Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Observations on Hitler by his circle, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that this book was excellent in that it presented a female perspective and a very intuitive one too on the phenomenon of Hitler's personal attraction and what life was like living near him 24/7 before and during the war years. The late author appears a proud individual, writes well (or has a very good ghost which I doubt), and does not go in for apologies for her part in supporting Hitler`s inner circle. She comes across as someone who would not suffer fools gladly, so in some respects she comes across as slightly ruthless and cutting inher observations of others. A good book and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight, 11 July 2009
By 
M. Morton "A Reader" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Nazi years continue to fascinate. This book, written from the records of one of Hitler's secretaries, gives a rare insight into the 'inner world' of the Third Reich. It concentrates upon the day to day routines of Hitler and his closest circle of aides and advisors, and reminds us that notorious tyrants such as Hitler are also very human. As a boss, he was courteous, kind, and approachable - he even received criticism with good grace. For those who wish to understand the dynamics of Hitlerism - from the early 1930s to the last days of the Fuerher bunker - this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to Run and Lose a war, 18 May 2014
By 
Denis R. Butcher "Sir Loin" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
Reading this one tends to think that Hitler did very little in the way of 'military work,

I had already read much of Hitler's life but this from someone so close to his everyday
actions and moods wa something of an eye opener even for myself.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Insight, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
A bit disjointed at firsts it sets off, but it gives an interesting insight into the man. I preferred Traudl Junge's version as it seemed more in depth. However worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He Was My Chief, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
This is not the world's most entertaining book, but it offers loads of personal insights into life around the Fuhrer. Frau Schroeder was well placed to observe and it's all there, if a little self-centred. The other secretaries hardly get a look-in, and she doesn't hold back if she dislikes someone. Eva Braun gets fairly short shrift and there are many telling anecdotes about Hitler's minions, but the boss himself is let off pretty lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating memories of Hitler and a life in his inner circle, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must confess that I am at present going through a period of re-evaluating the history that for my first five decades I accepted without question. Thus it was that, after realising I have been indoctrinated in my formative years to blindly accepting Hitler as some kind of deranged psychopath, I therefore wanted to read a biography of Hitler by someone who actually knew him and had spent some considerable time with him.

First, from a design perspective this publication is a beautifully designed book, nicely bound and with high-class typography, plus containing a few pages of intimate but often fuzzy photos. It does contain a very few type-errors.

In accordance with her wishes, this memoir was first published shortly after her death in German in 1985. So, this is the first publication of it in an English translation. Previously we only had Zoller's distorted 1949 version in French(?) and German titled 'Hitler privat' ('Hitler in private').

Her book is an informative biography told with intelligence, honesty and without much obvious retro-active justfication or apology. She shares her own experiences and gives detail of the more personal side of her life with Hitler as his secretary from 1930 before the war, to 1945 and the end days in the bunker. She does give her opinions and reflections on a few of the more major political and military events, such as the 1934 'night of the long knives' and the 1944 Stauffenberg assassination attempt on Hitler. But in the main this covers the more personal aspect of Hitler and his off-duty interactions with his inner-circle, and his personality as she experienced it. She was not afaid to be critical of him at the time and relates how once she exposed Hitler for passing off Schopenhauer's philosophy as his own thinking. And she's not adverse to being critical of his appearance from a feminine perspective.
For example:
"Hitler's nose was very large and fairly pointed. I do not know whether his teeth were ever very attractive, but by 1945 they were yellow and he had bad breath. He should have grown a beard to cover his mouth." -- page 49. (Linge's biography also talks of his bad breath.)

The editor's introduction was also informative and fascinating explaining how the book came to be written and published, plus detailing Schroeder's concerns about it. Her book was written based upon the notes of her interrogations by a French liason officer Albert Zoller immediately after the end of the war.
In his intro, the editor tells us how Schroeder had read a previous unauthorised publication of these notes by Zoller himself. She was surprised to read words put in her mouth which she calls "mythical" and which she stated she had never talked of, nor had heard from Hitler. So she went through Zoller's book and struck out all the parts of it which did not originate from her. 160 to 170 pages of it were her own words and a whopping 68 to 78 pages were either NOT said by her, or were re-worded as to be false or give an incorrect slant on what she had said. This introduction includes a letter Schroeder wrote to the editor in 1972 with an example of a complete interpolation that did not originate from her.
In the letter she wrote:
"His [Zoller's] crafty solution was to put these words into the mouth of the 'Secret Secretary' [herself] where for the outsider and uninformed they appear credible."

As I have explained, I came to this book in an effort to re-assess the history we have all been conditioned to accept as factual and fair. Fascinating then, that the example she gave concerned a false quotation (alleged as coming from her), of Hitler's and Himmler's reaction to being asked about "the rumours of mass-murder and torture in the concentration camps."
In that false testimony, Zoller misinformed his readers that Hitler "would refuse to speak or ...halt the talk. Only seldom would he respond and then to deny it".
Whereas Himmler, we are misinfomed, allegedly admitted to it but saying: "he was only carrying out Hitler's orders" and then going on to say that Hitler "must in no circumstances be mentioned in that connection. I assume full responsibilty". Pg.xxii

So, ... is this an example of how the History was written? Based upon false testimony from victor-propagandists inventing conversations and putting them in the mouths of genuine eye-witnesses in order to incriminate the German high command for something that we have no conclusive forensic evidence for? Shocking! :-o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a nutter our Adolf, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Bkane "camptwat" (moseley birmingham u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary (Paperback)
Great inside info on the total nutcase that was the leader of Germany mad bad and dangerous to know great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Human Side of Hitler, 13 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny and fascinating. It does make Hitler *likeable*, which should not be such a shock to those of us who are grown-up enough to deal with this fact or who have seen THE LAST KING OF SCOTLAND in which Idi Amin was shown to be charming, charismatic and irresistibly seductive by someone we think should have known better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary
He Was My Chief: The Memoirs of Adolf Hitler's Secretary by Christa Schroeder (Paperback - 15 Mar 2012)
11.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews