Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read
This book isn't just about killing Nazi's, nor is it a book about the heroics of Stalin and his Red Army. It's the harrowing tale of one man's experiences in the mother of all battles, where retreat wasn't an option.

Zaitsev's prose and the translation is superb and makes this book a page-flipping good read. There's no bravado. No Communist rhetoric. Just 100%...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Sergey®

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short, lacks detail, and too often reads like pro-Communist propoganda.
Ive read many books regarding the War on the Eastern front - a hobby that I started about 15 years ago when I first read Anthony Beevors absolutely excellent 'Stalingrad'. It was in that book all that time ago that I first heard of Vasilli Zaitzev and his allies in the Russian sniper corps, so I was excited when I purchsed this book and keen to read the story from the...
Published 21 months ago by Chief.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sniper book, 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
this book is really interesting,it's difficult to imagine how anyone survived it.it's written quite simply,but will be very interesting to anyone interested in the battle of stalingrad and ww2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different perspective, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
After viewing the movie enemy at the gates which was supposed to cover much of Vassili Zaitsev's storey I found his own storey to be vastly different but very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
All hopes and expectations met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read and A Good Look at a Russian Sniper's Life During WWII, 5 Oct. 2014
By 
Some Guy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
A pretty good read from a highly decorated sniper fighting the Nazis. I thought that it could have been more detailed but I guess I can't complain as the conditions that he had to write under were not the best to write a memoir.

The narrative and course of events mentioned in this book barely correspond to the movie Enemy at the Gates, which it is based upon, and the introduction criticizes the movie's director for the bad and unfounded portrayal of Vassilli Zaitsev and the movie isn't based on much of historical fact about this man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
A quality read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
Worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected?, 30 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad (Hardcover)
The defence of Stalingrad made a terrifying backdrop for this book, but I was disappointed in the content. Although Zaitsev's story is an interesting one, I thought the writing style rather flat and didn't do his one-man battles against the Nazis justice. Great shame, with a little more flair the book would have been much more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Notes of a Russian Sniper: Vassili Zaitsev and the Battle of Stalingrad
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews