Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan
Love the contents of this book. Being an ESL teacher, I love everything to do with linguistics of course, and this book tops them all. It gives you short excerpts about what language is all about, where it came from, how it developed and how it's going to die also!!
Published 6 months ago by robin4good

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Illegible graphics
This book does not work well on Kindle. Each graphic page contains text that is integral to the printed text. Unfortunately it is impossible to enlarge the text within the graphics. This means that some of those pages cannot be read because they have been condensed to fit the format of Kindle. I had hoped that there would be more content discussing the origins of our...
Published 10 days ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
Love the contents of this book. Being an ESL teacher, I love everything to do with linguistics of course, and this book tops them all. It gives you short excerpts about what language is all about, where it came from, how it developed and how it's going to die also!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Illegible graphics, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does not work well on Kindle. Each graphic page contains text that is integral to the printed text. Unfortunately it is impossible to enlarge the text within the graphics. This means that some of those pages cannot be read because they have been condensed to fit the format of Kindle. I had hoped that there would be more content discussing the origins of our language but this book really does do what it says on the cover and is a study of the science of linguistics. It is none the less interesting for that. I may have given more stars if I had been able to read all the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by illegible text in diagrams., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text in the diagrams is an intrinsic part of the general text but the diagrams do not appear on the KindlFire HDX at a size that makes it legible. The first few pages are not written in a page turning style. Nonetheless an interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
Very interesting subject!. The book does a good job explaining the key areas. Some interesting chapters on how some languages share a lot in common. Also a few pages are set aside for explaining Chomsky's theories. Some interesting pages on word order and there was also some fascinating pages on sexism in language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A complex subject made clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars really good read, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
this product is a good but long read . providing you with more history of linguistics then the subject itself I suggest anyone who has little patience not to invest in this book . However I did learn a lot .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide
Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide by R. L. Trask (Paperback - 3 Sep 2009)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews