Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What larks!
After really enjoying 'The Etymologicon' last year, I had great expectations of Mark Forsyth's new book and thankfully it didn't disappoint. 'The Horologicon' is the same but different: crucially, the dry, clever wit present in the previous book is still there and, perhaps unsurprisingly, the new one is also about words. However, it's the nature of these words that marks...
Published 24 months ago by Simon says

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Law of diminishing returns
I adored The Etymologicon (the Radio 4 CD version was so gripping I found myself sitting in the car and refusing to get out until I'd heard to the end of the current item), but for me this is a weak successor.

It's a compendium of little known words presented as for use at different times of day. So breakfast words for the morning, nightclub words for the...
Published 23 months ago by Rosey Lea


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What larks!, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
After really enjoying 'The Etymologicon' last year, I had great expectations of Mark Forsyth's new book and thankfully it didn't disappoint. 'The Horologicon' is the same but different: crucially, the dry, clever wit present in the previous book is still there and, perhaps unsurprisingly, the new one is also about words. However, it's the nature of these words that marks the book out as being different, and even more worthwhile, than the first. Whereas The Etymologicon dealt with everyday words and phrases - a much travelled path in the world of books although never previously with such an entertaining guide - 'The Horologicon' is all about forgotten words, ones with their own peculiar and distinct meaning and flavour. To make the trip through this language that time forgot as enjoyable as possible, the author sets up his tour brilliantly by following day in the life of you, me and he himself. What felt like everyday commonplace is made all the richer for it. I only hope I'm not guilty of 'ultracrepidarianism'! But you can be the judge of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's start a campaign to bring back some of these forgotten words, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Petra Bryce "bookworm" (Malvern, Worcs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all, I have to admit that I went against the author's recommendation and read this book from cover to cover; alas, at least so far, I have not suffered from any ill-effects. A warning to any prospective readers though: while reading this, what Mark Forsyth calls a serious "reference work", I was rather prone to reading out random passages to my unsuspecting husband who had no choice but to listen. Please bear that in mind before you decide to buy the book.

As the front cover tells us, this is "A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language", starting at 6 a.m. and ending at midnight. Each chapter, comprising of one hour, deals with one major activity particular to that time of day, such as Waking and Washing, Dressing and Breakfast, and Commute. In his preambulation, the author hopes that this book will be used as a reverse dictionary: rather than asking "What does xyz mean?", he encourages the reader to ask "What's the word?" for a particular activity, then check the time and find the answer in this handy reference book, such as: "I really don't feel like going in to work today, I have to call up my boss to feign sickness", for which the word is egrote. The fact that my laptop's inbuilt spellchecker has just flagged it up just shows you how forgotten and obscure these words have (unfortunately) become. So your boss will not have the faintest idea that what you're really doing is whindling because you're suffering from a hum durgeon. The author's whimsical and easy-going conversational style of writing rather masks his eloquence and hard work that has obviously gone into this book, and it is easy to tell that it is a true labour of love, peppered as it is with such lovely alliterations such as herbaceous hedonism and linguistic lowlands. It made me chuckle and even laugh out loud on numerous occasions because I could transfer what I read so easily to myself or recognise it in my husband. It is obvious that Mark Forsyth possesses a rather impish sense of mischief which is most easily recognisable when he talks about the cleverly disguised insults that could be hurled at any person of disfavour and without them being any the wiser; these, along with some fascinating etymological snippets, are some of the best bits in my opinion. This is an absolute treasure trove of obscure and forgotten words that deserve to be brought back to light and into the current dictionaries. I say we start a campaign to resurrect a word from each chapter; wouldn't that be a linguistic achievement to find that bellibone has now had its first documented use since 1586? Who's with me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful mix of enterainment, fun and education., 29 Jan 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I haven't read anything else by Mark Forsyth and wasn't sure what to expect. Certainly wasn't expecting this wonderful mix of fun and fact. Full credit has to go to Forsyth if only for the amount of work that went into researching The Horologicon. Firstly; this isn't a book you'd necessarily want to sit down and read from cover to cover in one sitting. The Horologicon is more a book you dip in and out off for fun, or inspiration, unless you're a English language buff or a quiz master. Written in the form of a book of hours, the chapters are broken up into time slices:-

Chapter 1:- 6 am - Dawn
Chapter 2: 7 am - Waking and Washing
Continuing through until Midnight.

Each time slice contains a selection of extraordinary words relative to their own particular time of day. You might not think you'll ever use words like these but; once you've read the book I'll bet you're soon dropping them into the conversation. It's impossible not to do it once you've become "infected". My favourite is "quidnunc" - you'll have to read the book. I know a great many of them!.

Of course, The Horologican isn't simply a list of words or the usual Dictionary. Each word is accompanied by a wealth of information explaining it's origin, type, history and, even more importantly, where it should sit in a sentence so you sound as though you know what you're talking about!.

If you're writing a speech, hosting a quiz, interested in the English language or just want a laugh then you'll get a great deal of fun out of The Horologicon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Law of diminishing returns, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I adored The Etymologicon (the Radio 4 CD version was so gripping I found myself sitting in the car and refusing to get out until I'd heard to the end of the current item), but for me this is a weak successor.

It's a compendium of little known words presented as for use at different times of day. So breakfast words for the morning, nightclub words for the evening. So you can laugh about how telling a modern woman she's a 'bellibone' probably won't please her as it would her ancestors, but that's pretty much it.

That's not to say there aren't some fabulous Etymologicon style snippets in here, and some items really are laugh out loud, but it's just a bit charmless compared to it's earlier partner.

I'll also admit I was quite peeved by the author's confession (on page 248) that he made up one of the words in the book, but won't say which one. It could be the one you shared with people around you, the one you most remembered, the one that made you laugh. Who knows? But not saying which one was the lie renders every word in the book a possible fiction, so why bother reading it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as The Etymologicon, which really set such a high standard that it is unfair to compare them., 20 Feb 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
Whilst this book does indeed contain a feast of fine words to absorb into ones mental thesaurus it fails to read in the same highly entertaining way that the superb Etymologicon did. In fact, I have set the book down in order to pursue further gratification in other tomes.

A pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Horologican, 3 Dec 2012
By 
V. J. Ludlow "viclud" (South Eastern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horologicon (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating insight to 'lost' words. Suitable for all 'word smiths' (such as myself). A useful and informative reference book, to be read and re-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all lovers of words, 3 Dec 2012
By 
S. B. Kelly (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mark Forsyth began his ascent to fame with the Etymologicon, in which he explored the history of words, not in anything so dull as alphabetic order but following a circular route from 'a turn up for the books' and letting each subject lead him to the next.

In The Horologicon, he turns his attention to words that have been lost from the English language and does so by following a person's day, finding him lying abed just before dawn worrying (uhtceare) and leaving him many hours later in his 'consopiation', or lying down ready for sleep. The chances of reviving any of his words seem slim, even when it is very useful to have a single word to cover what needs a whole phrase in modern English, but Forsyth's wit is such that the journey itself is worth the cab fare. Some words are a little dubious -- uhtceare appears only once in Anglo-Saxon texts so was clearly not in widespread use-- but who cares when it's such a joy to roll in your mouth. Did you sleep well? Yes, until 4am when I had a bout of uhtceare. Try telling that one to your doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English eccentricity at its finest, 9 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
English is a funny old language. I recently found out, for instance, that a snollygoster is the technical term for a dishonest politician and that the 'I before E except after C' rule is (most of the time) utterly untrue. These are the delightfully obscure musings of the 'Inky Fool' blogger, Mark Forsyth, whose latest book reveals the undeservedly defunct words of the English language. In his quest to rewrite the reference book of our everyday vocabulary, Mr Forsyth unearths hum durgeons (imaginary illnesses), ergophobia (the morbid fear of returning to work) and a whole dictionary dedicated to Benjamin Franklin's terms for drunkenness.

Equally enchanting as last year's Etymologicon but with a smidgen more humour, the book certainly made a welcome companion to my daily commute. A celebration of the brilliantly bizarre English language - ale-knights, bumbershoots and all!

Witty and charming with a touch of English pedantry. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book to dip into, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
I love words - but I got a bit bored of this book. Forsyth has worked his way through all kinds of obscure dictionaries, found lots (and lots) of forgotten words and tied them together into a narrative based around the hours of the day.

Here's an example from his section on looking in the mirror while in the bathroom in the morning:

"But enough of your furuncles. Let us just say that you are erumpent, which is a jolly- sounding way of saying spotty (nicer than papuliferous and infinitely more pleasant than petechial, a word that Doctor Johnson defined as `pestilentially-spotted')".

Um, yes, but 250 pages of this started to pall rather quickly.

So... maybe a stocking filler for the etymologist in your life... maybe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars go for the etymologican, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language (Hardcover)
Okay, but much less fun than the same author's "Etymologicon". In the the end, it is too much an account of words and phrases that someone or other devised some time, but which never caught on, with just a few attestations in the record or used for a very short time. It would have been better to restrict attention to words that do genuinely form part of the living language, or did so for a significant period of time, but are little known or often misunderstood.
willow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Horologicon: A Day's Jaunt Through the Lost Words of the English Language
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews