Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throws a light on an interesting period of British history
An intriguing book about a period of modern British history that has alwasy been shrouded in mystery. Why did Hess come to Britain at the beginning of the war? Was it with or without Hitler's knowledge? Did he bring a peace proposal from the Nazi goverment? Who were the appeasers in the British establishment who wanted to make peace with Hitler?
Would they have...
Published 16 months ago by MR MICHAEL E MORRIS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting theories but poorly constructed. Very heavy going with ...
Interesting theories but poorly constructed. Very heavy going with much repetition. Little evidence given for many of its statements and no real final conclusion. Was Hess murdered or not and if so was it the British Secret Service. After all these years have elapsed why are some of the official papers still not released. Perhaps the book has been written to early...
Published 6 months ago by Alan T. Wiffen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throws a light on an interesting period of British history, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History (Hardcover)
An intriguing book about a period of modern British history that has alwasy been shrouded in mystery. Why did Hess come to Britain at the beginning of the war? Was it with or without Hitler's knowledge? Did he bring a peace proposal from the Nazi goverment? Who were the appeasers in the British establishment who wanted to make peace with Hitler?
Would they have been right to trust his word? Churchill made sure very little got out to the public at the time becaue he knew (through Bletchley Park decrypts) Hitler was about to attack the Soviet Union and any promises Hitler made to Britain were likely to be broken once he had overrun Russia. Why was Hess kept in Spandau Gaol after the war and was his death suicide or assisted? Not every question is answered but it's a thundering good read!

Very prompt delivery from Amazon arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot to take in but still a little none the wiser for it, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tons of research to write this up so you can see why the author is widely regarded, however, there was so much information I kept losing the track of who was who, and I also found the lack of year when the author wrote the date of an event quite confusing at times as he jumped backwards and forwards as he had chosen to follow a player rather than a timeline. I would also have liked a much better summary at the end as I was left a little unsure of what to take out of the book re: who was responsible for what and why. I understand it is a still a subject shrouded in secrets and intrigue, but even so. Perhaps I have become too much of a product of the bullet-point age.

All said though, it is an intriguing story to read about and one worth the read if you're into this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting theories but poorly constructed. Very heavy going with ..., 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Alan T. Wiffen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History (Hardcover)
Interesting theories but poorly constructed. Very heavy going with much repetition. Little evidence given for many of its statements and no real final conclusion. Was Hess murdered or not and if so was it the British Secret Service. After all these years have elapsed why are some of the official papers still not released. Perhaps the book has been written to early before all the evidence has been gathered. Most appears to be circumstantial and in the end the book leaves one feeling exasperated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm glad i only paid £3 for the kindle version because i was a little bit disappointed with this book.Peter Padfield is an author i usually enjoy but this seemed to be just going over old history.He did point out that quite eminent historians still believe that Hess flew to Britain on his own initiative without Hitlers knowledge and this is quite obviously not true.Hess didn't commit suicide either but the book didn't throw any light on what really happened.
I was just expecting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Opportunity Missed?, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Rai Ruddock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History (Hardcover)
As all the Official Papers to this story have been locked away for 100 years, most of us will be dead and buried before the truth is
told. This book is intelligent conjecture of a high probability, that Hess came to do a Peace Deal with Britain, so that Hitler could
concentrate all his forces against Russia. Well, in my view, the tragedy is, that Hess was quietly buried out of sight, and was probably
murdered, to keep the secret from the British Public.

Oh, what might have been? !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hess deserves better, 21 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. John Guerrasio (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book uninvolving and unconvincing. The author has amassed many names and dates but fails to make a readable narrative from these factoids. The author's writing style is leaden. He re-states many discredited aspects of the official version of who did what to whom and why in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth about Hess?, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An Interesting view on the Hess mystery. I still prefer Upton Sinclair 's version from his Lanny Budd novels (World End series.) though Peter Padfield has had access to more recent historical data. I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much conspiracy and too little evidence to take seriously, 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History (Hardcover)
Interesting book this, but sadly not one that can be taken entirely seriously. Padfield has returned to the subject of Rudolf Hess and sadly his conspiracist credentials seem to have scarcely lessened since his biography of Hess some years ago.

This book is supposedly a reexamination of the Hess story - with the argument that Hess was expected in Britain by a clique of highly-placed individuals and that this story has since been covered up. Thankfully, Padfield gives the more extreme conspiracy nonsense - about Hess not being Hess, or about him being murdered - short shrift.

The book is generally well written, but the story that Padfield presents is not really convincing. Padfield might be right, but he cannot muster up any evidence to support his theory. So, on that basis, the sober reader must surely reject his thesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written and insightful, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History (Hardcover)
The book gets into the head of Hess and also gives some clear insights into Churchill and Hitler's thinking.

It gives an excellent insight into the security services in the UK and Germany. It also shows how strong the peace movements were in Germany and England.

I hope the author will consider writing about Goring next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hess Hitler and Churchill by Peter Padfield - very disapoiniting, 2 May 2014
By 
Mr. James E. Parrott (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History (Hardcover)
The first chapter caught my attention and seemed interesting, but then it constantly wandered off the main theme, with various snippets of useless information, and mentions of countless people, who they may have had a slight impact on the story I could not see where.The main thread began to get strained and the link between Hess and the following chapters became very slender. The book itself was rather boring, jumping from one topic to the other and the various topics never seemed to have any real link. A book I would not recommend to anyone unless they are of a pedantic nature. Personally I never even finished the book, but i suppose its good for nightime reading because twice I fell asleep whilst reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hess, Hitler and Churchill: The Real Turning Point of the Second World War - A Secret History
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews