Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient and Modern 2013
Since I bought this book we've adopted it at our church. On the whole I like it, but sadly, in a number of cases, they've adopted modernised texts which seem to trivialise the versions we have come to know and love, eg No.70, "It came upon the midnight clear".
There are some surprising omissions of traditional hymns at the expense of modern material of...
Published 13 months ago by S J SCRUTTON

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Church Musicians' companion/reference book.
It's ok, but why print 3 lines of music when there are 4 lines of words? This makes it difficult for musicians to, say, change stops at the end of line 2 ie half-way through the verse. There was PLENTY OF SPACE to have 4 lines of music. 8 line verses have 4 lines of music, which is fine. Editors should have submitted drafts to potential buyers, to make the corrections,...
Published 18 months ago by Sine Nomine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient and Modern 2013, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
Since I bought this book we've adopted it at our church. On the whole I like it, but sadly, in a number of cases, they've adopted modernised texts which seem to trivialise the versions we have come to know and love, eg No.70, "It came upon the midnight clear".
There are some surprising omissions of traditional hymns at the expense of modern material of doubtful quality. There are also some inaccuracies of attribution eg S. Wesley for S. S. Wesley, the latter being the son of the former, and for the tune "Saffron Walden" which appears in books published before the attributed composer was even born, and dates (eg W. W. How). My purely personal view is that a slightly less radical approach would have been preferable, leaving "Sing Praise" as a stand alone supplement. And what's wrong with the A&MR version of "Morning Hymn"?
This new A&M is a definite an improvement on Mayhew's offerings and, thankfully, avoids the worst of their banalities and textual "improvements" but I don't feel able to endorse it whole-heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Church Musicians' companion/reference book., 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
It's ok, but why print 3 lines of music when there are 4 lines of words? This makes it difficult for musicians to, say, change stops at the end of line 2 ie half-way through the verse. There was PLENTY OF SPACE to have 4 lines of music. 8 line verses have 4 lines of music, which is fine. Editors should have submitted drafts to potential buyers, to make the corrections, and make the book MORE USER FRIENDLY. Good quality printing, Useful changes to (lower) keys.Good combination of traditional hymns, new material, new songs etc. Should last for several years, even up to 20 or 30 years. Every church should have one music copy at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new collection, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
This is a terrific mix of 'ancient' ie well-known since childhood - and modern - ie not heard or seen before, with the latter in particular being well constructed hymns. Well done and not a moment too soon: our church hymn books are on their last legs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful collection, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
Good selection of new material as well as traditional items. Music generally in suitable keys - not too low! Nice to have items arranged seasonally which makes it easier when selecting hymns and finding less familiar things to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old and New, 5 Sept. 2013
By 
Ms. Sybil Walton "sibbi" (north east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
Purchased this for my sister who plays a keyboard and she was delighted to find in it old hymns along with many new ones which up till now she had only heard on Songs of Praise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
This was described as the Full Music Edition - when it arrived I was so disappointed to find it was the Words only edition and had to return it :( The sellers should take more care to describe their items accurately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impractical., 31 Oct. 2013
By 
Tolstoy Fan (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
This is a great collection of hymns and Christian songs - it's just impossible to get it to stop falling off the music stand on my piano / clavinova. I guess organists will have a problem, too. It is far too thick and doesn't stay open - you need a supply of paperclips, pegs and bulldog clips for that. It's a shame this wasn't considered by the publisher. Although I am a musician my main reason for buying this was as a devotional aid. I wish I had bought the words only edition now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half-way there, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
A&M substantially revised, acknowledging that the last fifty years have happened, but not quite shedding its Anglican stodginess. Musically literate, as always, and with some excellent sets of new words. Usable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Ancient & Modern, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
It has some useful new material, and encompasses some modern composers of both words and music.
I look forward to using this book when we are able to afford the words only edition for the congregation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient and modern hymnal, 19 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic hymn book full of unique arrangements of some original hymns, creating a newer approach for worship. This is highly recommended if one likes a mixture of both old and new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancient and Modern Full Music Edition: Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews