Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening
I have been reading this book throughout Holy Week and I can't recommend it enough. It is thought-provoking, thorough, clear and easy to read. I have learned so many new things, and her constant referrals to the meanings of the original language is highly enlightening. It is also easy to dip in and out of the different sections if there is something you are especially...
Published 6 months ago by Corrynne

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMPTY TOMB? RESURRECTION OR GRAVE ROBBING?
IN REALITY GRAVE ROBBING IS PROB THE ANSWER.ALTHOUGH THIS WILL BE UR CHOICE AND WILL DEPEND ON MANY PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
Published 6 months ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
I have been reading this book throughout Holy Week and I can't recommend it enough. It is thought-provoking, thorough, clear and easy to read. I have learned so many new things, and her constant referrals to the meanings of the original language is highly enlightening. It is also easy to dip in and out of the different sections if there is something you are especially interested in or want to refer back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly moving, and inspiring, 9 April 2014
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
Paula Gooder’s Biblical Exploration might well have been titled ‘the Subversive Jesus’. From Jesus’ entry into Jerusalem (ironically turning the traditional Roman ‘Triumph’ into its antithesis – eschewing pomp… acting out of love not status) to the extraordinary ‘triumph’ of the Cross, her account of every part of these Last Days poses unimagined questions, presents radical answers.

While Sunday Readings throughout the Church year offer short Bible passages which thread together the Gospel accounts of Jesus’ life, how often do many of us read the Bible as we might read a book?

Yet it is the interweaving of – for instance – the three stories of the Cleansing of the Temple, the Widow’s Mite and the cursing of the fig tree, that bring a shock of understanding never present when the stories remain separate.

Or, through the lens of the Vineyard owner’s parable, who would ever now forget that the blood money paid to Judas was actually the Tyrian shekels given for the Temple’s upkeep – God’s house – and at that moment used to ensure His Son’s death.

Art, like Music (via the great Passions) links both Old and New Testament in the route to the Cross. But it is a rare book that digs into the connectedness of words and action, of symbolism and story, to bring such intense insights to inform our Lent.

Rather than harmonising the Gospels (as preachers tend to prefer to do) Paula Gooder lays bare the uncertainties of their writers: ‘Why did Jesus die?’

It is a sharp and startling question to focus our personal Lent reflections.

As the great Canadian songwriter Bruce Cockburn once suggested, “maybe the poet… shows you new ways to see” and in this sense that Paula Gooder is both theologian and poet. This is a book to commend, to read in depth, and to allow to change our whole understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
It always to read Paula's books.
I think I have most of her books which are not only readable but so helpful in preparing sermons.
Wonderful writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
Excellent resource. Brilliant background for Holy week preaching. Highly recommended for all leading worship and for those just interested. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, written by a lady, who ..., 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
A superb book, written by a lady, who knows her subject at depth. It conveys an interest from start to finish and I would find it hard to scrabble together any objection or complaint .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - compelling reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another marvellous book from Paula Gooder, 4 Sep 2014
By 
J. W. Waterfield (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
As with all of Paula Gooder's work, this is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMPTY TOMB? RESURRECTION OR GRAVE ROBBING?, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations) (Paperback)
IN REALITY GRAVE ROBBING IS PROB THE ANSWER.ALTHOUGH THIS WILL BE UR CHOICE AND WILL DEPEND ON MANY PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey to the Empty Tomb: Exploring the Final Week of Jesus' Life (Biblical Explorations)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews