Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical, informative and clearly explained, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
Having developed an interest in this subject quite recently via martial arts, I do not have a detailed working knowledge of Daoist theory or of the subject matter of this book. I found the content of the book to be well structured, taking the reader through each component of critical foundation theory and practice without assuming / requiring prior technical knowledge. The explanations provided are extremely clear and certainly this book will be very helpful and informative to anyone like myself who doesnt have much background knowledge in the subject.

I would also recommend the book to more experienced / knowledgeable practitioners of chinese medicine and related studies, due to its highly practical approach based on exercises designed to experience the energy system within the body. The book contains very good descriptions and illustrations to guide the reader through these exercises and gives some ideas as to what they can expect to observe for themselves and how to use their observations to diagnose and treat imbalances. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear writing, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
This book contains a lot of information about Meridian theory and is presented in a very clear and ordered fashion. I especially liked the section on Wu Xing qi gong, which I found usefu and fruitful , not only in my personal practice but also in my class teaching. The emphasis on experiencing the meridians directly is a refeshing and welcome addition to inner energy practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
As always a very definitive and very well articulated book explaining everything you wanted to know about connecting with, and changing the quality of the meridians.

The author (Damo Mitchell) is an excellent teacher and an even better person himself. Would definitely recommend this and his previous book (Daoist Nei Gong - The Philosophical Art Of Change) to any person interested in the energetic and spiritual arts of the Daoists.

Could not recommend this enough!! Thank you Damo Mitchell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in depth study, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
A well written (despite Mr Mitchell's fears to the contrary) and easy to follow 'system' for those who have prior knowledge or who are able to study. For those who don't fit into these categories it would be useful as a reference book, each subject/chapter, being carefully written, could be read as a stand-alone, or as part of the integrated 'stream' of thought. I recommend the book after one reading because of the focus of the book. This Mr Mitchell describes as 'connecting with, feeling and adjusting the energy body directly using consciousness'. Exploring and developing the inner environment is one of the great stages of spiritual and/or personal development. In fact there can be little human development without this.
Tai chi tutors come up with many reasons why students discontinue training but the main one is concentration. Concentration becomes more difficult as habitual patterns become stronger in our everyday lives. To begin with this Taichi concentration is tiring, though paradoxically it becomes a great strength opening the door to awareness and eventually a rounded consciousness.
Again, the book describes a system, some of which will be different to systems already learned but at first reading any rate the system appears to be rounded in itself. The writing is very tight with little waste and the content is easy to follow.
I expect to learn much from this book and as a student I would recommend it for study also.
Well done Mr Mitchell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a clear account of meridian theory, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
damo is a very good writer and he is not afraid of explaining clearly aspects of the energy system where other writers might fog the issues. I have read both of damo's books and they have been a revelation. thanks damo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
if you know who Damo Mitchell is you can trust this to be accurate to his teachings.
it's mainly made for people who follow this style of learning.
i bought it for my brother and he seems to be very happy with it.
he even bought out Sifu a copy so i assume it's very good but have not read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH ADDING TO YOUR COLLECTION, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong (Paperback)
This is a very easy to read book with lovely explanations and diagrams. Ideal for first timers to the Heavenly Streams theory or more advanced practitioners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong
Heavenly Streams - Meridian Theory in Nei Gong by Damo Mitchell (Paperback - 28 April 2013)
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews