Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny
Dave Walker takes a very wry view of the church life , which is very realistic and SO funny as I could relate to most of the cartoons!
Published 19 months ago by worship03

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ?????
Couldn't even raise a smile. Would be good to help you fall asleep. Can I sell it back to you?
Published 17 months ago by star shiner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
Dave Walker takes a very wry view of the church life , which is very realistic and SO funny as I could relate to most of the cartoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Funny!, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
Dave Walker has a great skill in seeing the ridiculous in what we take as "normal" church behaviour, and makes us able to laugh at ourselves. This book is another collection of that. A great ministry :) A great book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely funny, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
Another insightful and thoroughly amusing look at church life. Superbly drawn, a Dave Walker cartoon is instantly recognisable. And after reading through the first time, this is a book to go back to again and again - which I surely will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Wit, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
This is a lovely collection of humorous reflections on church life. There is wonderful attention to detail. Each character depicted could walk off the page and take his or her place in your favoritw Barbara Pym novel. I gave a copy to our church secretary last Christmas and she loved it. Great gift for any occasion or for your own library. Best medecine on a dreary day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarily accurate, chucklesomely funny, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Richard Gillin (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
Dave Walker takes a look at goings on in your typical church. Whilst making us laugh, often out loud, he also makes us realise just how fond we all are of the Church of England, characters, foibles and all. You'll never think of the flower guild in quite the same way again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peculiar Goings on, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
n interesting and amusing publicatoin. An interesting and amusing publication. An amusing and interesting publication.AN interessting and amusing publication, publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't at least chortle check your pulse, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
This slightly off-the-wall collection of cartoons is wonderful. Dave Walker managed to make me smile with most of the cartoons and laugh out loud on quite a few occasions. As well as being clever and funny the cartoons also manage to poke fun at those who take themselves too seriously, pop the pomposity of the proud and make you take a good look at yourself - which are all good qualities for a cartoon.

If you're not an Anglican you may have to do a little translation for some of the references which can appear as 'in jokes' but that does not stop the point coming across and the laughs from flowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humour that touches a real nerve, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
Brilliant, beautifully observed, great to see things from my own life in humour. The quirks of bumping along with people in Church should provide a great vehicle for reflection - such a disparate group of people with their own peculiarities can't be anything but a bit ridiculous so love seeing these cartoons. Seems to be a humour that is meant to be self deprecating - he covers all sorts of churchmanships and styles, but am pleased to see the ones I find funniest are the ones that show my own weirdnesses. If I was more drawn to ones that showed up the foibles of other styles, then it might have shown them to have been drawn to pander to a cheaper humour that can be a bit cruel and targeted against others. As it is, he seems to consistently hit the mark of being funny about something he has a strong affection for.
Don't want to over analyse it - at the end of the day the book succeeds because it is really funny. My daughter(who is an altar server)bought it for me as a birthday present, but it was quite clear she had read it a couple of times before wrapping it up, and as it has found its way into her bedroom a couple of times since I can confidently say its not just me that finds it funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wry & witty criteque of Church life., 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
A thoroughly enjoyable read - I challenge anyone not to giggle their way through this. Like all good comedy, it's funny because it is grounded in more than a smidgen of truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ?????, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon (Paperback)
Couldn't even raise a smile. Would be good to help you fall asleep. Can I sell it back to you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peculiar Goings On: Even More Dave Walker Guide to the Church Cartoon
6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews