Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic resource for all drama teachers, workshop leaders and directors
I love this book. It is so easy to use and I don't lead workshops or rehearsals without it now. The layout means you can just dip in and grab a game at a seconds notice and it has games for all ages, purposes and group sizes - it really is brilliant.
Published on 16 Mar 2009 by J. Kennedy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for older children and adults.
It's useful but the majority of the games are not suitable for teaching drama to young children. As I teach Kindergarten I was quite disappointed.
Published 13 months ago by Maria Ines Faria


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic resource for all drama teachers, workshop leaders and directors, 16 Mar 2009
By 
J. Kennedy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
I love this book. It is so easy to use and I don't lead workshops or rehearsals without it now. The layout means you can just dip in and grab a game at a seconds notice and it has games for all ages, purposes and group sizes - it really is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 29 Jun 2009
By 
V. J. Fleming - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
What a great book. Loads of ideas which can be used as a starting point in a workshop or linked together to make an enjoyable and focused session. Completly invaluble. Creating workshops would be so much harder without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab resource for any drama teacher, 13 Jun 2009
By 
J. Godsave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
Having read a copy of this book, I have bought one for each year group of my primary school. This book contains a wide variety of drama games, in categories such as warm-ups, trust games, characterisation, etc. Each game is clearly explained, with suitable ages from 6 to adult, length of activity, follow-ups, and so on. This is great to dip into but can also be used as a stepping stone for further in-depth activities in a drama lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
This is a wonderful resource. Easy to use and very easy to dip in and out of. The problem with teaching drama, to children especially, is the tempo of the sessions. There always comes a point when you have to have quick fire games and exercises to hand that have an immediate goal/outcome and I cannot retain everything that I've read so having a resource I can get into quickly and understand how to lead a game in seconds is vital. This book is fantastic for just that.
It also means that when favourite games have been established, as they inevitably will, there are games and exercises that take longer to develop using more complicated and focused skills moving on from the quick fix games.
This book is a must for all teaching practitioners that enjoy having the freedom of a hands-on exploration of all learning, not just drama. Don't believe me? - BUY IT! You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful little book, 8 May 2009
By 
Mrs. B. Wolfenden "Berenice" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
A clear and easy to read guide to a range of games. Each with age recommendations and instructions for resources and playing rules. For those who have been working in this area for some time there may not be many new ones but for those who are new to drama it will prove an invaluable resource. Would also be useful to those working with children in day care or teaching as many of the games can be used outside the drama workshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant little book, 6 April 2010
By 
David Laws "dave laws" (staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
After an interesting and worth reading introduction, Jessica Swale launches into the body of the work. Well organised and explained, this is a brilliant tool to help you plan drama workshops and includes material that I have not come across before. At the present price it is a must have.
(also check out the Improv Encyclopaedia that may be downloaded free of charge)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb resource, 28 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
I use this regularly in drama clubs and in a variety of lessons for KS2 children. It offers a range of games categorised by purpose (eg training voice, energising, imagination etc)so it's easy to pick starter games for the particular session you have planned. I've also used the games in Xmas parties and such like as well as time fillers at the end of the day. An invaluable resource for any teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want something new?, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
Lots of fun new ideas for working with children! Well set out and easy to dip into. This is a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for older children and adults., 29 Nov 2013
By 
Maria Ines Faria (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
It's useful but the majority of the games are not suitable for teaching drama to young children. As I teach Kindergarten I was quite disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops (Paperback)
I've been a freelance drama teacher for 7 years and have read nearly ever book on drama teaching and drama games/exercises, and this is by far the best. It's very practical to use, with lots of excellent exercises for drama lessons explained very well. I have recommended this book to all of my drama teaching friends and they all love it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops
Drama Games for Classrooms and Workshops by Jessica Swale (Paperback - 19 Feb 2009)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews