Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 9th edition - A Brit in Rome & Puglia
We used this edition to travel to Rome for our honeymoon & for a subseqent trip to Puglia and it didn't let us down. The 'new' hotel in Ostuni that we stayed in was correctly updated in this edition as expected. There is a much greater level of detail in the Rough Guides on practicalities, local attractions, things to see & do and places to eat than in other guides we...
Published on 11 Aug 2009 by K. Tyler

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good for Kindle
I already own the paperback version of this book and in fact hardly use anything other than Rough Guides for travelling. I bought the Kindle edition whilst I was visiting Rome to save weight and for convenience. Regrettably this was not the current edition but what was worse was that it was not indexed. Given that I was only interested in sights around Rome city centre...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by Stuart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 9th edition - A Brit in Rome & Puglia, 11 Aug 2009
By 
K. Tyler "Kathy Tyler" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
We used this edition to travel to Rome for our honeymoon & for a subseqent trip to Puglia and it didn't let us down. The 'new' hotel in Ostuni that we stayed in was correctly updated in this edition as expected. There is a much greater level of detail in the Rough Guides on practicalities, local attractions, things to see & do and places to eat than in other guides we have used. The budget to luxury listings on restaurants & places to stay are particularly useful for determining at a glance what's affordable. OK, so maybe a map of central Rome split over two pages is not going to be adequate enough on it's own but surely most visitors would arm themselves with a map from the local tourist office! That said, the RG maps in general are a useful tool for summarising where you are when first arriving in a new town or city. And always of interest are the sections at the back of the book on architecture, cinema, Italian literature etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to Italy, 9th edition, 20 Oct 2009
By 
P. Paschali - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
I've just got back from travelling in northern Italy, through Piemonte, Lombardia, Veneto and Friuli-Venezia Guilia, and have been consulting this latest edition of the Rough Guide to Italy all the way. It has accompanied me on my hotel and restaurant searches in Stresa, Como and Venice. Alas, there is no entry for Pordenone, and there really should be, because it's a thriving city with a beautiful historic centre (and a fabulous film festival too). But that complaint aside, I found this edition to be as informative, reliable and up-to-date as one could wish. Of course, I would like to add my own discoveries to the book's listings - the recently opened, very chic ristorante secreted just off Stresa's main square, the fantastic seafood osteria a stone's throw from Strada Nova in Venice which locals love - and I should probably submit my suggestions to the editors. No listing can be comprehensive, or even to one's own taste, but this edition is an excellent starting point to discovering all that Italy has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide to Italy, 20 Nov 2009
By 
A. J. Fraser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
A Good solid book packed with information. Not easy to read in a moving vehicle, but on holiday it is a good excuse to stop and look at the scenery as well. Well pleased with this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good for Kindle, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already own the paperback version of this book and in fact hardly use anything other than Rough Guides for travelling. I bought the Kindle edition whilst I was visiting Rome to save weight and for convenience. Regrettably this was not the current edition but what was worse was that it was not indexed. Given that I was only interested in sights around Rome city centre and places to eat the inability to 'search' this guidebook rendered it entirely useless.

I am surprised that Amazon are evidently unable to use their considerable muscle to apply pressure on the publishers to provide an equivalent service to Kindle users as that provided to 'physical' book buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey folks, Kindle review from sample download! Map issue!, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I like the Rough Guide series and have used previous editions of the Italian book happily in for instance Florence and Rome. While the Kindle edition (gleaned from the sample download) is rather more portable and has some useful content links to pages within the book, strangely there appears to be no overall table of contents to make it easy to get beyond the useful information section into the menu for the different regions. Another one where you have to add your own bookmarks! As the sample doesn't include an index it may be possible to navigate from there.

The maps- usually a reasonable black and white feature of the printed book- are absolutely atrocious- far too small and incomprehensible- whether they deal with regional rail and road networks or city streets- a fuzzy waste of time. There's a mild improvement if you rotate the screen horizontally - the two page maps then become a slightly incomprehensible blob. Rough Guides pick out hotels, shopping and food vendors by numbering maps. Therefore you are stuffed! So not only are you currently paying far more than the 20% extra VAT for the e-book version, you also need to use smartphone navigation or buy a printed map (or carry around another guidebook). Oh yeah and your thorough reviewer has also tried the sample on the iPhone Kindle reader to see if the zoom facility works- wow you get an enlarged OUT OF FOCUS map (someone didn't pick a high enough resolution!)

Now it may look better on an iPad Kindle reader. But part of the tourist dilemma is that getting mugged for a Kindle is a teensy bit less awful than getting mugged for your iPad, when you're flustered, juggling water bottles and trying to work out where you're going.

So you have to balance the extreme advantage of not having to cart around an extremely thick book against the fact that you can't see where you're going, or find the deliciously nice gelateria that the book recommends (wonder if Perche Non is still going in Florence?)

Regrettably, as a seasoned user of the traditional books, I have to say that the dead tree version still wins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, informative and easy to digest, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
As with most Rough Guides, there is a lot of information, but this one in particular is detailed, informative but in a manner that makes for pleasant reading whilst providing useful advice and knowledge. I'd recommend it for an overview if you have not visited Italy before and don't have a specific part of the country you woud like to visit or a certain area (eg food or sport) that you are interested in, as it is a general summary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Ms. Sara Hughes "sara hughes" (sunderland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
loved the book, really informative and a great general read,took along on a recent trip to italy and found it invaluable, also inspiring when planning the next trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing for Emilia Romagna region, 17 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Have used this book to explore Puglia (I was satisfied) and Friuli (found it broadly OK) but it is very light on content for Emilia Romagna. Lots of significant places are left out or not fully explored/described. Did the writers actually go for more than a couple of long weekends, I found myself asking. Plus, I had to carry a great brick of a book around with me. To be honest, in this region, you are better off using Trip Advisor and the local tourist offices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very average, 23 Aug 2010
By 
J. A. Ross "MaxiMan" (nottingham, nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Used this book for a trip to Sorrento. Was lacking any useful info on travel around Italy and generally quite light on detail. I dont want restaurant or hotel reviews which i can get a better level of from tripadvisor etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better than nothing, slightly, 25 July 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
The guide is far from comprehensive, doesn't give any useful travel info about how to get from place to place, and neglects lots of even obvious places worth visiting. The restaurants listed, from the many cities I've visited, are definitely not local favorites- they tend to be touristy spots, cheesy, and overpriced. The descriptions of towns are almost completely lacking in details about what makes a place unique, what to expect, and what makes it worth a visit, rather almost every town is described as "the most beautiful town in Italy". I use this guide only for its maps and its list of restaurants, so I know which ones to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

The Rough Guide to Italy
The Rough Guide to Italy by Celia Woolfrey (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews