Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant account of a fundamental subject
The development of quantum physics through the 20th century is one of the great adventures of science, and here at last is a book aimed at the layperson which clearly explains its key concepts, while situating the scientific development in its broader setting. The result is a challenging and enthralling read.

Quantum is appropriately sub-titled, Einstein, Bohr...
Published on 9 Jun 2009 by Louis Ryan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too detailed for me and got a little dull
It's an excellent piece of research and a historical compilation in minute detail, but I found a little TOO much detail detracted from the story. Probably deserves more stars but it became a chore by the end. oh well
Published 4 months ago by Matt W


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 21 April 2010
By 
Graham J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate About the Nature of Reality (Paperback)
This is more about relationships than the theory, but a really good read without heavy maths. Well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the "Copenhagen interpretation" a complete theory of quantum physics?, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Dr. T. Andrew (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate About the Nature of Reality (Paperback)
This is a great book about a subject that could not be bigger. It is about the heroic struggle throughout the 20th century to reconcile two profoundly important theories of physical reality - classical Newtonian and quantum theory physics. In telling this inspiring and ultimately moving story, Kumar introduces us to the ideas, lives and rivalries of the giants of 20th century physics - Einstein, Bohr, Heisenberg, Schrodinger, Pauli & many other "boy physicists" are all in there. I found it particularly touching that someone of Bohr's towering intellectual stature and achievements, who with his colleagues managed to forge the "Copenhagen interpretation" of quantum theory in their attempt to reconcile the old and new physics, nevertheless, throughout his lifetime and often in a state of near despair, continued to seek the approval of Einstein for his ideas.

Is the "Copenhagen interpretation" a complete theory of quantum physics as claimed by Bohr and others? This book helped me to better understand this profound question, if not the ongoing struggle to find the answer. An inspirational and thoroughly entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best works of popular science I have ever read, 28 Jan 2009
Not only is the science covered in this this book fascinating, but the author has done a tremendous job of weaving together the narrative behind the discoveries that were being made at the time. He presents the context, personalities and science in a thoroughly engaging way, and each is pitched at just the right level of detail. This has something to offer everyone, regardless of prior subject matter familiarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For me this was a very important read, 19 July 2014
By 
G. R. Hunt "Geoffrey Hunt" (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I learnt a lot from this very readable book about advances in the physical sciences. I need to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical Approach to Quantum Theory, 31 May 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is not a physics book. It is a history of physics book, more like a biography collection of great physicists.

It rarely contains any maths, not even any deep insight of the experiments and how they were conducted. It deals with the personnal stories of the physicists involved, their personnal disagreements and alliances etc. Therefore i can only review it like a book of this kind, and it clearly succeeds in its purpose.

It is very nice written, enjoyable, and rarely boring. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much harder going than I had anticipated, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate About the Nature of Reality (Paperback)
The author is clearly a gifted writer and has a fine mind. But the subject matter is extraordinarily complex and he struggles to explain things sufficiently clearly to make this a good "popular" read. It is actually quite hard going in parts and is not a book I would recommend as an introduction to the subject. That doesn't of course mean that it's not worth reading but I would suggest trying something that explains the material in a simpler way first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad At All, 22 Sep 2009
This review is from: Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate About the Nature of Reality (Paperback)
Not bad at all. A very slow and unremarkable start but builds up to a crescendo with the disagreements between Einstein and Bohr. This is more a book about (egos and) personalities than about quantum mechanics. For the latter I would much rather recommend John Gribbin's In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deep thoughts, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a narrative of the debates between the atomic scientists about the meaning of quantum physics, covering the period from 1900 to 1950. The main characters are Einstein and Bohr, but all contributors are included. It makes heavy reading not only because of the subject matter, but also the text is dense. It includes many references, and is more of a textbook than a novel. The critical issue is whether reality exists if it is not observed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comprehensive history of development of quantum mechanic without the mathematics formalism. Interesting biographies of main players and issues debated all the way to twenty first century views on interpret ion of quantum mechanic. I highly recommend it as a companion to any student of quantum mechanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative book on important subject, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was well argued, level headed and easy to read. I found it even-handed and not driven by theological dogma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate About the Nature of Reality
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews