Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Rough Guide to Europe on a Budget
This book has Europe and more - Scandinavia, Turkey and Morocco. There is a general overview of each country, followed by information on the capital city and then a look at the regions. For major cities, such as Venice, there are maps as well as information on the city as a whole and the principal places to visit. Transport to and within the region, accommodation, eating,...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Sue B.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so great
Given the fact that I could test its suggestions in Athens and Barcelona where I've been to, I'd say its written quite poorly... But I really enjoyed its maps in every big city and the way it places the reestaurants and sites on it. Also, I didn't like the hotel suggestions at all, I could find way cheaper hotels with better facilities.
Published on 28 May 2011 by From Dublin to Athens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Rough Guide to Europe on a Budget, 8 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
This book has Europe and more - Scandinavia, Turkey and Morocco. There is a general overview of each country, followed by information on the capital city and then a look at the regions. For major cities, such as Venice, there are maps as well as information on the city as a whole and the principal places to visit. Transport to and within the region, accommodation, eating, drinking and entertainment are all set out clearly. For each country there is also a list of some basic words and phrases along with pronounciation. This book is a good basic start to planning a holiday in Europe as it gives the traveller some idea about what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommend, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
I bought this book before travelling in Europe this summer and it has been invaluable. I had never visited any of the countries I went to so the fact that it has an overview for each country and then goes into greater detail for each of the main cities was extremely helpful. There's also a page of useful phrases for each language which was really helpful so you don't feel like a complete numpty not being able to even say hello in that country's language. The only downside was the maps aren't particularly detailed so it can be difficult to navigate round the cities based solely on the book's map but it's very easy to get hold of a better map from a tourist info office so it doesn't really matter. I'll definitely take this book with me when I go travelling again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for an InterRail, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
Gone InterRailing and took this book.

It has a lot of recommendations on nightlife, eating and so.
Features all the major European cities and much more. Has maps of the city's center of most of them.
Talks a little bit about each country, presenting us with a general look of what we will see.
Really good on what to visit!

Could be more up-to-date, but what isn't in the book you will discover by yourself.

Buy it if you're going to travel or just want to plan ahead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice layout, easy to follow, excellent information!, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
Excellent travelling partner for an interrailer. Even when these types of books are made mostly for people who come outside of EU, this book is not too "American", like the Lonely Planets and Lets Gos books are. Nicely written with two colours, orange and black. Good tips for occasional treating yourself. Lots of internet addresses where you can find more info or for example book a hostel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy guide, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
A good guide to start your research on European countries. Sufficient details, good chunk of information. Once you've decided on which country to visit, you can always get more details from the specific country's guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 28 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
Really good book which is great value for money. It gives lots of tips on travelling round Europe at the start (good for 1st time travellers like me!) and then goes on to provide lots of useful information about cities all over Europe including some key phrases in the language spoken by each country mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so great, 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
Given the fact that I could test its suggestions in Athens and Barcelona where I've been to, I'd say its written quite poorly... But I really enjoyed its maps in every big city and the way it places the reestaurants and sites on it. Also, I didn't like the hotel suggestions at all, I could find way cheaper hotels with better facilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
Liked this one better than another one that I bought; great detail, namely in some small places where one would expect none or little info. No pictures and very thin paper. I'd buy it again cause it has a pretty good summary of every country, which you can take around while traveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. K. Frahm (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
Bought this to replace my copy from 1998. Use it a lot when planning trips away to Europe. Dont think it has as much info as the Lets Go Europe though, but I use the 2 different books in tandem. Still value for money in the info it gives you. Thiis always prepares me for what I can expect to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good with main highlights but not enough to depend on, 1 April 2011
By 
chick (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget (Paperback)
I recently went on a small trip to Athens for a few days and used this book whilst there. The prices are way out of date. The book said 6 euros for a metro ticket from Athens Airport to the centre, it was 8 euros when I got there. Coincidently Athens metro just put the prices up the day before I arrived! I went to some of the restaurants mentioned and their prices were more than what the book dictated (more than a euro in fact) In some sections there is a tip/advice text such as getting 1 ticket for all museums but it doesnt say how or where to get this. Overall this book is very brief covering all counties in Europe, what to see/do as the main attractions there and thats it. The prices are out of date despite it being published a year ago Feb 2010 and no mention on where to get more information on attraction passes, metro tickets etc(i.e web address). I would only use this book to get an idea of what to see/do when planning further trips and thats it. For more detailed info, I'll get a book on that city or country or print info from the web address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget
The Rough Guide to Europe On A Budget by Rough Guides (Paperback - 1 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews