Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2011
In today's world which we live in , all one read about is doom & gloom. Therefore it is quite refreshing to come across a book that's full of hope. It highlights the efforts of such devoted people whose determination and dedication have brought animals back from the brink of extinction. This book covers such wonderful success stories which reaffirms ones faith in the fact that if on one hand mankind are hellbent to bring destruction on this lovely planet then equally there are people whose commitment is preserving the resources of this planet. Jane Goodall is herself an institution & therefore for her to go round the world to meet these wonderful people & witness the joys of their hard work first hand is quite remarkable. A must read for all who worry about the state of animal planet & their conservation.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
Goodall writes in a way that serves equally for zoologists or school kids. She's clearly there as a narrator, but only enough to lend her good name to the animals and animal protection activists she honors. She sounds like a Dalai Lama of the global conservation movement, able to lift hearts by her presence. The stories themselves are gritty with grim detail on the fate of animals, and each featured case involves a near brush with total extinction. The activists resort to captive breeding, predator exclusion fences, even extermination of invasive species. Then they have to gain buy-in from the local people. They have to slowly work toward community agreements on ways of living that allow biodiversity, or maybe even stimulate it.

I think every public school system should use this as a textbook. The kids would get a world of insight and it would naturally ignite passion. The index is loaded with ways the classes could learn through engagement in making a difference.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This book finally gives some positive news about the environment. It tells of projects that few of us know about. Furthermore each chapter is short and concise which makes this a great book to dip in and out of. I think it is fantastic what work Jane Goodall is doing. I do think she would draw more attention to her book if she hadn't emblazoned it with her name instead of the title - if this had been in the book shop I wouldn't have noticed it. I had to drop 1 star because Jane seems a bit 'mental' - sorry about that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
Dame Jane Goodall, internationally renowned primatologist, writes with humour and just the right amount of detail to keep the reader hooked. She describes how some species, such as the Californian Condor, have been saved from extinction by capturing the last remaining wild individuals for captive breeding programmes (which often arouse controversy). The author also astonishes us by describing the "Lazarus Syndrome" where living individuals of species thought to be extinct, such as the Zino's Petrel and Caspian Horse, have been found.
Every chapter is uplifting and strongly conveys Jane Goodall's passion for conservation and her admiration for the men and women she has met whose tireless efforts and commitment to conservation projects have saved species from extinction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
This is a very good book with many short stories with references made to gain further details. A great book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
i have loved this item and so pleased i didnt sent it back as i was new but in the post the box was completely damaged but this was not there fault and cant remember if i informed them of this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
one of the best, more inspiring books i've ever read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
It is cheap and well protected. My friend loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
The book was received in extremely good condition & well within the anticipated timescale. Will definitely buy more books from this source in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)