Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special indeed
The poor Cotswolds. This is a region of England forever being misrepresented. It's either portrayed as a posh, honey-coloured hideaway for harangued celebs and upper middle class mums on yoga retreats, or packaged up like a quaint Richard Curtis style film set for twee-seeking foreign tourists. There's *some* truth in both these clichés of course, as there always...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Maxine Sheppard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Satisfied with this book
Published 13 days ago by Mr. G. M. Peake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special indeed, 14 May 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
The poor Cotswolds. This is a region of England forever being misrepresented. It's either portrayed as a posh, honey-coloured hideaway for harangued celebs and upper middle class mums on yoga retreats, or packaged up like a quaint Richard Curtis style film set for twee-seeking foreign tourists. There's *some* truth in both these clichés of course, as there always is, but you rarely get to see or read anything that presents the Cotswolds in any more depth, especially in a guide book. This book, however, is very different.

What Matthew Teller does really well in this new Rough Guide, is not to dispel these stereotypes as myths - because they're not, entirely - but to place them in their rightful context and then move on. The Cotswolds is an astoundingly pretty corner of the country, it's true, but that fact in itself betrays nothing of its heart and guts. This is an ancient patchwork of proud market towns and dyed-in-the-wool rural communities, working hard to overcome the realities of an economic situation which makes it almost impossible to maintain the agricultural way of life it's relied upon for centuries.

Where this book really succeeds is in bringing to light how this has affected the region, by revealing the reality of the Cotswolds today: a world of ancient or obsolete traditions revived in the spirit of "diversifying" (and because tourists love all that stuff), the localisation of the food chain and a subsequent glut of farmer's markets, and an astonishing gastronomic scene that's sprung up in the wake of all this. Add to this the region's plethora of oddball events and attractions, not to mention its serenity and obscenely beautiful views, and there you have it. A bucolic, distinctive, sometimes quirky, and above all - as Matthew writes himself - special destination. Who gives a toss if Jeremy Clarkson lives there or not? Buy this book, because you won't find a better - or truer - one out there, and you'll be led to a Cotswolds the hordes rarely see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to the Cotswolds, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
I have recently moved back to south Warwickshire/Gloucestershire border after thirty years of living elsewhere and bought this guide to provide information about the area around my new home and to re-acquaint myself more generally with an area I knew pretty well in my teenage years. It is good to have a guide that covers not only the Cotswold escarpment which forms the Cotswolds Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty but also the neighbouring areas both north (Stratford-upon-Avon & the Vale of Evesham), south (Oxford & Woodstock, for Blenheim Palace) and west to Bath. This makes a good deal more sense for the visitor than a guide restricted solely to the AONB and should make it easy to devise a suitable itinerary.

Whilst the guide covers the major sights in the area it also provides information on places off the beaten track. There is plenty of information about public transport albeit in many rural areas the options are somewhat limited and a car will be essential for some places/areas. The details of timetables for the area I live in are accurate . There are also plenty of tips for places to stay and eat, the assessment of local pubs eateries that I have tried being reliable in my view.

By and large this guide isn't as 'sniffy' about the popular places as some RGs although occasionally there is a slightly barbed comment. For example, one rather attractive off the beaten track village that I know is, in a disparaging tone, described as "over-neat". I can only assume the author has some objection to well-kept houses and mowed grass, which is pretty typical of all the villages in the area, particularly those, like the village in question, which are largely conservation areas! I am not quite sure what the residents of such places are supposed to do, and why the author comments in this way about one village when the same could be said of many more villages covered by the book - there is a certain chocolate box quality that you cannot escape in the Cotswolds.

The guide quite properly refers to the impact of large numbers of visitors on some places, like Broadway, Stow-on-the-Wold & Bourton-on-the-Water, although the danger of mentioning the less well-known places is that they too succumb to the hordes with even the tiny villages with lanes too narrow to accommodate large coaches subject to the impact of car drivers.

All told though, this is an excellent guide to the area, highlighting a wide array of popular and less well-known places from stately piles, impressive gardens, pretty villages, stunning views, artisanal food producers, pubs & restaurants and more so that it is easy to satisfy a range of interests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cotswold Guide, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
Very detailed, useful descriptions of towns and villages, and includes great maps and guides to new restaurants, pubs, atmospheric cafes.
Helpful information about what to do in each town. Worth the price. We'll be taking it with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to a much loved region, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
Having read of this book's focus not so much on the chocolate box picture postcard as on the real Cotswolds I bought it prior to planning a trip with some friends over from India.
It proved a great source of inspiration as to where to go and what to see. Of course we did all the high touristy things, but we also sought out the less well known and planned routes avoiding the masses. Some excellent local food producers were encountered with this book's help - although some, sadly, having gone under in the present economic climate were not to be found when we factored them into an itinerary.
The book is a good read in itself too, breaking the Cotswolds into separate areas nicely.
If you are planning a trip do consider this book, it is well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading it makes you want to be there - a great buy!, 6 May 2011
By 
lower whim beeb (the midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
If you live in the Cotswolds or are visiting, you will find something new in this book - it is easy to read and clear to navigate your way around.

There is never enough time on day trips or short stays to see all that an area has to offer but this book really helps you make the best of your trip - great ideas and clever facts!

We used it for a family day out and it was the perfect companion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. G. M. Peake "Geoff Peake" (Holmfirth, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
Satisfied with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful guide book, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
Having not been to the Cotswolds before we bought this book to help us get the best out of our short week. It gives very accurate information about all the town, villages and attractions and really made it easy for us to know when things were open and how much the entrance might cost. Being a very popular area we found the 'secret village' suggestions and all the other off the beaten track ideas were of great value. It's great to know where is good to eat and stay too in all the listed places. Just an all round, down to earth, great guide that we used every day and would recommend to anyone wanting to explore this wonderful, area of the country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you are visiting the area, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
Very well written and full of advice as to where to visit. The Cotswolds are beautiful and at this time of year not too busy with tourists. Broadway remains my favourite place. So many hidden secrets though turn up in this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cotswolds guide book, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
Excellent book covering all the main sites to visit while in the Cotswolds. It has enabled me to plan my two day trip very efficiently so that I get the best out of my time there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon (Paperback)
A well written guide which ideally enhances the knowledger of this beautiful part of the UK. Not overpowering and just right, containing all the salient points required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to The Cotswolds: Includes Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews