Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the one, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
This is not one of those typical glossy cookbooks but it really is the one for anyone who seriously wants to learn about how certain dietary changes can improve their health by getting to the root cause of the imbalances that are causing problems (causes such as inflammation, adrenal stress and gastro-intestinal issues).
It is marketed as being an important resource for nutritionally-minded healthcare professionals, and as a student of nutrition I think it is very practical, tying in the science and fundamentals of functional medicine with recipes and lifestyle advice. Personally I think that anyone with a slightly scientific enquiring mind and a desire to understand their own or their familiy's health issues would find this enlightening and helpful.
My only criticism is that the CD-Rom doesn't really add anything, just a PDF of what's in the book - so I s'pose you could print recipes out rather than photocopy them if desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Food for Optimum Health, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Donald Scott (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
I should declare a clear bias with this review, as Lorraine Nicoll co-authored Biochemical Imbalances in Disease, which is one of my favourite nutrition texts. She has now joined up with Christine Bailey to write what is an innovatory cookery book. Designed on a personalized, system-based approach, the reader is educated in two distinct ways. Firstly they are asked to think about how the body keeps optimally healthy by eating the sorts of foods that evidence based nutrition tells us works. Secondly the reader is shown in the form of a number of delicious recipes just how to use this knowledge and produce great food for the table.

Using nutrition to help with optimal body function ensures better energy and less illness when in the early and middle years, and less reliance on medication to reduce the common ailments prevalent in later years. There is much research telling us unequivocably that obesity, heart disease and diabetes have direct links to diet. So it would seem are a number of illnesses considered auto-immune in nature. All can be influenced by nutrient deficiencies or excess to have eventual effects on cell function microscopically and in whole systems when considered at a clinical level.

Nutritional intervention starts best in childhood. During the early years are where we as a society fail to appreciate the costs of using processed and convenience foods over natural whole foods that are produced in a more traditional manner for the table. This book provides the link between the practitioner and nutrition as a behavioural science-teaching us how to apply nutrition knowledge in our eating habit.

There's nothing I didn't like about the design or content of the book. Sure we are used to cookery books having lavish graphics and pictorial content-The Functional Nutrition Cookbook doesn't provide this, it's aimed at those who value substance over design. Our copy is up alongside Jamie, Lorraine, Anjum and Rick's books, but it'll be used to plan our family's meals just as often as the traditional cookery titles.

I've tried several of the healthy snacks and soups out on our own family, and there were no unfinished plates. In particular I recommend the Thai Beef Salad followed by Strawberry Coconut Ice Cream. It works-and so does this rather excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
I am studying naturopathic nutrition, this book is one that all the teachers and students in higher levels recommend - and I can see why. It's brilliant. It has some detail on certain areas that a nutritional therapist may want to work on, not categorised by conditions or systems, but still very useful. The recipes are excellent, and the book comes with a CD-Rom which allows you to print off the recipes for clients, friends, family etc. Love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have CDROM including recipes, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
Great recipes suitable for anyone who wants to manage their health through diet. Particularly useful for nutritional therapists as can share recipes with clients given inclusion of CDROM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
Really informative - gives great background to the conditions in a scientific but reader friendly way. Not tried the recipes yet but they look great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs H.J. Dyer (LOUGHBOROUGH, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
This is a superb book, combining nutritional information and recipes. Ideal for any one wishing to maintain good health through good food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!!! Road map for your diet!!!, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
If you look a real road map for a healthy diet you should buy this book. You'll gain professional tips, recipes and 3day meal plans for the most popular diseases like diabetes etc. combined in one book. Great inspiration for everybody. It's really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
Just received this book and flicking through the recipes is exciting! Love that there is a CD to print recipes from for clients and friends, brilliant idea. Also really useful to have intro to various conditions/systems in each section, brilliant again, for sharing with clients and reminding me of some issues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, informative, with easy to follow recipes, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
M. Keenan "Luca Lover" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
Great cookbook for anyone interested in understanding how food can influence their health.
Easy to follow recipes and useful menu plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool for Nutritional practitioners with understandable guidance and wonderful recipes for non practioners, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet (Paperback)
This book helps you understand how the different functions of the body may be helped by what we eat and how we prepare food
and provides easy to follow recipes which are not only nutritious but delicious and effective at improving how we function. It also goes into greater depth giving explanations and evidence based on research to support the use of 'functional nutrition'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Functional Nutrition Cookbook: Addressing Biochemical Imbalances Through Diet
£20.97
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews