Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid companion
This is my third Rough Guide to China. The biggest improvement this time is that all major destinations are now given in English, Chinese and pinyin (with tones). The photographs are better too and, as usual with Rough Guides, the 'Contexts' section is very good indeed. It is clear that the authors have spent a lot of time studying and thinking about this great...
Published on 26 Feb. 2012 by James Choles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so little thought and skill
i finally took the plunge and brought a kindle travel guide. i was shocked at how little thought and skill have gone into the this expensive publication.

I brought this for the main reason that i am bike travelling so weight is a key issue.

1)the maps are so small they are absolutely illegible and non-zoomable. i will have to print google maps out...
Published 22 months ago by M. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid companion, 26 Feb. 2012
By 
James Choles (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
This is my third Rough Guide to China. The biggest improvement this time is that all major destinations are now given in English, Chinese and pinyin (with tones). The photographs are better too and, as usual with Rough Guides, the 'Contexts' section is very good indeed. It is clear that the authors have spent a lot of time studying and thinking about this great country.

That said I do have a few quibbles. Whoever described Jinan as a 'bright, modern and youthful place' obviously didn't visit the grimy construction site that I did last year. Also, why are subway maps included for Beijing and Hong Kong but not Shanghai? The biggest flaw, however, is that information here is already out-of-date. For example, two places are recommended in the 'Hangzhou Bars & Cafes' section and both have now closed down.

This presents a wider dilemma for travel guides, I think. How to remain relevant in the age of Trip Advisor and Wiki Travel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so little thought and skill, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Richardson "Mark" (all over the place) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i finally took the plunge and brought a kindle travel guide. i was shocked at how little thought and skill have gone into the this expensive publication.

I brought this for the main reason that i am bike travelling so weight is a key issue.

1)the maps are so small they are absolutely illegible and non-zoomable. i will have to print google maps out and annotate them myself!

2)it is near impossible to quickly find where you want to go, and often you end up finger sliding for minuits whilst trying to remember names of places in a strange language.

3)haven't found the country or district scale maps yet, however, if they exsist i doubt i will be able to read them.

4)i suspect a lot of people who travel are inspired/fascinated by maps. very sad to see that this element of the guide has been sacrificed.

here are my suggestions should anyone from rough guide be listening.

This media has the potential to revolutionize guide books. I was hoping to never again to be frustrated by flicking through pages, loosing my page, carrying a 1kg book for a few pages... i was hoping for an information linking system, potential based around a sequence of different scaled hyperlinked maps, that would get me to the location i needed, and organise data around that location (or dare a say it a database type system where one could plan a route, choose a filter (e.g. cost, activity, mode of transport...) and as such get quick detailed recommendations which left out the items not relavent to me). Instead i get a map i cannot read, chapter headings follows

Highlights
eastern sichuan and chongqing
western sichuen
travel details

But the place i will be going to (a popular place in sichuan) is in the north!!!!

I would have at the very least expected a well thought out expanding contents list that would get you down to individual town level from where you could hyperlink onwards. what you get is to the start of a huge geographical area and have to spend time finger sliding passed information that i currently don't need. sounds like that will be a right laugh on a cold wet day in a dark strange city.

i could go on and on, but quite simply in this day of information accessibility you are so so far behind i doubt we will seeing rough guides around for much longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rough guide to China, 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
Got this book from the library and found it extremely helpful. Used to live in Hong Kong and going back for a holiday soon. The chapter on Hong Kong was so good. It gave really helpful advice. So glad I got it to read before going back.The Rough Guide to China (Rough Guide Travel Guides)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's pretty good going, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. J. Gilmovitch (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend. He went to China. He said some of it was accurate. That's pretty good going. I've had lot's of rough guides. I've always found them to be entertainingly written. I've also found them to be accurate in parts. That's really as much as you can expect. Don't have unrealistic expectations and you won't be disappointed. Keeping these guides up to date must be an unbelievable collosal task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful when backpacking round China for 6 months 2013/14, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
I used this while backpacking around China for 6 months 2013/14, The review of hostels were good, when in remote locations the dravel direction were very good with acception of Shangrila but then i was there out of season. Really informative compaired to Lonely Planets (which was out of date in regards to travel routes/buses and some of the hostel recommedations weren't too great either )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars China, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
The guide was very useful for our 3 week trip to China. It gave useful information on the places we visited and added to our holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars China, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
It is book to plan to visit in different places. The history part is good and descriptions of interesting places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars China guide very good, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
Have had Rough Guides to many places over the years and have always found them very useful and informative. This China Guide is no different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to China, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to China (Paperback)
I bought this for my son and daughter-in-law, who live in China and wanted a more up-to-date guide than they had previously. They were staying here at the time I ordered it and seemed very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but a bit thin, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
Oliver E. K. Wells (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book useful, but lacking enough information. I have the Kindle edition and it needs some web links to keep it more useful in the internet age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to China
The Rough Guide to China by Martin Zatko (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2011)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews