Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Several hidden delights uncovered thanks to this book.
Used this book for a weekend trip to Nice and Antibes in September 2010. As ever, the Rough Guide provided clear, practical and easy-to-follow advice and information. However, I love the Rough Guide books because they also uncover hidden gems for you. We visited several restaurants, cafes and got some wonderful views, none of which were mentioned in other guidebooks,...
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by Happyuser

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heads up.
A great book to give you the heads up on where to go, what to do, see and places to eat. Some areas lack detail but that could be because there isn't much there to talk about. Found some very good value hotels not mentioned in the book, but I guess France is a big place and the book can only cover so much. Still worth having for that French touring holiday!
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Several hidden delights uncovered thanks to this book., 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
Used this book for a weekend trip to Nice and Antibes in September 2010. As ever, the Rough Guide provided clear, practical and easy-to-follow advice and information. However, I love the Rough Guide books because they also uncover hidden gems for you. We visited several restaurants, cafes and got some wonderful views, none of which were mentioned in other guidebooks, all thanks to this book. It's best to read the section you're travelling to in advance with a clear map alongside it. The maps in the book would do if you just wanted a broad overview, but we navigated the tiny sidestreets of Nice and Antibes in detail and I used a more detailed map. That aside, the price is fantastic for a wealth of information. The Rough Guide triumphs again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful overview, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
I am always impressed with the thoroughness and 'readability' of Rough Guides, and this is no exception. I accept that one volume covering a huge country like France has to be brief, and that individual guides to specific regions are better suited if your trip is going to be just to and from that region, but this is an excellent addition to Hotel guides (Michelin, Logis etc.).
I have used it on two fairly extensive tours by car, and found it to be invaluable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.....Recommended, 15 Feb 2010
By 
W. Conway "twillardo" (Dundee, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
Arrived promptly and quicker than advised, due to go to France in the summer and this book covers everything we are looking for, the areas we are going to, public transport, places of interest, eating & accommodation just to name a few. We have purchased many of the Rough Guide books prior to our holidays and this one does not disappoint. Excellent as usual. The Rough Guide to France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heads up., 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
A great book to give you the heads up on where to go, what to do, see and places to eat. Some areas lack detail but that could be because there isn't much there to talk about. Found some very good value hotels not mentioned in the book, but I guess France is a big place and the book can only cover so much. Still worth having for that French touring holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars vive la republique, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
i really like Rough Guide books but, ultimately, it's a matter of personal choice isn't it? I mean, would you wear these shoes or trousers....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide to France, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
Excellent book for anyone travelling in France, would recommend it. Arrived well packed and in good time at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to France, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
Very authoritative and comprehensive coverage of France's huge heritage. Best suggestions of places where to eat. One of the best travel guides to Europe's most fascinating country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was very informative, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
The book was informative easy to read. Different categories like history food wine culture in different areas were to the point and relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand delivers expected quality, 7 Sep 2010
By 
J. Jones "John Outdoors" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin. Value for money well researched and clearly written guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to France (Paperback)
I have used the Michelin guided before and for a quick trip where you want to enjoy and learn about art, architecture,etc. it is definitely better. It has not convinced me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to France
The Rough Guide to France by Rough Guides (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews