Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if your reading this...last letters from the front line
A beautifully written and interesting book. Really captures the mood and feelings of those writing their welfare letters to their loved ones. Well worth the purchase and read.
Published on 29 Dec. 2011 by apollo

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half the book it could it have been
The structure of the book is straightforward enough - to each conflict a chapter, each chapter in two sections. The second half of each chapter is where the book works best; a series of short bio's of soldiers, along with lengthy quotes from various letters they wrote. The first section is less satisfactory. Broken down further by sub-headings, such as "A Soldiers Lot:...
Published 20 months ago by Mr M.R.Watkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you are reading this....., 16 Feb. 2012
By 
S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
I was so looking forward to receiving this book as I had heard so much about it.Unfortunately after having a quick flick through the day it arrived I was somewhat disappointed. Although the author had taken so much time in researching the history behind the conflicts of the periods in which the letters home had been sent, it wasn't what I was expecting. I was hoping for more letters home expressing their personal feelings at the time , instead there were very few letters and too much about the history of the conflicts. Being married to a serviceman I was hoping that it would help me better to understand what they were feeling whilst away and facing the prospect of never returning home to their loved ones. Although I found it unsuitable for my needs a reader who is more into war history may find it more suitable. The book was returned without having read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
Poignant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you are reading this..., 20 Nov. 2013
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
I thought that this book was terribly boring she reiterates the same points repetitively. I don't normally complain about books but I was so dissapointed. I was in the military myself as a medic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
As a slow read its really good a little sad in places and can be hard to get into, its more like reading a documentry than a book but i would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
john hooper (Saltash Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You're Reading This: Last Letters from the Front Line., 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
Book received in good order and without delay. Purchased as Christmas gift for sister's partner, who has interest in events of World War I, item not read by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ifg Ypou Are Reading This................, 19 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line (Hardcover)
Again, I am very happy with the book that arrived on time and in excellent condition. I cannot spend time on writing this unnecessary review for publication. I am very happy with everything associated with this order. Please do not ask me to comment in this way in future. I prefer the feedback format you used to use until recently JW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line
If You're Reading This...: Last Letters from the Front Line by Sian Price (Hardcover - 17 Nov. 2011)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews