Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading if staying for a decent length of time.
A bright and effective new look for the RG guidebooks has also been heralded by the first editions of guides to some of England's most beautiful regions. Easy to bypass, but difficult to find an excuse to leave; Norfolk and Suffolk seep quintessential English charm and the assortment of full colour, full size picture pages in the guide show it off in all its idyllic...
Published on 1 Jun. 2012 by GallivantinGreg

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I did not receive this purchase
This is not a good review as I have never received the book although the money has been debited from my account.I would not recommend this site
Published 8 months ago by S.M.FINLAY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading if staying for a decent length of time., 1 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
A bright and effective new look for the RG guidebooks has also been heralded by the first editions of guides to some of England's most beautiful regions. Easy to bypass, but difficult to find an excuse to leave; Norfolk and Suffolk seep quintessential English charm and the assortment of full colour, full size picture pages in the guide show it off in all its idyllic glory. The guide also packs in its fair share of maps which include a decent level of detail and, thankfully, provide labels for every road, unlike the infuriating simplistic nature of the newly-designed Lonely Planets.

Most importantly, the guide couldn't be easier to navigate. Sections are coloured and numbered and offer a wide range of sights and suggestions that are described in depth and in the easy-going, colloquial tone that RG are well known for. Straddling the eight sections that make up the guide (five dedicated to Norfolk, three to Suffolk), are the general info areas. At the front of the book, the 'Basics' section is well-informed and packed with info that will either be vital or irrelevant to you, but is useful having all the same. A guide to local beers and ales, for which the region is famous for, takes up a whole page and is a useful starting point if you fancy sampling East Anglia's many country pubs. However, the calendar of events is sparse in places, even stretching to informing the reader the dates for Hallowe'en and New Years Eve- events which certainly aren't unique, or celebrated uniquely, in Norfolk and Suffolk.
Another niggle is the faint font that 'Basics' is typed in. I felt my eyes straining to read the words although key words are in bold. The other fonts used throughout the guide are fine, if a little small.

At the back end of the book, the 'Contexts' page feels hurried and unoriginal. These sections of history, wildlife and books are never hugely important, but, if done well, make for informative reading when stuck on public transport for example. This guide dedicates a mine of info for bird-watchers and those who never studied British history in school, but otherwise it is rather redundant. The area's steep literary history is well-documented though in the 'Books' section.

Overall, if you're going to be spending a good week or more in the area then this unique guide is well-worth investing in. It's always difficult to decide whether to stick to a country guide which scratches the surface of every region or a regional guide which goes indepth, however, I think in this instance, the knowledge that Rough Guides passes on to its intrepid reader makes it well worth packing this book into your suitcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 July 2012
By 
Sonya Ritchie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
Brilliant little book, as always rough guides are a fantastic tool for any holiday. Purchase it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall, 3 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
Overall a good survey of what to do in East Anglia for a week. Attractively and well laid out in sections and sensible geographical chunks of the Counties. There's a good selection of pubs and eating places, local history, and I was happy to see listings for accessible locations and activities as well as signposting for the LGBT scene. I was, however, slightly disappointed that the thriving vegetarian scene in Norfolk didn't get a mention.

The book captures well the charm and change along the North Norfolk coast, with the cheerful simple fun of Cromer contrasted to the more quaint Sheringham and Holt, and the long outstretched beaches around Holkham.

There were a few annoying obsolete details in the Norwich section. Cafe 103 closed some time back, as did the Spectrum Brewery. Similarly, I wasn't quite sure why the Mad Moose was included when other nearby venues like the Workshop weren't...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and interesting, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
A. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
Sometimes the Rough Guides can be a bit dull but this guide was really interesting and had all the relevant and up to date information. I kept it in the car on our travels and found it easy to navigate to read about each place we visited and travelled through. Really useful and would recommend for a comprehensive book about Norfolk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Norfolk and Suffolk, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
This is a great book, very informative and useful, exactly what I had hoped for. If you want to know what's good about Norfolk and Suffolk, this is the book for you. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
If you are planning a trip to this beautiful part of the world, please make sure you take this book with you. It came in so useful when planning our 'days out'. It's a very honest, no-nonsense book. We found a couple of villages that were little gems that we might not have bothered with otherwise but, because they were praised by Martin Dunford, we gave them a go and weren't disappointed. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy book, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
I chose this book as it was lightweight and therefore easly transportable. I am pleased with it as it does include all that I was looking for without too much fussy detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only publication that you need, 22 April 2013
By 
eljay (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
Comprehensive coverage for the Norfolk/Suffolk holiday-maker. This book is presented in a fashion that makes you want to read it.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy visitor's guide, 6 April 2013
By 
Annabelle (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
Very useful guide book to have in the car when visiting the area. Provides a good cross-section of places to see. Good value at Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk (Paperback)
An excellent little book! Full of loads of interesting facts of places to stay and visit in the area. Would definately recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk
The Rough Guide to Norfolk & Suffolk by Phil Lee (Paperback - 1 May 2012)
£11.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews