Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelllent - A thoroughly enjoyable mine of culture!
I hadn't realised there were so many strands within Romanticism. Over fifty years of the greatest music, art, philosophy, literature and even science, that the Western world has produced can be found within these pages. So adept is the author at distilling the important information that not once did the book seem to sell its subjects short. I was absolutely absorbed. This...
Published on 9 Oct 2000

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be warned
Be warned about this book- it is virtually a picture book with a small amount of text on each page. Every page has a very illustration and about a paragraph or two of text. I was very annoyed at this, as I was led to believe that this book would be useful for my University course, but it was not. I have given the book two stars however, because the text that was in there,...
Published on 19 July 2008 by Lindsay Aslan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelllent - A thoroughly enjoyable mine of culture!, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I hadn't realised there were so many strands within Romanticism. Over fifty years of the greatest music, art, philosophy, literature and even science, that the Western world has produced can be found within these pages. So adept is the author at distilling the important information that not once did the book seem to sell its subjects short. I was absolutely absorbed. This was my first Introducing book but if the high standard set by this book is met by the others, I'll certainly be buying many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romanticism, 12 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Tate Britain had a "two for the price of one" offer on a tall, well-stacked revolving tempter, so I selected the Enlightenment (the one I wanted) followed by Romanticism. Both were secreted up to the counter, paid for quickly and slipped promptly into the Billingham. (One does not want to be seen with "Guides to ... when one should be reading "The Roots Of Romanticism" by Isaiah Berlin or "Romanticism" (Cambridge Contexts in Literature) by David Stevens.)

Having finished the "Enlightenment", I later turned to this book; now used to this interesting series, it was great fun, every page full of b/w illustrations to clarify the text in some unusual, graphic way. Obviously it does not go into great detail but it does deal effectively with the movement with a broad-brush approach.

With its roots in the Enlightenment, "the word 'romantic' derives from Old French 'romanz' meaning the vernacular 'romance' languages that developed from Latin ... Medieval romances are fanciful, heroic, extravagant tales." The first sentences gets down to immediate issues.

Samuel Johnson, Diderot, Jane Austen, Thomas Paine, Thomas Gray, Rousseau, Edmund Burke, Wordsworth, Coleridge and so on; the list seems endless. From the French Revolution in 1789 to the Communist Manifesto of 1884 is the period of Romanticism, ending "with Jackson Pollock (1912-1956) as its doomed Byron" (P 171), the books covers a vast intellectual arena in a very enjoyable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Gem!, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Romanticism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
This book covers the period of history between and including the French Revolution and the Communist Manifesto. Romanticism is often referred to as 'the problem child' of Enlightenment. I enjoyed it. It covers cultural awareness, literature, art history, philosophy and so on. It's simplistic with a wealth of information. It's approachable enough to be read on the beach!Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hmmm interesting, 24 Feb 2011
By 
S. Ainsworth (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
yes an interesting useful little book. Sort of 'Jackie'magazine style illustration (on every page!!)important Romantic concepts and useful enlightening quotes. I keep mine in my handbag for a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romanticism for the Uninitiated, 21 Aug 2010
I too was worried that this book would not meet my needs after reading other reviews. However, I have found it extremely useful and informative.

It covers a lot of ground and gets progressively harder. It is highly accessible for anyone new to Romanticism and provides an excellent foundation for study in this area. The drawings are fun and help to illustrate the points.

Don't be put off by the format. If you want a firm introduction to Romanticism without too much heavy text, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to romanticism, 28 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a little bit worried by the others comments when I have bought this book but when it arrived it was a pleasant surprise, it is really an excellent and complete introduction to romanticism. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be warned, 19 July 2008
By 
Lindsay Aslan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Be warned about this book- it is virtually a picture book with a small amount of text on each page. Every page has a very illustration and about a paragraph or two of text. I was very annoyed at this, as I was led to believe that this book would be useful for my University course, but it was not. I have given the book two stars however, because the text that was in there, did contain some useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible format, 7 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other critical review, I'm surprised the Open University recommends this book - maybe they wish to prompt us to read about it all elsewhere. A Philosopher is mentioned, for example, then there's a silly, unnecessary picture with a speech bubble, but nothing interesting or useful is said. The format is like that of a child's book. If this is a bestseller I can only suppose that thousands of people must have bought it and then regretted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Romanticism: A Graphic Guide
Introducing Romanticism: A Graphic Guide by Duncan Heath (Paperback - 4 Nov 2010)
4.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews