Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide
This book gave a good general overview of the places covered but I wanted more specific information on places, such as how safe they were for a single female traveller. A good introduction though!
Published on 19 Sep 2010 by Independent female traveller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
There's a lot of useful information in this book, but you can't go by the specifics. Everything was about double the price than what the book quoted. Travel information was out of date. There are only two buses (not four) a day from Miri, long distance bus station to Kuala Belait, 7.30am and 3.30pm which was of no use to me arriving at 9.30am (plenty of time for the...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by A. M. Pratten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, 5 Dec 2010
By 
A. M. Pratten - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (Paperback)
There's a lot of useful information in this book, but you can't go by the specifics. Everything was about double the price than what the book quoted. Travel information was out of date. There are only two buses (not four) a day from Miri, long distance bus station to Kuala Belait, 7.30am and 3.30pm which was of no use to me arriving at 9.30am (plenty of time for the non-existent 10:30am bus) and needing to get to Kuala Belait before car rental place closed at 4pm. I couldn't find anywhere in the book the date it was published which would have been useful.

I would wait for a newer version to come out. It's quite a heavy book to carry around and even after 2 weeks I found the layout difficult to navigate. For example it will guide you through a town in text going from west to east but then there either isn't a map or it's quite a few pages back.

Some guidance would also be useful for people driving, places to park etc. The book is aimed at people on foot which would actually be quite difficult in places like Bandar Seri Begawan as some of the places are really quite far out the way. Istana is one example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide, 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (Paperback)
This book gave a good general overview of the places covered but I wanted more specific information on places, such as how safe they were for a single female traveller. A good introduction though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 2 Mar 2010
By 
P. Newey (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (Paperback)
Could not have asked for anything more complete about the places we shall shortly be visiting, transport, opening times, location, hotels, eating out, background knowledge. Absolutely everything seems to be included and up-to-date. It will definitely be travelling with me and I shall be getting a Rough Guide to other parts of the world as and when.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (Paperback)
My son is travelling at the moment and hasaid this is one of the best travel guides he has used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars holiday info, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (Paperback)
the rough guide to malaysia,singapore and brunei is spot on with holiday information reasonably quick to find the information your looking for would definately purchase rough quide again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide, 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (Paperback)
Usual useful book to take with you on holiday so that you don't miss anything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei
The Rough Guide to Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei by Richard Lim (Paperback - 1 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews