Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful.
An excellent guide. Good city plans and useful descriptions of accomodation and restaurants.

I travelled with a friend, and between us we had the Rough Guide and Loneley Planet. No comparison - by the end of our holiday we had just stopped using the Lonely Planet - a much inferior guide. Inaccurate as well.
Published on 17 Sep 2009 by Sigrid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Alright guide but a bit dated. Very brief overview of lots of places. Did help us find a very cheap place to stay in Tulcea but they weren't expecting British tourists as they don't advertise anywhere any more.
Needs updating but all round a good 'rough' guide to get you around with a small amount of knowledge of the areas.
Published 6 months ago by Ben Orrock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful., 17 Sep 2009
By 
An excellent guide. Good city plans and useful descriptions of accomodation and restaurants.

I travelled with a friend, and between us we had the Rough Guide and Loneley Planet. No comparison - by the end of our holiday we had just stopped using the Lonely Planet - a much inferior guide. Inaccurate as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but some things are incorrect, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
The guide was quite complete. Even on smaller towns there was information written. Sometimes we would have wished more information on some of the bigger cities like Brasov and Sibiu. We didn't really use the info on hotels, and sometimes the info on restaurants. We would wish there was more info on restaurants and pubs. The maps of cities were very useful. Also the information about how to find the tourist office.

We didnt like that on several occassions the information about timings and busses to certain places was incorrect. We didn't expect this to happen so much, since the guide book is only a hear old. So for these things please check the timings locally. For bustimings: autogari.ro, for train timings: infofer.ro These timings where always correct. Note that sometimes there are also minibuses running which are not mentioned on autogari.ro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out-of-date reviews, up-to-date book!, 18 Jan 2006
By A Customer
The tired old reviews complaining that the Rough Guide to Romania talks only about tired old hotels should be removed - the book has been updated and does give a fair picture of Romania today. I suspect the references to Hungarian culture are so noticeable because minority cultures are of particular interest to foreign visitors - of course the majority culture is covered and appreciated, but why bother saying 'this is a typically Romanian town' all the time??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dependable detail, 24 Mar 2009
By 
Richard P. Vivian (Baku, Azerbaijan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As usual, the fifth edition of this guide published in June 2008 proves itself to be above others in the quality and detail of information provided for the traveller. The section on Bucharest alone is more comprehensive than some of the other city guides. The restaurant recommendations are fair and up to date, considering the rapidly changing scene. An essential for anyone visiting Romania without the aid of a tour guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What an adventure!, 7 Jan 2009
I found this book extremely useful during my two week tour of Romania via car. However the most frustrating thing was the difficulty in locating the original 'Dracula castle'. Its not very well described in the guide and none of the locals seem to know where it is either! (probably because they all think that the castle in Bran is the real thing)...
The comprehensive lists of pensions and restaurants is excellent and we sampled several that were recommended with highly pleasing experiences!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful little book, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
This book gives an honest appraisal of Romania, including the not so good in with the must-see places. Interesting little asides to add historical information about places to take on board as you visit them. We would not have been without it. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alright guide but a bit dated. Very brief overview of lots of places. Did help us find a very cheap place to stay in Tulcea but they weren't expecting British tourists as they don't advertise anywhere any more.
Needs updating but all round a good 'rough' guide to get you around with a small amount of knowledge of the areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guides are always the best!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
Rough Guides are always good. They don't miss out the small places as some guides do.
This is the one I've used most to plan my trip in Romania, and the one I'm taking with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well up to standard, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
Very useful guide when touring Romania. Recommended if you are going there.

In depth and for the areas and towns we visited very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good book for visiting the country, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Romania (Paperback)
As a guide for visiting the country, this product does well. It has numerous suggestions and good descriptions.
The reason it only got 3 stars is that it is not always accurate. As an example, at one point it describes the dictatorship that used to exist in the country and uses arguments that are not grounded in reality. Similarly, it mentions the Dracula legend as being alive and well, which is actually wrong. There is no legend, only history. The story of Dracula comes from outside the country and has simply been accepted by locals due to tourists.
It is clear that it has been written by someone from outside the country. Therefore, it does well if you want to use it to plan your visit to the country. Just make sure you take everything with a pinch of salt.
If you want information about history, there are better sources.

As a final note, if you do visit, make sure to always ask the locals for recommendations because you have plenty to discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9402a0)

This product

The Rough Guide to Romania
The Rough Guide to Romania by Tim Burford (Paperback - 1 Jun 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews