Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide Makes For Smooth Sailing
Well, not really sailing, but certainly strolling around Havana without getting lost and seeing the sights. This guide has the basics and more besides, and covered just about what I needed to know about without going off on tome-bloating tangents. Concise and easy to read, it proved a useful item to have. Especially their Chinatown section, and one restaurant in...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by Paul Pinn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and missing essential information.
The book has a number of good points. Its concise, well written and easy to follow. On the downside the book is already out of date. I understand that these types of guides can and generally do go out of date fast but the information is so inaccurate in regard to entrance fees one should ignore the costs in the guide. the only costs which was accurate was the tax to...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide Makes For Smooth Sailing, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Havana (Paperback)
Well, not really sailing, but certainly strolling around Havana without getting lost and seeing the sights. This guide has the basics and more besides, and covered just about what I needed to know about without going off on tome-bloating tangents. Concise and easy to read, it proved a useful item to have. Especially their Chinatown section, and one restaurant in particular; if you want a big choice (meat, fish and fresh veg!) at a good price (cheap!) and cooked just right........then this book is probably invaluable for that reason alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and missing essential information., 14 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Havana (Paperback)
The book has a number of good points. Its concise, well written and easy to follow. On the downside the book is already out of date. I understand that these types of guides can and generally do go out of date fast but the information is so inaccurate in regard to entrance fees one should ignore the costs in the guide. the only costs which was accurate was the tax to leave Cuba being 25 CUCs. For example, Admission to Museum for the Revolution is 6 CUCs and if you want to use a camera thats an additional 2 CUCs. The guide doesn't mention that and its either an error or a fairly new charge incorporated since the guide was published. Another, more extreme example is the price for entrance to Necropolis de Colon is stated to be 1 CUC. Its 5 CUC.
Both exhibits are well worth a visit but beware of the costs.

The downside to visiting Havana are the long queues and time it takes to get through passport control at the airport, which was 11/2 hours in and nearer 2 hours out. This isn't mentioned at all in the guide. Also it isn't uncommon to wait 1 - 2 hours to get into your hotel, even if you have pre-booked. This happened to me at the Hotel Nacional de Cuba. Again no comment in the guide even as a general observation.

What else does the book miss? Scams and there are loads. being invited to an imaginary Salsa class or festival - its a muse to get you away from the main stream to rob you. We were pre-warned by our tour guide and it happened to us twice in 15 minutes after leaving the hotel. However a firm no generally lets the scammers know you are not interested. A pet hate is also tipping. Now I am happy to tip those people who serve me, but the people in Havana want paying 1-2 CUCs for advice, and in two cases for taking pictures of public monuments. Again, this may be a new scam but the guide doesn't mention it.

The Guide does cover all of the main attractions which is good. However, when In Havana walk along the Le Malecón into Old havana to be safe and be at ease walking anywhere in the commercial centre (Vedado) which is safe, though far less Police.

Havana is a place to see, at least once and this guide does help in getting the most of a visit. Shame it only reflectes on the positives and ignores some essential safety features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Havana (Paperback)
never usede rough guides before but was advised to try one by a colleague. I'm a total convert, they are brilliant. Can't stop reading and planning for our trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Ms. Se Workman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Havana (Paperback)
We spent 4 nights in Havana and this book was useful to read prior to going to Havana and whilst we were there.
We used their recommendations for restaurants and bars and it was helpful.
We realised that it didn't contain all of the recommendations, such as that La Taberna is the main venue to catch Buena Vista Social Club. Also we weren't quite clear on what places were okay for food or not, but we still found our way around. Other people had different books that had different recommendations and suggestions of things to do and they all will have their suggestions, we were happy overall with our book though.
THe maps were really useful, although we had to earmark pages for the maps as you went from one area to another, but it was still useful as it's quite easy to lose your bearings, particularly in Habana Vieja.
The book explains that there will be a lot of people trying to offer services to you, but from our experience it's more than that - there is no cigar or salsa festival! So don't allow someone to lead you to it, as it doesn't exist. You are in no way unsafe, but you can end up wasting time for something that doesn't exist because they just want a tip.

Overall, getting a book like this is definitely useful, and I would get the 'rough guide' book brand again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good guide, 22 Feb 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Havana (Paperback)
Whenever I am travelling, I am always getting Rough Guide. I find them very useful and very up to date, plenty of good tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2fdde0)

This product

The Rough Guide to Havana
The Rough Guide to Havana by Matthew Norman (Paperback - 14 Jan 2010)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews