Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All You Wanted To Know About Nature & More
The Nature Magpie is a fantastic and well written collection of facts and figures - some will amaze, some will spark discussion, some will make you gasp . . . Whatever you read in this book, will give you a better understanding of our beautiful natural world. Daniel writes in a way that is easy to read, humorous and easy to digest. It is suitable for all ages - children...
Published 17 months ago by Dale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Interesting Information
I enjoyed this as it is a good read. Good price. Quick delivery and very straightforward to read. It's good.
Published 8 months ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All You Wanted To Know About Nature & More, 11 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World (Icon Magpie) (Hardcover)
The Nature Magpie is a fantastic and well written collection of facts and figures - some will amaze, some will spark discussion, some will make you gasp . . . Whatever you read in this book, will give you a better understanding of our beautiful natural world. Daniel writes in a way that is easy to read, humorous and easy to digest. It is suitable for all ages - children (my 6 and 7 year olds have also enjoyed the book, and learnt a lot!!) to grand parents. Makes a great gift for anyone, as EVERYONE, regardless of who they are, is bound to enjoy the book and get something from it. Or just spoil yourself - you know you deserve it. A great read, and a great collection of information - all in one place. As one other reviewer said - the only bad thing about this book, is that, inevitably, you turn the last page :( I shall also be using this book as a reference, and to amaze my friends with miscellany about nature - yes I shall be stealing facts, just like a Magpie !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for sorrow., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World (Icon Magpie) (Hardcover)
Throughly enjoyed reading this, every page turned was a new wonder and left me wanting to know more.
I was however disappointed when turning one of the pages to realise that i had come to the end!
I honestly can't praise this book enough..........if you love nature then this is the book for you. I am certainly looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A myriad of nature based facts!, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World (Icon Magpie) (Hardcover)
A handy sized book that will look good on any bookshelf or coffee table. The book contains plenty of weird and unusual facts about nature as seen from the eyes of Daniel Allen. Well written, it contains a subtlety of humour mixed with a serious undertone on conservation and will appeal to nature lovers, collectors of weird facts, pub quiz/puzzle enthusiasts, young and old. My favourite sections were the Schmidt sting pain index and the hippopotamus polka....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally engrossing, 26 May 2013
By 
L. J. Tenzin-dolma (Bath, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World (Icon Magpie) (Hardcover)
'The Nature Magpie' is a fascinating book. It's filled with information on a wide variety of subjects that tempted me to delve deeper and do some research of my own. It's totally engrossing, absolutely brilliant, and I've learned a lot from it. If you want to know how many new species were identified in 2011, how to identify animal tracks, what bird's nest soup is really made from, what the Cloud Appreciation Society is ... and lots, lots more ... treat yourself to this book. You'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, humorous and a great read., 22 May 2013
This review is from: The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World (Icon Magpie) (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent read. It's full of interesting facts all about different areas of our natural world. It's written in a humorous style that will make you smile. It features current to long standing issues of nature. There is some great debate material in here. It makes you aware of how interlinked we are and makes you appreciate what we have in this world. A must buy.The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating!, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So much information and insight in such a small space. A great book for the coffee table or waiting room. Fun to dip into and then amaze your friends with your new-found wisdom and wit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, from cover to cover., 2 Nov 2014
From the first page I was totally engrossed in this book, and it works on so many levels.
You can read it, as I did, cover to cover, or pick it up and read the odd tid bit now again to expand your knowledge.

This is a must have for anyone who loves the Natural world and those who seek to explain it for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some Interesting Information, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this as it is a good read. Good price. Quick delivery and very straightforward to read. It's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to dip in and out of, full of interesting facts - a very good purchase - what more is there to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing magpie collection of information, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature Magpie: A Cornucopia of Facts, Anecdotes, Folklore and Literature from the Natural World (Icon Magpie) (Hardcover)
Very much a cornucopia of information. A quirky mix of fact, anecdote and folklore - a very easy read to dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews