Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of passion, youth and poetic love for the sky
This is possibly the best aircraft related war memoir I have ever read. Cecil Lewis is a wordsmith in his own right, he lived to be 98 and became a successful BBC broadcaster. He wrote this book later on in life, but not from an adult perspective only just how he fell at the time as a 17 year old youth joining the Royal Flying Corps. It's full of love for flying, full of...
Published on 30 Sep 2008 by D. Ross

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Curate's egg
Very good in parts but utterly self indulgent & neither good nor coherent in others. It would have been far better if he had not dwelt so intensely on his China experience.
Published 6 months ago by A. Beverley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Fine book as many will testify., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
This is a fine book that I've been meaning to read for ages. I've only given it 3 stars not because it isn't as well written as others have suggested but because it should have been written earlier, when his memory was fresh. Instead we have, in my opinion, a rather sketchy attempt to capture those anguished times that young men hoped to survive.I wish he'd kept a diary!
Still it is a book that no doubt shouldn't be missed by any collector of genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
bought as a present for my husband, he found it very interesting as it mentions several airfields that he knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sublimely written memoirs of early flying, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
unique and outstanding aerial combat memoirs. beauty, humanity and poetry invested in the harshest of wartime experience by a natural writer whose post war career is also of great interest. sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for all aviation types pilots or watchers. This is a real classic that goes further than just the First World War
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st class book, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
This book amazed me with indepth describtion of the war and shocking images. Written by the magnificent Cecil Lewis !! Who many of you will have heard of. The book is not short of good quality !!! Cecil Lewis , the first air ace of World War one, is a great author and this book encourages me to want to read more and more of his work. But I think he only has the 1 book!!!
If you are interested and amazed by the war then you will love this book but if you find war boring then think again !!!Thuis book makes you want to read on even if you are not completely into the world war 1. It also teaches the reader a lot about the war, so teachers or just keen people must read this book !!! Give it to children to read beacause though it will be a challenge it will teach them a lot about life and the war !!!!
I would defiantly reccommend this book !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old story but still a good read, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Michael A. Lavery (Portsmouth Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
This is a very good read, well written and modestly told. What those young men did above the Somme in 1916 was extraordinary and carried out with an enormous amount of bravery. Everybody should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW1 RFC, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
Bought this for my son in law. My Dad was in WW1 in RFC and I found a copy amongst my parents old belongings. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautifully written Book, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
This little gem describes just how unprepared for war the RFC pilots were, how easily many died but how someone so incredibly young and naive as Cecil could survive and prosper. It's masterpiece written at times in a diary format and other times quite philosophically, the post WW1 account of flying Training in China are also fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb narrative., 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagittarius Rising (Paperback)
Not only a fast mowing exciting tale but with depths of sensitivity. Fascinating not on ly to those interested in flying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sagittarius Rising
Sagittarius Rising by Cecil Lewis (Paperback - 18 Jun 2009)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews