Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and thorough
Excellent, easy to read and comprehensive. It is a little on the large size making it heavy to carry around as your guide book on a day to day basis. Also, some of the prices have changed (inevitably) so watch out for the extra cost (of public transport and museum entries etc).

Some nice tips on getting into busy museums (e.g Ufizi in Florence). I did find some...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by L. Common

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will stick with LP
Having used Lonely planet guides in the past really disappointed with this guide. This was just not a very practical guide when I visited Florence, Rome and Pisa.

Lonely Planet start with the capital city at the beginning of their guides because as a general rule of thumb these are the most visited places. Not here where you find Rome on page 617 and Turin at...
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by Mark Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and thorough, 24 Sep 2011
By 
L. Common (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Excellent, easy to read and comprehensive. It is a little on the large size making it heavy to carry around as your guide book on a day to day basis. Also, some of the prices have changed (inevitably) so watch out for the extra cost (of public transport and museum entries etc).

Some nice tips on getting into busy museums (e.g Ufizi in Florence). I did find some of the restaurant recommendations a little pricy but it has to be attractive to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect travel companion, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
This guide book is very well laid out, easy to follow, and has plenty of info to get you started in Italy! There are plenty of places reviewed in there to set you right. The town maps are especially helpful, there's a very handy language section towards the back, and at the front there's some extremely useful tips and info. Highly recommended to anyone heading to Italy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
We had this a few years ago and it fell to pieces, so we were pleased to buy a replacement, and have used it a lot when on our holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual with Rough Guide!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Loads of detailed maps to help you navigate through cities
Spot on recommendations on places to visit
Excellent tips on restaurants
Up to date regarding opening hours and entrance prices
Overall, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide to Italy, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
I wouldn't travel without it. Very good coverage of sights within all of the major areas. The accommodation lists are realistic - they have all been checked out personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for a good price, 24 Jun 2012
By 
B. Schuermann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
A good guide with some insider tips for people who do not stay in the same region of Italy, fairly up to date even with prices etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to Italy - brilliant book!, 21 May 2012
By 
Mrs. P. Anderson (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Brilliant book! Tells you EVERYTHING you need to know about Italy and planning your trip. Made my life a million times easier when booking my month's tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great guide, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Found this guide a great addition to our holiday in Italy, easy to find information about the various towns we passed through and lots of useful information. Would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but not perfect, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
I like the series, and found it natural to obtain this book when going to Milano, Rimini and Bologna a few weeks ago.

All in all I was satisfied with it - it's full of useful information about the country and bigger cities alike, in a nice layout that is easy to use on the go as well as beforehand. The information is no-nonsense and focused on facts and your budget.

Some points of critisism though. First of all the maps in the book are very unreliable. They can only give you an overview, and can be frustrating to try to follow. We had to buy or otherwise get maps for each city. And while it is a big book, Italy is also a very large country. Only the larger cities are mentioned and provided information for, and even they will mostly take up only 3-4 pages. The book is the most useful for a trip including multiple destinations in Italy. Otherwise get more specific material, for instance at the local tourist offices that were quite helpful and can give more information than the book.

Even though the book is only a little more than a year old, the prices were outdated. Add 1-3 euros on busprices etc., to be more realistic.

Other than that i would recommend it to anyone going to the wonderful Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guidebook, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
This guidebook is excellent. I've had a few from this publisher before and this one is just the same. It has some great colour pictures in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7ad8da4)

This product

The Rough Guide to Italy
The Rough Guide to Italy by Martin Dunford (Paperback - 1 Mar 2011)
14.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews