Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable routine and clear instructions with DVD
If you're looking for something a little different in your Qi Gong Routine this will set the tone nicely. It's based on 5 animal exercises. Designed by Hua Tuo(25-220 ad). By observing the activities of tigers, deer, bears, monkeys and birds he found that animals perform certain movements to liven up their overall energy levels and good health.
The routine is...
Published on 6 Sep 2008 by Stephen Luff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars help stretch the body
Base on the five animals .the tiger, deer, bear, monkey, bird. Which strengthen and tone the body and still the mind
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable routine and clear instructions with DVD, 6 Sep 2008
By 
Stephen Luff "Stephen L" (Worthing, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
If you're looking for something a little different in your Qi Gong Routine this will set the tone nicely. It's based on 5 animal exercises. Designed by Hua Tuo(25-220 ad). By observing the activities of tigers, deer, bears, monkeys and birds he found that animals perform certain movements to liven up their overall energy levels and good health.
The routine is designed to be performed linking the mind along with the animal movements. There are two movements per animal in this set. The 5 pairs of sets are very different to each other working with different types of exercises. For instance the tiger which is the first two movements are very different from each other. The first gently begins the routine and the second is a full body stretch that embraces the characteristics of the tiger.
The routine works the body with clever postures to stretch hard-to-reach areas:- such as between the shoulder blades.
If you fancy a standing stretching routine that has a great history, a lot of fun to perform then I highly recommend this routine. This routine is primarily performed in a forward facing manner. It's been re-worked from some of the older routines to be more standard and easier to learn.
Of course the most essential part of this set is that it comes with a DVD that is in English. The book has the background, history, step by step instructions and corrections to the routine.
A great compliment to this routine is the Yi Jin Jing. It's a Tendon - Muscle Strengthening Qi Gong Routine. The two routines are part of a 4 book/DVD Set embracing very popular Chinese Qi Gong Routines. I would say that this is an opportunity to learn core popular routines that have come from a great history.

Creator of the Beginner Tai Chi {DVD}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Animals, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Linda (Eastbourne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
I purchased this item as I have just started a Chi Kung class at our local leisure centre and am learning these animal exercises in the class and wanted to be able to practice them at home. The book and DVD look very informative and similar to what I am learning so I am hoping to find it very useful.This is a very good health book which helps heal all areas of the body but is different to the usual type of exercise and should appeal to a wide age range and capability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. P. Egan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
This easy to follow book of the five animal excersises with full illustrations plus the explanetary CD is an essential addition to the library of the beginner and maybe more advanced student of qi gong. I refer to it again and again because there is always something I feel I have missed or not quite grasped. Each exercise points out the possible faults and their remedies in the execution of the exercises. A great reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars help stretch the body, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
Base on the five animals .the tiger, deer, bear, monkey, bird. Which strengthen and tone the body and still the mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat), 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
This is a good book to gradually build up your sense of balance, proprioception and inner calm. The CD included is good as it shows experts actually going though the poses. Sadly the CD does this quickly so it takes a bit of practice and lots of watching to get better. I bought this for both myself and my brother, we both have back problems. My father has been doing this for a year or so, he has rheumatoid arthritis and his balance is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get some!, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
Based on a reviewer's comment, I bought all four books in the series. Each comes with an excellent explanatory DVD. For anyone interested in maintaining good health or recovering from a health problem, they're a godsend. Coming from original Chinese texts and sources, they offer a unique line to the source. The text and spoken commentary are brief but convey the critical details of the practices and their biological/medical effects and benefits in a clear and repetitive format. Brilliantly laid out and presented.

I had done some related Qi Gong many years ago and could tune in to the practices easily. But I think a complete novice would have little difficulty, if he/she is serious about learning. These books offer an unparalleled opportunity to the West to benefit from ancient Chinese wisdom. They're a treasure. Get some today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I know a bit about Chi Qong, 2 Nov 2011
By 
M. Prescott "tyga" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
I've been studying this stuff for three decades and sometimes even now, there are things I just can't get. This one is not to bad but the book on breathing techniques is baffling. Some things perhaps don't translate well or are so subtle they need to be explained. This book is perhaps best as an aide memoir for someone who has done a seminar with a teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Chinese Health Qigong Association Books, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
the books from the chinese health qigong association is very highly recommended to anyone and i have this book and it is very good and the same with Ba Duan Jin and Yi Jin Jing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wu Qin Xi exercises, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Lindsay R. Bayne (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) (Paperback)
I MUST spend the time on these, sure that there is a worth here - yet not easy to get into ..... so they have sat on the shelf, waiting - but from a brief look there is promise here ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat)
Wu Qin Xi: Five Animals Qigong Exercises (Chinese Health Qigong Associat) by The Chinese Health Qigong Association (Paperback - 1 July 2008)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews