Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curious, idiosyncratic and eccentric in the best possible way
"There are only 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't"

I would describe myself as fairly scientifically-illiterate: yes, the joke above made me giggle; yes, I can work out pretty swiftly what dihydrogen monoxide is - but e, laws of thermodynamics, and Einstein?... um, no. And yet I enjoyed this book.

I like...
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Science Magpie: Simon Flynn - An interesting idea, but doesn't really work for me
Ho-hum, another month, another miscellany filling up the 2 for 3 discount tables at the front of the local Blackstones or Waterwells. This one is based around science, a world with rich pickings of interesting and unusual facts to fill up a miscellany. This one has a bit of a difference, it also includes artistic endeavours, poems jokes etc, that have been inspired by...
Published on 26 Nov. 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly interesting!, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great idea; a bathroom book for the more erudite and scientifically minded. Full of interesting if somewhat useless knowledge, though presented in a haphazard way. Clearly designed to be picked up, leafed through, and put down again quickly. I'd say 80% of the time you'll find yourself reading something fascinating, funny or both. Unfortunately the other 20% of the time you may find you've glazed over halfway through the segment you were reading, as a few bits are a bit on the dull side (or were to me anyway). Nonetheless, overall a very nice bathroom companion, conveniently released just before the Xmas holiday....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Consumer A "ReaderAAA" (England. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A fantastic book that will appeal to all ages. This would make such a great present. It is easy to read and understand and so full of interesting and fascinating stories about the sciences. Great snippets of stories, jokes, poems all relevant. I thought the explanation throughout was excellent. The 'Back to School' Appendix so wonderful in its simplicity and explanation. There is so much in this book that is of interest whether you are male/female/young or old. This is what a book should be and offer now that Kindles are on the market because you will want to own this, leaf through it and refer to it again and again. A wonderful job by the Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what we were looking for in each case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband was very happy with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither one thing not the other, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
H. Ashford "hashford" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I decided to get this book because I wanted a book full of interesting titbits, completely irrelevant to almost everything, but entertaining to read. Something that I could pick up and put down after a few minutes.

Unfortunately, this was made impossible by the large chunks of text, sometimes 2 or 3 unbroken pages of droning text, which I invariably ended up skipping. It's written far too much like a scientific report to be entertaining at a glance. But on the other hand, the science in it was much too simple to be interesting, and not covered in enough depth. Most of it I knew better from my standard GCSE courses.

On occasion he did pull up a gem, like Charles Darwins pros and cons of getting married (which included 'better than a dog') a student's answer to the question to is hell endo- or exothermic, and the large Hadron Collider ripoff but he invariably spoiled it, as with the Torino Impact Hazard Scale where he took a full page explaining what only really needs a sentence.

Flynn needs to decide whether he wants this to be scientific and informative or light hearted and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat boring, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Science Magpie: Fascinating Facts, Stories, Poems, Diagrams and Jokes Plucked from Science (Icon Magpie) (Paperback)
My science loving son found this book boring. Not enough actual information and a lot of not very funny science jokes. May suit someone who has a different sense of humour, and not a lot of science knowledge so is easier to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book to dip into, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting selection subjects and facts. I bought the Kindle edition but I think an actual book would have been better for dipping in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mish mash of non-interesting details, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hoping to find some treasure in this book, but I found it very easy to put down and very difficult to resume reading. After 20 pages or so I gave up and went onto a more interesting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been much better., 13 Nov. 2012
By 
Glasgow Dreamer (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is simply a pitch for the lower end of the Christmas book market.

It is a collection of passages relating to science in general. Some pieces are dull and worthy; some are light and entertaining; some are direct quotes from other works, including songs and poems; some are nothing but rather banal attempts at humour, of the kind which may be passed around friends as supposedly witty emails.

There is no organisation apparent in the layout of the book. Different subjects run into each other at an alarming rate, and sometimes I felt that a previous topic had not been dealt with in enough detail before being abandoned in favour of something completely different.

It is a toilet book - the constant jumping around from subject to subject guarantees that it won't hold your interest for any more than ten minutes at a time. Overall, a rather poor effort, a pale imitation of several other similar collections currently available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews