Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to get started
Firstly this book is firmly aimed at those who are travlling on a limited budget. If your planning on touring the world staying in hotels and resorts and not having to worry about the pennies then this really isn't for you. However if you have got a limited budget and plan to head of the beaten track then get yourself a copy now.

In clear well organised...
Published on 29 Jun 2006 by James A. Hunt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excitable copy and traveller's bravado
The opening gets you in the mood and promises much on what the main text will deliver, which then fails to materialise. Some sensible advice to be found but much of it consists of vague assertions couched in excitable copy and traveller's bravado. Certainly more in the vein of Lonely Planet in the 'hype' factor, rather than Rough Guides, which are usually more down to...
Published on 20 July 2011 by AK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to get started, 29 Jun 2006
By 
James A. Hunt (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly this book is firmly aimed at those who are travlling on a limited budget. If your planning on touring the world staying in hotels and resorts and not having to worry about the pennies then this really isn't for you. However if you have got a limited budget and plan to head of the beaten track then get yourself a copy now.

In clear well organised sections it will help you choose your pack, organise your finances, travel safely, what to take and a host of other usefull advice. Not just that but its a fun read too. The Author used his own experiences to develope his points but always remends you that it's your journey and you need to make your own decisions.

This book is not a guide to the world itself altough there is a region section included. It's all about preparing for your journey and starting out equiped with the things you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, inspiring and useful, 29 Jan 2006
I would highly recommend this book when about to plan a round the world trip or indeed any kind of solo travel where you will need to plan your own routes and accomodation.

It is inspiring and colourful with vibrant pictures giving you ideas about where you may like to go, and detailed tips and information about all aspects of your trip. It covers what to take, how much to take, who to travel with and even deals with coming home again.

It is written in a way that appeals to both young students/graduates/young people who are about to embark upon an adventure but it is not soley for this group. It offers tips for those on a career break and those that may have to deal with renting out their own property when they go away so I feel it would be useful for all travellers of all ages.

The end of the book gives brief highlights and accounts of continents to get you thinking about where you might like to go and throughout the book there are leads and links to places where you can access further information on the topics covered.

I think that this is one of the best books i've read on the subject and worth investing in to maximise your trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for anyone embarking on world travel, 7 April 2003
By A Customer
I haven't even left yet and already this book has put my mind at ease about travelling. There is absolutely everything in there about planning your trip, your route, tips to help you decide where to go, how to get there and ideas of what to do while you're there. There is a section dedicated to web addresses to find information on everything you will need to know from where to buy a rucksack to pre booking a place on a certain course. It tells you what time of year to avoid certain places, due to weather and even tells you what time of year you can hitch rides on yachts!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to round the world, 28 Mar 2003
By A Customer
Excellent. This book details everything you could ever know from planning your trip to what to do when you get there. Sections include preparing for your trip - visas, vaccinations etc; sections about different areas of the world; what to do in difficult situations, if conflict occurs; recommended tours to go on in destinations, how much they cost, how long they take etc; and even a potentially useful section about the different types of toilets you may encounter around the world...
A very interesting, useful, informative book, which would be invaluable to a first-time traveller to any destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, thorough guide, 26 Jun 2005
I've decided that after finishing uni next summer I'm going to go travelling, and I'm glad I started my research with this book. As opposed to some material I've read that frankly scared me out of embarking on a round the world trip, this book has done nothing but wet my appetite for travel. Full of helpful hints and tips, advice for both solo and group travel. It seems to specialise in the blindingly obvious things - that you forget! Overall an excellent purchase that no first time traveller should miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good overview for first timers, 4 Feb 2007
By 
J. Starkey (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book realy useful for planning my first round the world trip. Easy to read, to the point and good practical advice. Brief sections on all important issues to get you started such as health, visas what to pack etc. The best introductory book for backpackers that I have read so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, needs better editing, 1 Oct 2003
By 
M. Blanche - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For the novice globetrotter, this book provides a good introduction to issues that aren't covered by your usual guidebook. What vaccinations do you need? What side-effects do they have? How do you keep yourself safe and your gear secure? How do you use a foreign crapper?! How much money will you need to survive?
It also has a good overview to the various continents and a rough guide to travel costs and times for getting between major cities. The list of 5 or so "don't miss" attractions is a bit trite though (there are surely more things to see in a whole continent).
It is easy to tell this is the first edition of the book though - there are numerous spelling and grammatical mistakes, web sites are missing parts of their addresses, and a little information is just plain wrong. The book appears to have been sloppily edited, or rushed out. No doubt these problems will be fixed in the second edition, but it makes you wonder about the rest of the content.
Overall 4 stars for useful information, losing a star thanks to the editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical & Accessible, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Sally Makaruk "sallymak" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a current student intending to take a gap-year after University, this book has been really useful to me when seeking basic advice about how to start planning my trip.

The guide is easily accessible, easy to read and seems really genuine. It contains information about where to travel, when to travel and the practicalities of a long trip away from home. If nothing else, the guide acts as a reassurance that taking a HUGE break away from home is do-able and an amazing experience.

I'd advise anyone planning a gap-year or around the world travel to read this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go,go,go!!!, 14 Mar 2005
By 
B. Morgan "Bethan" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are thinking of traveing around the world this is THE BOOK.

It was so good that mine has just returned from 12 months travelling around the world with me.

It has great sections on everything. One of the most usefull things is the daily budget guidelines for each country. This helped me write a budget before I went.

It is also really inspiring and now I just can't wait to leave England again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely brilliant book and well worth the money!, 20 Jun 2003
This book is probably one of the best books in the Rough Guides series. It covers everything, from health to hitch-hiking, from the eating to excursions, and from taxis to thyphoons. Everything that you need to know about taking a trip around the world (or anywhere really) is included. The book gives you some recommended routes to take, for example, it recommends you start at San Fransisco to Japan to China to Hong Kong to Bangkok to Kuala Lumpur to Kathmandu to Kenya to Cape Town to Mexico City and then back to San Fransisco. It also gives advise about what exactly to do there, be it an English tutor at a school or simply sight-seeing.
The book also gives advise about how to get around i.e. planes, cars, buses, hitch-hiking, and how long exactly it takes you to do it in, a perfect example is that it says it takes 28 hours by bus to get from Beijing to Hong Kong, and it would cost £58/$90. Another thing that is included is asvise on what other books to buy in addition to this one.
Thhis book is definitely worth the money, in fact I would say that the price is not enough for what you get! An essential for everybody who likes/wants to travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to First-Time Around The World
The Rough Guide to First-Time Around The World by Doug Lansky (Paperback - 1 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews