Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction
This book seems to have been unfairly reveiwed.
The illustrations are of a piece with the rest of the series, and the content gives a good overview of the subject.
This series of books isn't designed to give students an easy legup, its more to introduce the absolute beginner.
Published on 15 Dec. 2003 by A. I. Mackenzie

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment
I must admit this book is slightly disappointing. Although it provides a decent enough introduction in terms of the content, the layout is confusing and the illustrations aren't particularly good. It looks rather like a bad photocopy in places, and the pages appear dense and it is difficult to see detail. It doesn't hold the attention particularly well, and I found it...
Published on 16 Jun. 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 15 Dec. 2003
By 
A. I. Mackenzie "alimack" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Ethics (Paperback)
This book seems to have been unfairly reveiwed.
The illustrations are of a piece with the rest of the series, and the content gives a good overview of the subject.
This series of books isn't designed to give students an easy legup, its more to introduce the absolute beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to ethics!, 2 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Introducing Ethics (Paperback)
'Introducing Ethics' is an excellent introduction to the subject. I recommended the book and used it when teaching A-level Philosophy to mature Adult Education students, who enjoyed and learned much from the well-written, straight-forward language of Dave Robinson and the memorable, humourous images of Chris Garratt.
Ethics, being an important and central topic in philosophy, is as much about asking the right questions as giving possible answers. Perhaps this is why a couple of amazon "reviewers" didn't understand and appreciate the book? Perhaps they should first read Dave Robinson's excellent 'Introducing Philosophy'? Whatever, don't be misled by ignorance! This book will not only provide you with a good grounding of ethics as a philosophical discipline - it will also give you useful and practical applications for everyday life. I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who has ever asked questions like, "What is good and bad?", "What is right and wrong?", and "How should we live our lives?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 18 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Introducing Ethics: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
I got it as a little gift for niece covering topic in school- A fun way to look at issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Filosophical!!, 1 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Ethics: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
This book fulfils its purpose in introducing the complicated world of 'ethics'. For readers with an interest in any discipline of the social sciences, it is good. I was already familiar with some of the theorists covered such as Aristotle, Plato, Michael Focault,Zygmunt Bauman and so on. The book addresses ten central questions like, 'Are there any differences between moral laws and society's laws?' 'What are human beings really like? Are they selfish and greedy or generous and kind?' Or 'Does anyone have the right to tell anyone else what goodness and wickedness are? .. and so on. The authors look at the different attempts, from 'moral relevatism to ethical absolutism, to provide a foundation for ethics. From Ancient Greece, ethics have always been and remain relevant to contemporary society. The Socratic approach will always be necessary to decipher what moral beliefs are 'true' or not. 'It's just that we haven't figured out how to prove which is which. The book is approachable and easy to understand with over 170 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good for a begginer., 17 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Introducing Ethics: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
this was a good read which introduced all the main idealogies about ethics and morality.
it is easy to read and has jokes and illustrations to keep you entertained.
its price is right for the content inside. it shows some complex and more advanced ideas but displays these points graphicaly (as the title suggests).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and entertaining, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Francis Riley (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well done if not particularly outstanding, well worth the money though and I would recommend this guide as an exploration of new ides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment, 16 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Introducing Ethics (Paperback)
I must admit this book is slightly disappointing. Although it provides a decent enough introduction in terms of the content, the layout is confusing and the illustrations aren't particularly good. It looks rather like a bad photocopy in places, and the pages appear dense and it is difficult to see detail. It doesn't hold the attention particularly well, and I found it hard to keep reading. Even when concentration is applied to decipher a page, the content isn't really worth the effort. Personally I didn't think that it was worth the hype or the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good book at all, 29 July 2003
This review is from: Ethics for Beginners (Paperback)
This book in my opinion was always going to struggle. How could you fit in an introduction to ethics in such a small book. Well the book answered that question, you cant. The book is vague, confusing and certainly not a good read. As a beginner when i first read this book i was preparing to be totally enlightened into the world of ethics. Not so. I just got snippets of information that were neither helpful or memeroable.
This book is a poor book there is no way around it. If you want to get a grasp of ethics without taking 3 years out your life then i reccomend 'ethical theory'. This is a far more approachable, understandable and better made book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Ethics: A Graphic Guide
Introducing Ethics: A Graphic Guide by Chris Garratt (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews