lacklustre. I did think that the characters of Darcy and Gannon were well written and I enjoyed their story although again I felt that too much emphasis was put on the relationship between them and not enough on the actual crime aspects of the book. Overall this was just one massive disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
was bought for a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
Prompt delivery. Book as described. Wife avid reader. Wish she would join library though. Personally books are only good for burning on the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Burton books, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
I really enjoy Mary Burton books, the characters are very real, the storylines are brilliant and keep you going right up to the end, you can't wait to read them, fantastic series. Packaging and delivery were excellent as always, many Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
as it says ARSONIST brilliantly wrote a good read as with any of her books,t loved it ta mrs burton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars murder mystery, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
Trial buy to read as it seemed to be the genre I enjoy. Since I have purchased others. And enjoyed them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Paperback)
Not a good story
Different from her others and very thin
Would not recommend to anyone I Know or pass om
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Arsonist, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy reading all the Mary Burton novels. Always a good storyline. Easy to read, to pick up and put down without losing the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arsonist (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant read, I love this author and each book makes me want to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Arsonist
The Arsonist by Mary Burton (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews