Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction for the philosophy phobic.
In his Foreword Stephen Law shows how exposure to philosophy can be valuable in everyday life. In the UK in particular philosophy is not given the place in the curriculum that it deserves. Now we have trasnferable skills but they do not capture the full range of philosophical argument. Many people are put off philosophy and think of it as pretentious waffle but...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by Andrew Dalby

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK book
This is hard work and may be looked upon a reference rather than a good read. I got the odd gem but not much more.
Published 14 months ago by B. Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction for the philosophy phobic., 24 Aug 2010
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 30-Second Philosophies: The 50 Most Thought-provoking Philosophies, Each Explained in Half a Minute (Hardcover)
In his Foreword Stephen Law shows how exposure to philosophy can be valuable in everyday life. In the UK in particular philosophy is not given the place in the curriculum that it deserves. Now we have trasnferable skills but they do not capture the full range of philosophical argument. Many people are put off philosophy and think of it as pretentious waffle but Wittgenstein said that with philosophy you can say things plainly and simply (He did not take his own advice).

So this book is a refreshing change as the key ideas are summed up in a single page that is supposed to take 30 seconds to read. While it takes a bit longer than this especially to understand what they mean these are very good "potted versions" of the great ideas.

The articles themselves are written by a series of authors and so there is some variation in their quality and accessibility. So it starts badly with some algebra in Syllogisms which comes from nowhere and is off-putting but keep going. For me the articles by Kati Balog are the best and the clearest and I hope that she goes on to write more books.

In general if you need to know what the big ideas are this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection of Philosophical Concepts and Ideas, 4 April 2011
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 30-Second Philosophies: The 50 Most Thought-provoking Philosophies, Each Explained in Half a Minute (Hardcover)
Philosophy has a reputation for being obscure, highfaluting, and not terribly practical or useful. However, if one is not easily dismayed by these misconceptions then it's possible to learn a lot about the world and our conceptions of it from studying some of the most interesting philosophical questions. This well designed and well-written short introduction aims to present some of the most thought-provoking ideas from the rich history of philosophy. Whether you have never read any philosophical work or are a seasoned armchair philosopher, you will find many interesting pieces of information within the covers of this book. It provides a brief reference for 50 philosophical concepts or idea. These are explained in short 300 word sections, with an accompanying illustrations and several even shorter references. The topics covered include: Frege's puzzle, Hume's problem of induction, the brain in a vat, Pascal's wager, Plato's cave, and many more. The explanations are very lucid and intuitive, and they only require some good old common sense for the full understanding. The illustrations are done in a mock fifties style and they convey a slight panache for self-irony. The book is printed on a high-quality glossy paper and can almost function as a coffee table book. It makes a nice little reference or can be used as a thoughtful gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to dip in, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ii have this on my kindle and it is such a lovely book to dip into. I am thoroughly enjoying it - and getting some info at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK book, 14 Feb 2013
By 
B. Williamson "Tiger Eye" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is hard work and may be looked upon a reference rather than a good read. I got the odd gem but not much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic shortcut to knowledge!, 29 May 2011
This review is from: 30-Second Philosophies: The 50 Most Thought-provoking Philosophies, Each Explained in Half a Minute (Hardcover)
Great, and probably the best in the series of 30 second books. Good choice if you are considering philosophy as an A Level or topic and want a quick overview of what it's about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too random, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's cleverly written and explains some complex ideas very concisely. I found it irritating however that there was no thread linking each mini-chapter. The effect is a very random and bitty book. Unless you like remembering random pieces of information it's a little disappointing.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good intro to Philosophy, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I paid an excellent price for this book. Easy to read yet informative. Will be very helpful for my philosophy group. Worth buying if you want to find out a broad overview of philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obvuiously I failed to read the blurb properly, so this is my fault. But not for those who know little about philosophy, you'd be better off getting a dummy's guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL !, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book hoping for some clarification ~ most of the writing in impenetrable, and requiring a much wider knowledge of philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 14 April 2014
By 
P. Brown (Beaconsfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful reminder of basic ideas of ideas, especially on Kindle where one can move between related philosophies. The brevity helps in seeing easily the history of philosophical thought development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb68d0fd8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews