Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible
This is the second Rough Guide to the Internet that I have bought, having worn out an earlier edition and seen it (inevitably) get out of date. The new Guide is every bit as good as its' previous incarnations, originally created by Angus Kennedy. The two new authors have uncannily reproduced the tone and pithy wit of the original but have their own distinct humour too...
Published on 25 Feb 2005 by Ian Richardson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners or older people
Text is too small, layout and font isn't clear and to much info on each page. Don't buy this for over 60s or anybody who is really new to computers or the internet. For me 30yrs old this would be 3 stars.
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 25 Feb 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second Rough Guide to the Internet that I have bought, having worn out an earlier edition and seen it (inevitably) get out of date. The new Guide is every bit as good as its' previous incarnations, originally created by Angus Kennedy. The two new authors have uncannily reproduced the tone and pithy wit of the original but have their own distinct humour too. This book is the best possible introduction for Internet virgins but remains superbly useful to anyone who uses the Internet. It is as up to date as these things can be and seems pretty flawless in content. I use a Mac, which might be considered slightly esoteric compared with the PC users out there. However, such is the comprehensiveness of this book that I had learned several useful things about my own browser within a few minutes of opening it. Every Internet user should have this permanently installed beside their computer. Press this into the hands of anyone you know who is nervous of using the Internet. They will love you for ever. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Internet Reading, 6 Dec 2005
Absolutely a must have book for the novice and professional alike. This pint sized book is the only reference book you will ever need for information to access the Internet. Including chapters on how to set up your connection be it Broadband or Dial Up, you are guided through the process smoothly and with little jargon. Chapters relative to sites with specific content and numerous site addresses to whet your appetite. Sit down at your computer with this book for reference, and I guarantee you'll be there for at least an hour. You will be unable to put this book down if you are looking for new or different places to go on the "Net". And away from your computer this little book can still captivate your interest, since you will always be discovering something else in relation to the World Wide Web to read about. All in all - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb guide, 17 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Newbies and seasoned Internet users will all get something from the incredibled detailed, but easy to read guide. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best for beginners, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Edward G. Negus "Geoffrey Negus" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
I'd previously owned two earlier editions of this book and bought this latest one in case it would alert me to new developments. There was some new material, but not a lot.

However, if you're about to try the Internet for the first time or are a beginner, I don't know of a better primer. It's an easy read (even for non-geeks) and, in my experience, reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the rough guide to the internet, 4 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
As a very poor computer buff, I found the book easy to follow and understand. It had sections that were of great interest to me. Especially those to do with cover ups etc by the uk Government.
The index opened up a very wide selecton of items. Whoever put the book together had a good idea of easy learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rough Guide to the Internet, 2 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
A really excellent little book that gives so much useful information about this communication medium - Great for all users, no matter how competent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on Internet., 22 Mar 2012
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
This little book is very good. Even though, I am an IT Pro, I still find it very educative and has been able to use it to make notes for my students on the subject of the internet. It attempts to explain geek language in plain English and succeeds to a very greaty extent. It contains all you need to know about the internet. So many tips on various subjects that everyone will learn something.

Grab it if you use the net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners or older people, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
Text is too small, layout and font isn't clear and to much info on each page. Don't buy this for over 60s or anybody who is really new to computers or the internet. For me 30yrs old this would be 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Page (Canterbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
A compact, very readable and comprehensive book. Probably as much information and advice as most people will require to enjoy and make the fullest use of all the internet has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the rough guide to the internet, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Dennis Stoneman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) (Paperback)
This is without doubt the best book for the subject I have ever read. Great value for money. D.C.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference)
The Rough Guide to The Internet (Rough Guide Reference) by Duncan Clark (Paperback - 3 Aug 2009)
9.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews