Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an easy and great introduction
found this book amazing. an introduction to economics in general and capitalism in particular. it is balanced as it gives voice to the theories of many great thinkers who both defended capitalism and those who opposed it, including Thomas Hobbes, John Stuart Mill, Karl Marx, Milton Freidman and many more. extremly thought provoking, especially (for me) the part where...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Darryn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but I would purchase Introducing: 'Economics' instead.
I like a lot of the books from this series but this one in particular I charge with a bit of bias.
I believe that the author rather dislikes capitalism, that is what I gathered from the text anyway.
I think I even remember the part where it talks about the theories of Robert Nozick and the author
throws a silly ad hominem instead of engaging with the...
Published 1 month ago by Wesley Corbett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an easy and great introduction, 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
found this book amazing. an introduction to economics in general and capitalism in particular. it is balanced as it gives voice to the theories of many great thinkers who both defended capitalism and those who opposed it, including Thomas Hobbes, John Stuart Mill, Karl Marx, Milton Freidman and many more. extremly thought provoking, especially (for me) the part where it says that humans have had more leisure time than any time in history, yet most of this leisure time is spent on either directly or indirectly buying commodities. the book also charts the history of capitalism from the knights templars and rennaisance florence to the merchants republic of the Netherlands and the east India trade company to finally the industrial revolution and modern day capitalism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a review of,' Capitalism a Graphic guide.', 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
An easy and approachable guide to the subject , which manages to address with clarity and humour,(The latter most evident in the cartoon illustrations)the nature and history of a very big idea. Well presented concise and easy to read,(in one sitting if pushed!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
A fantastic way of presenting a rather dry subject. While the guide is a bit superficial, it doesn't make political judgements and it beats reading the Economist any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another clear introduction to an essential subject, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent overview - clear explanation of our dominant ideology with a balanced examination of competing criticisms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but I would purchase Introducing: 'Economics' instead., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
I like a lot of the books from this series but this one in particular I charge with a bit of bias.
I believe that the author rather dislikes capitalism, that is what I gathered from the text anyway.
I think I even remember the part where it talks about the theories of Robert Nozick and the author
throws a silly ad hominem instead of engaging with the arguments properly. One word: Injustice.
In fact, I would suggest reading the Introducing: 'Economics' instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Item arrived on time and in an excellent condition. I am pleased with the service of ..., 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived on time and in an excellent condition. I am pleased with the service of this Seller and I will use again in the future. Many Thanks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
Doesn't really tell you much about capitalism rather a history , goes too much into the "people" of capitalism and not "capitalism" talks a lot about socialism and how it's different from capitalism with the reader having not much informed about capitalism, was hoping to learn a good deal about "inflation" " recession" etc ....was left disappointed by the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Dec 2009
By 
M. Thanki "Manish" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
This is a great insight into capitalism and mass media.

Capitalism is about consumption and we are just a commodity. This is essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide
Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide by Sharron Shatil (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews