Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide - good as always
The rough guide has all the bits that you'd like to see in a tourist books and only touches briefly (rightly so in my opinion) the main tourist attractions. It therefore covers a lot more information about the things we would miss normally. Lots of odds and ends to whet ones appetite.
Has eating places and accommodation with honest comments !
About 3/4 is...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Mal

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much culture
I was in Tuscany for a week with my 2 teenage kids. This book is useful for culture vultures but for us it was too much detail on the cultural stuff and not enough other details eg theme parks, cycling routes. Perhaps culture is the main objective of these guides - I havent used them before. I used Rick Steves Paris guide last year - it was far more user friendly for...
Published on 3 Aug. 2011 by Dragon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide - good as always, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
The rough guide has all the bits that you'd like to see in a tourist books and only touches briefly (rightly so in my opinion) the main tourist attractions. It therefore covers a lot more information about the things we would miss normally. Lots of odds and ends to whet ones appetite.
Has eating places and accommodation with honest comments !
About 3/4 is Tuscany and 1/4 Umbria. Perhaps hadly surprising but does cover a fair amount of the cities including Perugia and about. A whole section on Florence. A 'must have' if you like to find the real Italy.
Well worth the money but get it well before you go, or you will want to have a second (or more) visit if you only read it when you arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent...once you're inside the museums, 1 Jun. 2011
By 
C. Parkinson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
From experience on our trip to Tuscany:

Pluses:
- almost every significant museum and church is described on a room-by-room (or chapel-by-chapel) basis, which makes a huge difference given the information provided by most museums is scanty at best. For that alone, the book gets 4 stars.
- the practical information on public transport, opening times is very detailed and seemed to be pretty much all still correct.
- the language section at the back was considerably more helpful than the Berlitz phrase book I took along.

Minuses:
- although there is a colour section of 27 'highlights' at the front, there is very little attempt to give even a subjective list of highlights for each of the major towns. Maybe Rough Guides try to leave that kind of thing to the more didactic guide books, but in Tuscany plenty of towns have more to see than some small countries. And given the text consists mainly of picture-less descriptions of the inside of museums (see above), it isn't easy work deciding what to see without wading through the whole lot.
- we found that the restaurant reviews picked out places that were adequate at best, we did much better (and much worse) when we went off-book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria, 22 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
I find Rough Guides invaluble for independent travel in Europe and the Tuscany and Umbria guide has been very useful this year. It gives not only all the cultural information most will need but also recommends restaurants, hotels and other accommodation. Additionally it gives information about travel within the region. There are useful street maaps of major towns and cities, pinpointing recommended hotels and restaurants etc.

Rough guides years ago catered for the pretty hard up traveller. They have gradually moved upmarket but still give recommendations of establishments over a range of prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good directory of places to see, eat and stay, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Bernard Sumption (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
Like other rough guides, this is a great and up to date list of hotels, sights and restaurants, and is perfect if you already have an idea what you want to do with your time.

What it won't do is give you a feel for the area, for that I recommend a smaller and more opinionated guide as a companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but not pretty, 9 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
A typical Rough Guide, if you have used them before you know what you are going to get. Good information slanted towards the independent traveller with public transport links and price guides, accurate opening times of attractions and details on ticket prices and multi-venue passes. Small street plans of the centres of cities and some larger towns. Reviews are opinionated and well-written, which is fine if you share the opinions, and I have usually found I do. If you want pictures of the area to see what you might want to visit this is not the guide for you as there are very few pictures and indeed the selection in the front wasn't helpful as a tourist guide anyway being from funny angles with a wide angle lens.

I lost my copy of this guide in Pisa, unfortunately before we had found somewhere to eat! The best recommendation I can make is that I will buy another copy before we go to Tuscany again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic detail, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
We bought this prior to a week long visit to northern Tuscany centred around Lucca, an area of Italy we hadn't visited before. It's a very detailed, immensely helpful guide to all but the smallest hamlets. The opinions and recommendations are accurate and informed. The only slight negative is that as we were only there for a short time we couldn't visit many places. This meant we were carrying around a heavy book full of stuff about places we weren't planning to visit. If we had bought this book a few weeks prior to travelling (instead of the week before!)and left it somewhere we could regularly thumb through it (the loo perhaps)we would have been full of knowledge before we left. In short, buy it early to make full use of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable travel companion, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
I've long been a fan of Rough Guides and this one lived up to expectations. With its sections on sound practical advice and hotel and restaurant recommendations, it's an indispensable travel companion. Its information on each area's attractions is spot on, with enough detail to encourage and inform a visit without being overwhelming - a difficult balance to achieve in a region so rich in art and history as Tuscany and Umbria. Whether planning a day's wine-tasting in Chianti, seeking out the hidden gems or appreciating the art and architecture of Florence and Siena, this Rough Guide should be top of the packing list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as ever, 27 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
I keep buying Rough Guides as they provide the best background and foundation to explore and have a great informed but independent holiday. The Tuscany guide is a great example of this and reinforces my view that they are the first choice for travel guides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tuscany - Go!, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
Our 10 day holiday in Tuscany was based entirely on The Rough Guide and Italian Railways.

Without the guide it would not have happened.

This is one of the best Rough Guides we own (and we have several)

Get the guide and use it to plan your Tuscan trip - you won't regtet it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tuscany and Umbria, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria (Paperback)
Very good product as ever from Rough Guide with lots of good recommendations of what to do and where to eat. Just be aware that there is a strong emphasis on old churches and cathedrals because that is what makes up much of this area of Italy - it is no criticism of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria
The Rough Guide to Tuscany and Umbria by Mark Ellingham (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews