Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the sixth edition
Can't agree with the other reviewers who found the book out-of-date. On looking more closely, I see they are referring to the LAST edition, not the present one. So it's their reviews which are out of date!
Found the book helpful, particularly the parts relating to Alberta and Saskatchewan, as well as Churchill. Other guides don't cover in as much detail, particularly...
Published on 13 Dec 2008 by Quack

versus
44 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS NEW AS ADVERTISED!
Beware! Amazon says this was published in January 2005, but the publication date given in the book is actually June 2004. So when I take my trip to Canada, it'll be nearly a year out of date, rather than just a couple of months. A year can make a big difference - prices change, hotels and restaurants open and close, new attractions spring up, etc. A bit disappointing...
Published on 25 Feb 2005 by PHJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the sixth edition, 13 Dec 2008
Can't agree with the other reviewers who found the book out-of-date. On looking more closely, I see they are referring to the LAST edition, not the present one. So it's their reviews which are out of date!
Found the book helpful, particularly the parts relating to Alberta and Saskatchewan, as well as Churchill. Other guides don't cover in as much detail, particularly the more remote areas. Very informative and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Six trips and we still use it - but ignore the attitude, 14 May 2010
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
We first bought this book because it was the only one that covered all of the different areas we wanted to visit; other options required buying several books.

At over 1100 pages it is fairly heavy, so worth making note of when you pack your luggage, but it is worth it.

The amount of detail is wonderful. It contains maps, street maps, tourist information locations and opening hours, fares and prices for transport and expected rates for meals and accomodation all over Canada. Details of scenic walks and drives and things to do and visit are listed for almost everywhere we went.

What we believe let it down was the fairly negative opinions of a great number of places - it rarely seems to have anything good to say about anywhere, although it describes the places in detail every time.
Calgary as an example it says has only two things worth visiting it for - the Stampede and the Museum (which is amazing). But there is so much more to the place and we disagreed with that view. The book does detail places to eat, visit, stay and suchlike, so it doesn't ignore it.
Several areas receive the same treatment - Prince George is certainly more intersting than the book's opinion.

So, a remarkably detailed book which we find essential. Just ignore the negative attitude that abounds within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide are the best all-round guide books, 29 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the previous version of this book and found it to be a great guide so we will be buying this one as we are going in August. Rough Guide are the best - they cater for people who want to splash out as well as those on a shoestring. I am consistently disappointed with the Lonely Planet books - they don't seem to visit the places they are talking about, reviews of places often don't give any info - e.g. 'the rooms are basic but clean and start at $14'. Rough Guide are the best. Time Out Vancouver is also very good if you want to know really good boutique hotels, restaurants etc, but Time Out guides aren't really all-round guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reference book, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Downloaded the kindle version for ease and its a great guide. i bought quite a few other guide books which did not compare with this. This was the only guide book i came across with a reasonable amount of information on Jasper....the other books were quite insubstantial. This book is fairly comprehensive on all regions of Canada and contains illustrations, maps etc although black and white. I will be taking it with me on my kindle and not look so much of a tourist and save on bagage allowance...would recommend this over other guide books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Canada (Paperback)
I bought this book to give my husband and I some ideas for places to go and things to see in our 3 week trip to Canada. I was expecting the usual tourist stuff but I have always found these guides give a good overall view and, as long as your re-print is up to date, you generally get a very close estimate on your likely expenditure.

I found the websites to book flights incredibly useful as we are looking to travel across the country.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who is thinking of going to Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Canada (Paperback)
The book is very enjoyable to read, description and tips seem highly useful.
Love it!
Next year Canada will be on my list...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough and ready, 30 April 2009
Rough Guide and Lonely Planet are the best travel guide series' on the market. There is always a problem with eateries etc. closing down, especially during the global recession. That aside, this is highly detailed, informative and accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS NEW AS ADVERTISED!, 25 Feb 2005
By 
PHJ (North Devon) - See all my reviews
Beware! Amazon says this was published in January 2005, but the publication date given in the book is actually June 2004. So when I take my trip to Canada, it'll be nearly a year out of date, rather than just a couple of months. A year can make a big difference - prices change, hotels and restaurants open and close, new attractions spring up, etc. A bit disappointing. Will Amazon correct this???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't have been the same holiday without it, 27 July 2010
I used this edition to visit a lot of Ontario and part of Quebec, and even 2 years + after the publication date found it to be very accurate and helpful. In nearly all cases the hotel recommendations were spot on plus sound ideas on sights to see. This goes for areas off the beaten track too. Canada is a pleasure to travel around, but without this book I would have struggled to get so far without a car.

Don't discount this old edition just yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 3 May 2006
By 
P. Elam "p_elam" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the above review suggests, various parts of this were out of date - restaurants had closed, TTC fares have gone up to $2.75 in Toronto... but on the whole is was a very well written, informative and useful book. We planned a month round Canada with this and took it everywhere it went without ever needing extra maps, guides etc.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Canada
The Rough Guide to Canada by Steven Horak (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
Used & New from: 0.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews