Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
As a concise, clear and readable precis of Neitzsche's very wide-ranging philosophy this is superb. I defy anyone not to enjoy and be stimulated by it.
Published on 25 Aug. 2006 by David Oates

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book is too small now
This review refers only to the new 'A graphic Guide( Introducing)' not to be confused with the previous format and size.
I was really disappointed to find a miniaturized version of the Introducing series. The whole idea of this is to make it easy to read, enjoy the graphics as they work with the text. In this new mini style the book is very tight to open, the print...
Published on 16 Jan. 2010 by Stephen Luff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche (Paperback)
As a concise, clear and readable precis of Neitzsche's very wide-ranging philosophy this is superb. I defy anyone not to enjoy and be stimulated by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro, 19 April 2008
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche (Paperback)
I have been a Nietzsche fanatic for several years. However, the first work I read, the much touted Zarathustra, left me indifferent, to say the least. This book provides an excellent introduction to N's life, work and influences, in a very reader friendly approach. Read it and then read the man himself (Birth of Tragedy and Beyond Good and Evil are my personal favourites from the person I consider, as do many of my fellow readers, to be the greatest philosopher AD).

Also, an excellent series in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, clear introduction the man and his ideas, 8 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Introducing Nietzsche is a book that does exactly what it says on the cover. In words and pictures the reader is led through Nietzche's childhood, early life and middle age, through to his death, showing how his philosophical ideas formed and took shape within the context of the world around him. As with most of the 'Introducing...' series this is a well put together basic starter. It is both interesting and easy to follow and makes an excellent beginning point for anyone wishing to know more about Nietzche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars understanding for those who don't., 14 May 2009
By 
J. Green (preston,lancs,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
I so dearly wish to extend my understanding of philosophy, my fellow man and myself, this book is a great start and supplement if you have already started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read bits and pieces about Freddy for a few years now. Never have I read so many diverse views of any philosopher. Its impossible for me to say or judge if this book sets the record straight and gives us the "real" Nietzsche, but it was clear and concise and I think worthy of being read as an introduction to his thought. Well worth reading, perhaps before trying a few more in depth studies by those such as Walter Kaufmann. (Perhaps one day I will be able to spell Nietzsche without looking it up........)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neitzsche is a life changing philosopher., 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
This book gives you an intuitive insight into the essential grandeur of of Neitzsche's thought. Much of this through the superb imaginative drawings. Great little present for friends who think about things,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yup, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
It arrived a little late, but the product was as described and in very good quality. I have not read it; it was a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic!!, 4 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
A great introduction to Frederich Nietzsche. His father was a Lutheran pastor and Nietzsche studied theology and philology (the literary analysis of classical. However, he abandoned theology, indulging in his love of Greek classical texts. He was devoted to Plato and Aeschylus. Nietzsche read the World as Will and Idea by the German idealist philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860). Schopenhauer's atheism influenced Nietzsche's future writings such as 'Thus Spake Zarathustra', 'The Genealogy of Morals', 'Beyond Good and Evil' and so on. Nietzsche was friendly with Richard Wagner, but fell out with him for his anti-semitism. However, after Nietzsce's death in August 1900,Nietzsche's sister Elizabeth placed herself in control of the archive of her brother's work. She allegedly manipulated his letters and writings to give the impression that she and he had been very close when actually her anti-semitism had been at the core of his estrangement from her. Frederich Nietzsche was influential to Sigmund Freud. Michael Focault the French philosopher and historian was the most influential heir to Nietzsche's genealogical method of conceptual analysis. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book is too small now, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
Stephen Luff "Stephen L" (Worthing, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
This review refers only to the new 'A graphic Guide( Introducing)' not to be confused with the previous format and size.
I was really disappointed to find a miniaturized version of the Introducing series. The whole idea of this is to make it easy to read, enjoy the graphics as they work with the text. In this new mini style the book is very tight to open, the print is too small and the graphics just don't have any impact.
I'm sending it straight back and going for the previous generation that is 20.4 cm as opposed to 16.4. It may not sound a lot but makes a lot of difference if you don't want to be fighting with the book.
This review is directed at the size and is no reflection on the content which I didn't bother to read as the whole format is completely uninviting to read.
Now with the introduction of the Kindle and e-books, reading with a printed book should be a more tactile and visual pleasure. Reducing the size of the book I think someone at icon thought it a great idea, but probably didn't field test the format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The author assumes to much, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
D. Harrop (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
The title sums it up. The authors assume you have far more knowledge of Nietzsche and his ideas than you do. For what is supposedly an introduction, by the latter half i found myself lost in a collection of mumbo jumbo that made little sense and read like faux wisdom. The authors did virtually nothing to help me understand what Nietzsche meant. Compared to some books in this series which i really liked, this one just isn't worth the money. A short video on Youtube proved far more revealing.

My opinion, don't bother with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide
Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide by Piero (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews