Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it's weight in diamonds..., 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
This book is incredibly well written, both for the lay-person and the professional. Full of insight, wisdom and compassion, many of the case studies moved me to tears, such was the depth of healing received. I particularly loved the clear directional markers for further research on the specific areas of Shamanic practice covered, and was impressed by the authors depth of knowledge and understanding of the subject. In fact the entire book is written to be understood and used, without any of the obscurity or highly ritualistic elements so common to Shamanic texts. I have to say that if you are looking for books that will broaden your understanding of Shamanism or provide clear instructions for how to incorporate Shamanism into your current practices or daily life, this book will definitely hit the spot.Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Read, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
One of the best Therapist books I've read in a long time. I've already used several techniques mentioned with great results. For example after reading the chapter about "story writing" I used it the next day. My client wrote a very moving story, the following week she reported being about to move on from a difficult relationship, for the first time in 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear step forward, 18 July 2012
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
Christa Mackinnon has achieved something remarkable. Respecting the claims of both the everyday and the magical, she has produced a synthesis which bridges the gap. Her range of knowledge and experience is impressive. Her writing is clear and lively. Her message is just what a better future requires. Something many people consider strange and possibly deluded might just be entering the mainstream. Good thing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear way forward for all: this book is inspirational and a total 'MUST!', 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
I have found this book an absolute joy to read. Not only is it informative in a way that appeals to my academic side, it has also given 'food for thought' to a part of my life which is beyond academia and science and yet is integral to my existence. Christa Mackinnon has achieved a definite balance in providing all aspects of knowledge through the written word of research and theory and her own personal experiences, all of which enhance this very erudite book. In it I found the answers to questions that came up for me as I read it. It is beautifully thought out, thus enabling this process to naturally occur. The referencing gives clear direction to greater information if desired. Reading the book feels like going through a process in which the outcome leaves one feeling richer and more fulfilled in knowledge, understanding and introspection, with a greater sense of purpose.
The subject matter is immense and consequently there could have been a tendency to incorporate too much information as to become disparate and unconnected, however, Christa Mackinnon has managed to hold the boundaries, thus enabling the reader to absorb the written word without feeling overloaded. Her writing is open and not dictatorial; it offers perspectives rather than being confined, which gives the reader the opportunity to add it to their own life view rather than reject it or adopt it as absolute.
In conclusion, here is a book that is all encompassing: it is knowledgable, informative, concise and easy to read and is an absolute must for anyone working in any form of therapeutic practice or with an interest in Shamanism or spirituality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on the subject, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
An excellent book. It draws together and integrates shamanism and contemporary therapy, whilst putting it all into the wider context of human development. It is one of the best books I have read about the subject. I agree with John Perkins who called it an "enlightened contribution". If you ever buy a book on the subject matter, this is the one to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for therapists, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
This is a top class book written by an author who is an expert in her field. A therapist herself with years of experience, Christa has harnessed her knowledge and complementary experience of Shamanism into a book that reminds us of an element of life that we have perhaps overlooked over recent years. The research that underpins the message renders it an authoritative work. This is no new age fluff, but a book with a solid academic approach in a readable style.

Though mainly targeting therapists in practice, the book will also benefit a wider readership. The message is strong and important enough to go beyond the therapy room.

It is a timely work for our modern age, a reminder that there is more to life than meets the eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very special book, 5 Nov 2012
By 
P. Lyttle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
This book is a must read for both Shamanic Practitioners and Psychotherapists. It has to be the clearest and most helpful book on this subject I have ever read. Things I know but have struggled for years to put into words are all here, clear and meaningful in an accessible and down to earth style that anyone with an interest would be able to read. It teaches but more than that it speaks to what we already know....a brilliant book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very accessible introduction to Shamanism, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Lisa Jackson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
Shamanism is a subject I had little knowledge of before reading this book so I was delighted to find this was a highly readable introduction and not the technical tome most such books usually turn out to be. Christa is a first-rate therapist and researcher and this shines through in the book, as does her passion for what she does. I'm a clinical hypnotherapist and have also found several of the techniques she describes really useful, particularly where you take your client on a journey to find their Power Animal. These techniques may not suit the belief systems of everyone, but used judiciously can help clients to gain wonderful insight into the challenges they're facing. Christa has obviously lived this book and her first-hand accounts of her journeys in the spirit realm are fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Insightful, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
This is the first time I have read a therapeutic text that so beautifully combines the authors depth of knowledge and experience with an understandable narrative of the philosophical, cultural and spirutual ways of a variety of indigenous peoples and the precise opportunities for practical application of this knowledge and understanding within one's own practice. I feel the author has generously offered therapists a gift of immense potential and value which for me personally immediately provided inspiration to incorporate simple practices into my own life whilst simultaneously feeling able to confidently offer those I work with therapeutically another pallet of possibilities of how to be with the world differently through the totality of the cycle of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding - a must-read, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction (Paperback)
An outstanding contribution to the debate on spiritualism and modern-day psychology. A must-read that is well-written and powerfully conveys a wealth of knowledge. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction
Shamanism and Spirituality in Therapeutic Practice: An Introduction by Christa Mackinnon (Paperback - 15 July 2012)
£18.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews