Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth travelling in Portugal
In fact as a review of the Rough Guide to Portugal this could as easily be a review of any or all of the Rough Guides travel books - it just happens to be the one I've used most recently. The Rough Guides score on all the main factors for books as aids to travel. They are thorough enough to enable the traveller to make informed judgements without being so comprehensive...
Published on 18 Mar. 2001 by ronald.simpson@onmail.co.uk

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for low-budget travellers
We used this guide in Portugal this year. In general its quite well written and contains useful information. The maps of all the towns and cities are considerably better than in the competitive Lonely Planet. Also it contains some tips on where is the best place to park your car (again, you are not going to find it in Lonely Planet).

However, we found out that...
Published on 27 Jun. 2011 by Grze


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth travelling in Portugal, 18 Mar. 2001
By 
ronald.simpson@onmail.co.uk (South Kirkby, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
In fact as a review of the Rough Guide to Portugal this could as easily be a review of any or all of the Rough Guides travel books - it just happens to be the one I've used most recently. The Rough Guides score on all the main factors for books as aids to travel. They are thorough enough to enable the traveller to make informed judgements without being so comprehensive that they drive your airline baggage into excess weight. Most important of all Rough Guides are relevant to most travellers' experiences: the places I visit are recognizably the same as described and the guides do not direct themselves to one readership, be it backpackers or epicures, seekers after history or nightlife. There's nothing fancy about the Rough Guides, but all you need is helpful, clear and accurate guides - and that's what you get. And, of course, as guides start going out of date even before they reach the shops, the positive encouragement to readers to supply corrections for the frequent updates is the Rough Guides' final strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left in Portugal, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
I took my Rough Guide with me to Portugal when visiting friends who have lived there for 10 years. They found it so useful and informative that I left it for them to use when I returned from my holiday. We visited Mafra for the first time after reading the description of the palace there. This book added another dimension to my holiday ......... is there a R.G. to the UK? I want one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best companion for independent travelling., 25 April 2001
By 
I did a 16 day trip around Easter this year, visiting among other places Porto, Coímbra, Lagos and Lisbon. The Rough Guide proved very helpful in directing me to Portugal's most interesting spots, as well as in giving me information about practicalities like accomodation, food, transport and even laundry. I travelled on a quite limited budget, mostly eating and sleeping as cheap as possible, and even if this book isn't specifically aimed at such travellers, I'd easily recommend it to others. A plus for a good number of quite accurate maps that help you get the bearings on arrival, and also for including accomodation listings in the very beginning of each chapter. A roof for the night is, after all, one of the first things you should look for. Also good on nightlife. And just to point out a few drawbacks: Accomodation is listed alphabetically, not by price. Didn't like that. I also found it coming a little short on background information about portuguese society, culture and contemporary life.
But I definately liked the book. It helped me getting the most out of my fortnight in Portugal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful general guide, 17 April 2012
By 
Madge Pelling (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Portugal (Paperback)
Too much to expect fine detail about one specific region with nine under review, but we found the Alentejo section very helpful. It gave enough information about the landscape and the villages, towns and cities to help us decide where to go and what to look for. Everyone perhaps finds one village or location they enjoy that Rough Guide doesn't say much about, and we did in Redondo that only rates a mention of its flower festival. RG says it is pretty; it is, but not in any sense tourist-oriented, like the white towns of Andalucia, which it resembles. The church, with its 17th century blue and white tiles and sculptured chapels, we found very moving; the working potters, only too delighted to show us their work, were a pleasure to meet; even the shops were like English village shops of fifty years ago, and all the better for that. The local bread and cheeses are lovely.
RG is exactly right about the market in Estremoz: not entirely necessary to stay the night but the alternative is to get up early - after about 10.30 the real business is over; before then there are bargains galore. Elvas has somewhat updated its tourist office, and the map now has street names, but information about opening of churches and museums seems vague. RG advice on where to eat there is absolutely right: the good news is the locals don't arrive until nearly 1 pm so about 12.30 gives you complete freedom at Machado, and its prices are cheap. The cooking is done while you wait and the waiter is very friendly and helpful.
Overall, very glad we bought Rough Guide, and we will use it for a return visit to Portugal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for low-budget travellers, 27 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Portugal (Paperback)
We used this guide in Portugal this year. In general its quite well written and contains useful information. The maps of all the towns and cities are considerably better than in the competitive Lonely Planet. Also it contains some tips on where is the best place to park your car (again, you are not going to find it in Lonely Planet).

However, we found out that it doesn't contain the most budget accommodation. The true backpacker types would call the cheapest listed options "mid range". E.g. it would be nice to include a decent place with rooms without bathrooms (usually 15 cheaper) or a municipal campsite (e.g. there is a really reasonable campsite in Tomar, 10 mins stroll from the old town - perfect choice for people on the budget).

To sum up: recommended for people traveling with a car and on an at least mid-range budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything, 14 Aug. 2004
This guide is quite good to give you an overall view of Portugal. It is quite comprehensive, it gives you a bit of everything you may need to know. It also seems to cater for everyone, different ages, sex, etc. I am a regular holiday maker in Portugal and really love it there. This book has given me a good introduction not just as a visitor but as someone with a deeper interest in the country. Useful aspects it covers include tips on living and working in Portugal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets the standard for guide books, 25 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
By far the best guide to Portugal you will find. It tells you everything you could wish to know. I live in Portugal -- and find it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide, 7 July 2009
By 
Ian Shine (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a religious user of the Rough Guide series, I have plenty of experience of the quality of these travel books.
They surpass the Lonely Planet, Time Out and DK series in that they offer up-to-date, easy to browse information that is not padded out with useless colour pictures. They are always indexed well, which as any traveller will know, is an essential part of any travel guide.
I've used Rough Guides in Poland, Russia, Japan, England, Croatia and Italy and rarely found anything to fault them on, and the Portugal guide follows suit.
The information is all relevant and correct (ridiculously, this isn't always the case with other guides), and well-organised.
The city guides are easy-to-digest and offer plentiful suggestions for additional excursions or traditional things to do in Portugal's different areas. Truly invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from Rough, 21 Jun. 2009
By 
J. M. Hewison (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As always, the Rough guide has come through again, tops as far as I am concerned. Lots of great tips for staying, eating and sight seeing. If you buy only one guide book, make this the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Portugal (Paperback)
Big fan of rough guides, but the prices, opening hours and restaurant information were completely outdated. A new edition is very urgently needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Portugal
The Rough Guide to Portugal by Jules Brown (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews