Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful.
An excellent guide. Good city plans and useful descriptions of accomodation and restaurants.

I travelled with a friend, and between us we had the Rough Guide and Loneley Planet. No comparison - by the end of our holiday we had just stopped using the Lonely Planet - a much inferior guide. Inaccurate as well.
Published on 17 Sep 2009 by Sigrid

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Information
I thought the book was hard to follow and navigate. The information is not presented in an easy to use manner. Also the prices and opening/closing hours are off for lots of sights, I'd look on the internet for the most up to date info. I'd give it 3 stars for providing at least some basic information. However, some of the information is just inaccurate and wrong. In...
Published 2 months ago by A.F.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and accurate information, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This guide provides terrific general and at the same time specific information on a beautiful country. The objectivity and thoroughness of its information even amazed my Romanian friends. The level of detail included is 'life-saving' for the independent traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book paints a pretty dismal picture of Romania., 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
I've used this book for almost 3 years. Although it does provide a lot of useful information, I found it very negative about Romania in general. Accommodation and restaurants change a lot in Romania so it is difficult for this section to be accurate. Usually I'm a rough guide fan but in the case of Romania, I found the lonely planet much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romania Covered!, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
Excellent book with all the information I required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
print too small and poor maps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tip top.., 24 Aug 2014
By 
I. T. Taylor (North West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
Fast delivery, good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful guide as one would expect, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
A very useful guide as one would expect. Although the most recent addition, there are already a few changes encountered on a recent short break to Oradea. Some recommended hotels closed, new ones open. In one particular case a recommended resturant was not very good. I'll be visiting other areas in the future and it will be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars extremist hungarian view, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
I browsed this book, and I totally agree with the previous comment by "A Customer". I'd even add that they mention The Szekey Land! That does not exist in any Romanian official document as a Romanian region. That is a region which some hungarian *extremists* claim to be Hungarian and that it should be independent and autonomous! It's a shame because the Rough Guides are usually popular travel guides. The authors who wrote this one though, either got the information from the wrong sources, or are eager for controversies. If you buy this, you visit Romania or learn about Romania from it, you risk to involuntarily insult any Romanian you might talk to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Rough!, 8 May 2002
Firstly they slag off my wifes home town (Onesti) as an ugly chemical town, obviously they just went past on the train, because they missed one of the most impressive museums of Slavic Romanian Bibles and Religous artifacts in Romania, next to a beautiful church built by order of Stephan the Great (where incidently I got married). They also write off some hotels that we have stayed at as either "piles" or "too expensive", which they were neither. I'll give some charity and say that most hotels in the last 3 years have been renovated, but if you bring out regular updates, you should ensure they are correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trip to Dracula country, 16 Mar 2009
By 
E. J. Barkus "EJB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A well laid out book which offers all the information you could ask for about Romania. High accessible and offers much more than just Dracula!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It is a must NOT!, 14 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Although The Rough Guide must be praised for their devotion in writing up-to-date guides, this book is offending for most Romanians. It seems that the authors tried to present Romania from a subjective Hungarian point of view. Ideas like "the great Magyar cities of Targu Mures, Cluj and Oradea" or "the largely Hungarian Csango and Szekelyfold regions" not only that should have been avoided but the historic true must have been presented. These ideas basically question the Romanian authority over this land. There are cities/regions in Romania inhabited by Magyars or hungarians minorities but that does not mean that you can label a city/region as being Magyar. The Magyars or Huns did not build these cities or originally own the land. They migrated here. Can you name Leeds as "the great Pakistani city? What about Marseilles: "the great Moroccan city"?
This book make you wonder: do Romanians relay live in Romania?
Try Blue Guide or Lonely Planet: Romania and Moldova;
Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Romania
The Rough Guide to Romania by Tim Burford (Paperback - 1 Jun 2011)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews