Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2012
A bright and effective new look for the RG guidebooks has also been heralded by the first editions of guides to some of England's most beautiful regions. Easy to bypass, but difficult to find an excuse to leave; Norfolk and Suffolk seep quintessential English charm and the assortment of full colour, full size picture pages in the guide show it off in all its idyllic glory. The guide also packs in its fair share of maps which include a decent level of detail and, thankfully, provide labels for every road, unlike the infuriating simplistic nature of the newly-designed Lonely Planets.

Most importantly, the guide couldn't be easier to navigate. Sections are coloured and numbered and offer a wide range of sights and suggestions that are described in depth and in the easy-going, colloquial tone that RG are well known for. Straddling the eight sections that make up the guide (five dedicated to Norfolk, three to Suffolk), are the general info areas. At the front of the book, the 'Basics' section is well-informed and packed with info that will either be vital or irrelevant to you, but is useful having all the same. A guide to local beers and ales, for which the region is famous for, takes up a whole page and is a useful starting point if you fancy sampling East Anglia's many country pubs. However, the calendar of events is sparse in places, even stretching to informing the reader the dates for Hallowe'en and New Years Eve- events which certainly aren't unique, or celebrated uniquely, in Norfolk and Suffolk.
Another niggle is the faint font that 'Basics' is typed in. I felt my eyes straining to read the words although key words are in bold. The other fonts used throughout the guide are fine, if a little small.

At the back end of the book, the 'Contexts' page feels hurried and unoriginal. These sections of history, wildlife and books are never hugely important, but, if done well, make for informative reading when stuck on public transport for example. This guide dedicates a mine of info for bird-watchers and those who never studied British history in school, but otherwise it is rather redundant. The area's steep literary history is well-documented though in the 'Books' section.

Overall, if you're going to be spending a good week or more in the area then this unique guide is well-worth investing in. It's always difficult to decide whether to stick to a country guide which scratches the surface of every region or a regional guide which goes indepth, however, I think in this instance, the knowledge that Rough Guides passes on to its intrepid reader makes it well worth packing this book into your suitcase.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Brilliant little book, as always rough guides are a fantastic tool for any holiday. Purchase it you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
Overall a good survey of what to do in East Anglia for a week. Attractively and well laid out in sections and sensible geographical chunks of the Counties. There's a good selection of pubs and eating places, local history, and I was happy to see listings for accessible locations and activities as well as signposting for the LGBT scene. I was, however, slightly disappointed that the thriving vegetarian scene in Norfolk didn't get a mention.

The book captures well the charm and change along the North Norfolk coast, with the cheerful simple fun of Cromer contrasted to the more quaint Sheringham and Holt, and the long outstretched beaches around Holkham.

There were a few annoying obsolete details in the Norwich section. Cafe 103 closed some time back, as did the Spectrum Brewery. Similarly, I wasn't quite sure why the Mad Moose was included when other nearby venues like the Workshop weren't...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Sometimes the Rough Guides can be a bit dull but this guide was really interesting and had all the relevant and up to date information. I kept it in the car on our travels and found it easy to navigate to read about each place we visited and travelled through. Really useful and would recommend for a comprehensive book about Norfolk.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This is a great book, very informative and useful, exactly what I had hoped for. If you want to know what's good about Norfolk and Suffolk, this is the book for you. Highly recommend.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
A must have guide for both visitors and inhabitants of this beautiful part of Britain. Easy to use and "broken down" into partitions of each County. There is something there for everyone from where to visit, where to eat and stay with recommendations and opening hours. There are plenty of photographs and useful maps. The only downside is that this is a book that will need to be updated regularly to ensure all the information is up to date.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
An excellent little book! Full of loads of interesting facts of places to stay and visit in the area. Would definately recommend it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Have used this book so much this Autumn. It really is the essential guide to Norfork and Suffolk. Would recommend to everyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
If you are planning a trip to this beautiful part of the world, please make sure you take this book with you. It came in so useful when planning our 'days out'. It's a very honest, no-nonsense book. We found a couple of villages that were little gems that we might not have bothered with otherwise but, because they were praised by Martin Dunford, we gave them a go and weren't disappointed. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
I bought this guide to learn more about off-the-beaten track Norfolk - having lived in the county for 20 years I felt there must be areas of which I haven't even scratched the surface. Was disappointed, but do believe it would be useful for holiday makers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)