Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars11
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2009
I received this book as a birthday present earlier this month - it's a thoroughly impressive volume. Being what is politely described as a 'keen amateur golfer' I knew of Harry Colt and Co already of course. This has been put together with real love and care though and was a thoroughly fascinating read. There's some excellent history here, some lovely descriptions of the courses (some of which have been added to my Top 10 I'd Love to Play) and a real appreciation throughout the book both for the reader and of course for the exemplarary work of Mr Colt himself.

Add into that the sumptuous photographs - and some very thoughtful design work - and this really is a rich, elegant book. Heartily recommended to all golfers - or anyone looking to buy a golfer a Christmas present.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
The book is beautifully presented but does not include reference to all the courses he worked on and does not really give as much detail on his design techniques as I would have liked. It is more of a "coffee table" book - glossy but lacking depth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
If you love Golf and interested in the how some of the best courses were designed and created, then you're in for a treat. The photographs are stunning and really bring this book alive. The authors (Peter Pugh & Henry Lord)have done an excellent job in the research and the presentation of detail relating to the work of Golf course designer Harry Colt. He(Colt)has created some of the finest courses, most of which still exist for us to enjoy. Creating Classics simply oozes tradition - it's a gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Excellent overview of the work of this great course designer. Very complete. Great background information, written with a lot of knowledge and enthusiasm. Great photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
and disappoints because it adds very little to what is already published on Colt and his partners. Unlike the other recent bios on Ross, Mackenzie and Macdonald which have a lot of depth.

I got the impression that the authors are unfamiliar with the majority of courses reviewed and didn't do the necessary leg work. There are some curious choices of courses to review: Hankley Common included with only 3 Colt holes? Ditto for Royal Worlington, Formby, Ganton, Alwoodley.. all not really Colt courses. On the flip side, many excellent purely Colt courses have been inexplicably left out. There's also only one course in the USA: Pine Valley. None from Canada? Virtually nothing on Alison in Japan.

There are quite a lot of mistakes too in the stated facts, labeling of photos etc

On the plus side, many of the modern photos are great and the big find are the original Colt sketches of Edgbaston GC which are very nice.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Just what my husband wanted, it was on his Christmas list. For a golfer this would be a good book to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
I have to agree with Paul Turner in that although there are some great photos in here the research has not really been that thorough and to be honest almost none of it is new to those of us in the business.

For someone who does not know anything about Colt it is probably a good book to start with but beware of the mistakes in the book!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
I bought this book for my husband as a Xmas gift. He absolutely loves it! He sat most of Xmas morning looking at the fantastic photos and insisted showing me them all. A good present.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Beautiful Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
I have to say, I don't really agree with the previous reviewer at all - I bought this book for my husband at Christmas and he raves about it.
Firstly, it is predominantly a pictorial book with quality photography, which is accompanied by text that is in-depth enough, but doesn't weigh the reader down with unnecessary statistics and figures.
Talking of weight, at 432 pages, this book is very heavy and to cover ALL courses would be unwise, not only losing focus on the courses that are featured, but also because it is impossible due to the size of the book.
In addition, the other books that the previous reviewer mentions are not coffee-table books but in-depth biogs and it would be unfair to compare the two.
I'm a golfer myself, and enjoy reading through everything from light history like Mark Frost's 'The Greatest Game Ever Played' to big, sumptuous gift books like 'Planet Golf'. This book sits nicely between the two.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)