Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars26
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£29.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
An excellent account of battleship development , primarily from the building of HMS Dreadnought.There is much detail , both technical and operational , supplemented by many good photographs. It would be further enhanced by the mention of some or all of the names of the Captains and flag officers present at Jutland. A great book and essential reading for all naval buffs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Very detailed books about the design, building & service of all Britain's battleships through the years, lavishly illustrated with both line drawings and photographs. These will no doubt become definitive books on the subject. Buy now while still available & while you can still afford to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This volume is by far the best on this subject that I have so far seen. The great warships which once lay so grandly in Portsmouth say, for the Navy Week of pre War days sadly are no more. However in this book British Battleships of World War One it is possible with the most excellent photographs sometimes beautifully enlarged to cover a complete spread. almost to see them again for real.
I remember before the War going to Navy Week and taking afternoon tea with my parents on the Quarter Deck of H.M,S. Iron Duke. To this day I can still see in my mind her wonderful wooden decking and the white canvas awning as well as her huge guns in their after turret....and here in this book it is possible to see her again together with every battleship of that era and to learn of every relevant detail right down to the amount and kind of ship's boats they carried and the history of each from launch to inevitable demise. A truly wonderful book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Excellent book with superb illustrations. Great detail and all the information you need. Highly recommended if , like me, you love battleships
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Everyone who has read R.A.Burt has already said it all. Great Book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I've only just received this book so have not yet had an opportunity to go into detail. However from just a quick skim I can tell you that if you are looking for a comprehensive illustrated book of RN battleships from this era- this is for you. The warships of the First world War suffer from an absence of good quality photographs for enthusiasts and ship modellers alike. This book redresses this in spades- the number and quality of photographs is a joy. There are only a couple of photographs in this book that I've seen elsewhere (including the web). For the pictures alone its worth the money. In addition RA Burt has included some fascinating line drawings and colour plates showing ship camoflage- apparently based on animal markings- ever seen a battlecruiser painted like a leopard? Well done RA Burt and well done Seaforth!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Fantastic book, good price, recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Excellent book, highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
For anyone interested in the development of British WW1 battleships this is the "must-have" book, packed with detail, photos and plans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
A must for naval buffs
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£27.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)