Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Observations on Hitler by his circle, 28 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that this book was excellent in that it presented a female perspective and a very intuitive one too on the phenomenon of Hitler's personal attraction and what life was like living near him 24/7 before and during the war years. The late author appears a proud individual, writes well (or has a very good ghost which I doubt), and does not go in for apologies for her part in supporting Hitler`s inner circle. She comes across as someone who would not suffer fools gladly, so in some respects she comes across as slightly ruthless and cutting inher observations of others. A good book and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight, 11 July 2009
By 
M. Morton "A Reader" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Nazi years continue to fascinate. This book, written from the records of one of Hitler's secretaries, gives a rare insight into the 'inner world' of the Third Reich. It concentrates upon the day to day routines of Hitler and his closest circle of aides and advisors, and reminds us that notorious tyrants such as Hitler are also very human. As a boss, he was courteous, kind, and approachable - he even received criticism with good grace. For those who wish to understand the dynamics of Hitlerism - from the early 1930s to the last days of the Fuerher bunker - this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Personal and at times surprising., 29 Aug. 2014
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
An interesting first hand account from one of Hitler's secretaries. This is the second book I have read in the series, the other being 'I was Hitler's Chauffeur by Erich Kempka '.

While these books may not provide much detail regarding the war, they do give valuable insight into what Hitler was like as an everyday person. They detail his daily routines and how he treated those closest to him. These books are ideal for a reader, such as myself, that have an interest in the second world war and Hitler, but don't really want to sift through and books that go into the subject too deeply.

He was my Chief details Schroeder's personal thoughts of Hitler and gives an account of her presence at a number of important historical occasions. We learn many a snippet that allows the reader to build a fuller picture of the Fuhrer and his character. Surprisingly he is a man that is very generous to his employees, a man of strict personal morals (doesn't eat meat, smoke or drink) and at times even a little self conscious.

The only annoying aspect of the book was that a number of passages were repeated throughout. Maybe a little better editing would have helped. Interestingly Shroeder herself requested the publication of the book as she was unhappy at inaccuracies depicted in other books of her and work colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of He Was My Chief by Christa Schroeder, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is written in a very bland way; being more of a diary than a book. It does have some interesting insights into both Christa Schroeder (who appears to be on the one hand very naive and on the other to exhibit strong Nazi race values) and Hitler. This book shows that Hitler was not a madman and that there were many sides to him; his relationships with women are interesting as are his insights into architecture, painting etc. There is a feeling that the Hitler entourage was composed of a great many hangers on and that he encouraged this. Eva Braun comes over as an equally naive person and that she along with many others genuinely believed in him until the end.

A short book; interesting and a springboard to read other memoirs of those who worked and lived around Hitler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to Run and Lose a war, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
Reading this one tends to think that Hitler did very little in the way of 'military work,

I had already read much of Hitler's life but this from someone so close to his everyday
actions and moods wa something of an eye opener even for myself.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Insight, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
A bit disjointed at firsts it sets off, but it gives an interesting insight into the man. I preferred Traudl Junge's version as it seemed more in depth. However worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He Was My Chief, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
This is not the world's most entertaining book, but it offers loads of personal insights into life around the Fuhrer. Frau Schroeder was well placed to observe and it's all there, if a little self-centred. The other secretaries hardly get a look-in, and she doesn't hold back if she dislikes someone. Eva Braun gets fairly short shrift and there are many telling anecdotes about Hitler's minions, but the boss himself is let off pretty lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first hand report., 17 Aug. 2014
Interesting indeed. Glad I read it. There are other similar ( and apparently better) books out there -worth checking these out as well for an overall perspective. His barber, Chauffeur, Cook etc .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this book, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Nj Mcallister (Surrey, Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a really engaging and human account. There is no big politics or world power insights, just a simple German lady recounting the gossip of her job. I thoroughly enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
Bought as a present for somebody else so do not have an opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary
He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary by Christa Schroeder (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2012)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews